We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but a bit dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Good location but a bit dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel a few years ago and really enjoyed the room and free buffet breakfast. I also liked the location is right on the edge of downtown Banff so you can walk everywhere.

The weekend, my friend and I had small suite on the third floor. Not sure I would call it a suite as it seemed more like a storage from converted into a room with two double beds. We did say that we weren't happy and was told to consider booking at one of their newer locations The Fox. I really wasn't sold on the customer service provided.

It's too bad when a repeat customer decides to book elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: If you are offered a suite at this location ask if it's been up-dated and if it has two queens n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerrogers38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    344
    247
    107
    57
See reviews for
226
432
43
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here 1 night before going too another hotel for a hockey tournament. Soon as we checked in the staff were warm and welcoming,the rooms were pretty average a bed,a TV and a table.I went to the hot tubs and they were very well maintained,The breakfast was pretty good with bacon,hash browns,pancakes,sausage,omelette station.The location is great right in town.Overall If I could I would give this place, a for and a half stars

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have stayed in 10+ different hotels in town but find myself always coming back to the Ptarmigan. Nothing matches it in terms of value for money, location and the friendliness of the staff who work there. The rooms are well kept, the beds are AMAZING and the workers there can't do enough to help you. For people who are saying the rooms need an update, go stay at the Fairmont and pay $450 a night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyPerth2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a week and had an incredible time!

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They were eager to help us get our room ready before regular check in time, friendly at the buffet and restaurant/bar, and helped us plan our Johnston canyon ice walk.

We also loved the location of our hotel. We were within walking distance of the town area. It was only a couple blocks away, and that was really nice.

Our hotel was kept clean and our room was spotless. We also found our room a good size with a little balcony overlooking the lobby!

We would definitely stay here again, and look forward to it :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I booked this hotel without reading the reviews...it was in need of an update! The rooms are just ok as the beds were old and had lumpy padding under the sheets, the bathroom was very old and tire, the toilet seat was broken (yet the staff fixed it quickly), the "Health Center" was pitiful (just eliminate it as it's that bad).

On the bright side, staff was great, the price was competitive and the location is smack in the middle of Banff!

All in all...this hotel works for the ski bum on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Friendly reception staff, very dated room but clean. Lumpy bed and very 'tired' bathroom. Would imagine could be very noisy when full. Definitely not above 2 star standard felt very budget type standard. Probably suited to younger clientele. Restaurant food surprisingly good quality and very good value for money. Good central position. Nearby train track whistles provided an interesting lullaby. Breakfast was a very crammed experience as guests all wanted to eat at same time to get on coaches, but shared table with very nice Japanese couple. Good choice of well presented food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had such a beautiful stay at this hotel, my girlfriend and I. They couldn't be more helpful. We were advised about a wonderful restaurant and many things to do in Banff. As well as good advise on the shops of the town as we were looking for specialized items. A wonderful breakfast, with many options. We had arranged a dog sledding morning, which meant we wouldn't be able to check out at the appropriate time. This was no trouble for them, what so ever and they even gave us more time than we needed. Which was excellent, so we didn't need to rush. The same morning we had dog sledding, we didn't have time for breakfast, this was also no trouble and they supplied us with take containers. Wonderful service. Only problem I had was having to leave. Wonderful town and wonderful hotel. When I go back I'll certainly stay there again. All shops in walking distance from hotel. Look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.0 mi away
Banff International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Property: Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing