We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“My favorite hotel in Banff by far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in Banff by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have stayed in 10+ different hotels in town but find myself always coming back to the Ptarmigan. Nothing matches it in terms of value for money, location and the friendliness of the staff who work there. The rooms are well kept, the beds are AMAZING and the workers there can't do enough to help you. For people who are saying the rooms need an update, go stay at the Fairmont and pay $450 a night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyPerth2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    350
    260
    112
    60
See reviews for
233
450
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a week and had an incredible time!

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They were eager to help us get our room ready before regular check in time, friendly at the buffet and restaurant/bar, and helped us plan our Johnston canyon ice walk.

We also loved the location of our hotel. We were within walking distance of the town area. It was only a couple blocks away, and that was really nice.

Our hotel was kept clean and our room was spotless. We also found our room a good size with a little balcony overlooking the lobby!

We would definitely stay here again, and look forward to it :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I booked this hotel without reading the reviews...it was in need of an update! The rooms are just ok as the beds were old and had lumpy padding under the sheets, the bathroom was very old and tire, the toilet seat was broken (yet the staff fixed it quickly), the "Health Center" was pitiful (just eliminate it as it's that bad).

On the bright side, staff was great, the price was competitive and the location is smack in the middle of Banff!

All in all...this hotel works for the ski bum on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Friendly reception staff, very dated room but clean. Lumpy bed and very 'tired' bathroom. Would imagine could be very noisy when full. Definitely not above 2 star standard felt very budget type standard. Probably suited to younger clientele. Restaurant food surprisingly good quality and very good value for money. Good central position. Nearby train track whistles provided an interesting lullaby. Breakfast was a very crammed experience as guests all wanted to eat at same time to get on coaches, but shared table with very nice Japanese couple. Good choice of well presented food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had such a beautiful stay at this hotel, my girlfriend and I. They couldn't be more helpful. We were advised about a wonderful restaurant and many things to do in Banff. As well as good advise on the shops of the town as we were looking for specialized items. A wonderful breakfast, with many options. We had arranged a dog sledding morning, which meant we wouldn't be able to check out at the appropriate time. This was no trouble for them, what so ever and they even gave us more time than we needed. Which was excellent, so we didn't need to rush. The same morning we had dog sledding, we didn't have time for breakfast, this was also no trouble and they supplied us with take containers. Wonderful service. Only problem I had was having to leave. Wonderful town and wonderful hotel. When I go back I'll certainly stay there again. All shops in walking distance from hotel. Look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked to stay at the Ptarmigan through Canadian Affair. We were given a warm and friendly welcome on arrival and our standard room had comfy beds, a good sized en-suite and a good range of free TV channels. The housekeeping staff were great and the room was always spotless when we came back at the end of the day. The buffet breakfast was included in our package and was a good option. Cererals, toast and cook breakfast items were available from the buffet and the chef was on hand to prepare omelettes to individuals tastes. The same restaurant did good family meals in the evenings too and at reasonable prices. The staff couldn't do enough to help. The location is only a few hundred meters from the town centre. Close enough to go out for a walk in the evening to visit the other restaurants and bars if you want but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. (If you visit in winter there is a free to use ice skating rink really close and skates can be rented cheaply). Thoroughly recommended and we will have this hotel firmly on our wish list when we next return to Banff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were put up in The Ptarmigan by Canadian affair for our family Christmas holiday ski trip to Canada.
The Hotel is in a great position close to the main town, shops and restaurants. There is also a safeway supermarket round the corner. The ski bus stops right outside. Bar and restaurant is really good for families, and reasonably priced, for example we had the set Christmas dinner which was $70 for a family of 4 plus drinks. Breakfast buffet is excellent with hot and cold choices to please everyone, and the omelettes to order are also fantastic. Room was comfy enough with 2 big double beds, not too cramped. No issues with the Hotel, and staff on the front desk dealt with any request quickly and efficiently, including sorting some transport problems for us. We also used the free Roam bus tickets avaliable from reception. Nothing bad to say, a great location, friendly and reasonably priced Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,932 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 998 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.0 mi away
Banff International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Property: Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing