We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Nearby Hotels
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets(Banff)(Great Value!)
$151
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
$228
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$246
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$349
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
$234
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
$193
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Banff Springs(Banff)
$434
$388
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$228
$218
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$255
$245
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,175)
Filter reviews
1,175 results
Traveler rating
284
413
285
126
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
413
285
126
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomelette stationmeatballsmeatball restaurantunderground parkinghot breakfastshops and restaurantsexcellent locationbreakfast was includedthe main streetclose to downtownyogurtski busbeds were very comfortableski triplake louisetown centresteam room
Filter
Updating list...
549 - 554 of 1,175 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a clean, comfortable room. Staff were friendly. Breakfast is served in a pleasant area near the lobby. Buffet items are available, and cooked-to-order omelets were just right. I enjoyed the whirlpool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USAwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed overnight on September 20th and had a great stay overall. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a room on the third floor, which was more than adequate. Check-in and check-out was smooth; underground parking was available.

Breakfast with the omelette station was great. There was an assortment of cold and hot foods available. I enjoyed a freshly-prepared omelette while my vegan partner enjoyed the selection and the fresh fruit salad.

Location was fantastic on Banff Avenue.

We also liked the Rocky Mountain soaps in the room; the company is located in Canmore, Alberta, and it's great to see that the hotel was supporting locally-made products.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I can't speak for those on the other floors, but our room was great on the third floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowbuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived in Banff a day earlier than what we had booked on a beautiful weekend in September. Unfortunately with a busy weekend there weren't any availabilities however the staff were more than happy to ring the local hostel to arrange accommodation. When we did book I asked for a new room (wasn't happy with a view of the parking lot after paying for a Superior room) they provided not just a new room but an upgrade to a premier room. The room was very spacious and comfortable.

The staff were helpful with any questions. The buffet breakfast offered great variety and the perfect start to the day. All in all a great place that I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go the premier room :)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

There are two hotels close by, one owned by the same chain, the other is the Torquin.
Choose either of those.
There is an air of chaos about the Ptarmigan, breakfast is mayhem. Lines over thirty feet at eight in the morning.
The food is very average, the rooms the same.
I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparkyIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Good hotel, sure they have small rooms but who stays in their room in Banff. The walls are thin and you can hear the pipe rattling but once everyone settles down it's a quiet place. The free breakfast is great, (hot and cold rations complete with an egg and omlette station). The location couldn't be better as it's only a short walk to all the shops in Banff's downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor, they're quietier.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews