We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice. no view. Great Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Srinagar, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice. no view. Great Location.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Loved the natural soaps
NO views :(
Good service
Excellent location...its in the middle and close to everything but not walking distance to gondola if u get tired quickly esp. hard with families...
no microwave or fridge ...in house restaurant doesnt have many options...
free wifi and free parking was great

Overall I would say safe stay...wont go wrong. rate was okay too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kingjkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    371
    275
    120
    64
See reviews for
251
477
49
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were staying here during the major Alberta floods, where Banff was severely affected by road closures. There was a power cut and other issues all around the town, but the staff were very helpful to us throughout in trying to assist us with our travel issues as a result of the floods. The English receptionist with the long blonde hair was particularly helpful to us on a couple of occasions. Good location for getting out and about in Banff, but our room was straight over the main road, so a bit noisy. However, the location was more important. Breakfast was fine - we never ate in the restaurant at night as it was always a bit empty and wanted to get out. Would stay here again though - no issues. Another bonus - they have the underground parking and don't charge you for it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dilandgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

After a long flight and stressful drive we arrived at the Ptarmigan Inn it was very central and only complaint was we could have done with a sofa in the room, breakfast had good choice and bar staff very attentive. Loads to do and very good shops really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were originally booked in for 2 nites but reservations were cancelled because we could not get to Banff due to road closures. When we did arrive the second day the desk staff reopened our reservation and we ended up with a nice room on the second floor with a balcony so we could see the mountains. No A/C in the room so we left the balcony door open, which let in a fair amount of street noise most of the night. Very convenient to shopping, etc. The breakfast was good. We liked the "oldness" of the hotel -- they seem to have updated bathrooms and some common areas. Parking garage was handy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is in a great location on the main road in Banff, just a short walk away from the main shopping and restaurant/bar area. We were a large tour group but check in was easy and our bags were delivered quickly to our room. The room was on the 2nd floor, directly opposite the lift but we didn't hear any noise. Floor space was minimal so not much room to pack suitcases but the room was fine other than that. Breakfast was a bit of a disaster with everyone turning up just as it opened. They opened up the bar area at the front of the hotel and so we were able to grab food from the buffet and take it back there, but it wasn't ideal. Staff were friendly and I would recommend this hotel to anyone

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jellifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Let's start with the positives!
Well located and a great base for exploring the area around Banff. Lots of shops, restaurants and bars on the doorstep. Some really attentive staff.
Negatives:
Rooms were dark and dingy due to pine cladding on the ceiling. Views over car park nothing to write home about. Windows needed a good clean. Slept well the first night (beds are large but soft) but second night was disturbed by what sounded like a hot water tank in our room constantly refilling - for hours on end. Reported it to reception but they seemed oblivious to what I was talking about. The same happened the third night - when I mentioned it to reception again it seemed that they were VERY aware of it being a regular problem - but couldn't do anything about it. We then got stranded in Banff due to the flooding and ended up staying another two nights. The hotel couldn't offer us a better room. In fact our neighbours complained to us about the noise on day 5 - thinking it was us showering at 4am and causing the noise. Not guilty!
So - disappointing and would not return or recommend unless you are a heavy sleeper!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Mary (don't know her last name but her tag said she was from Australia) checked us into the hotel. She was friendly, accomodating and a wealth of information!
The hotel has an excellent location.
We had a great view from our room and had a nice breakfast each morning.
I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmmccart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Property: Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing