We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Nearby Hotels
$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$444
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
$353
$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$525
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$218
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$353
$342
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$382
$316
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$414
$401
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$264
$253
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$390
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,184)
Filter reviews
1,184 results
Traveler rating
286
418
287
126
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
418
287
126
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomelette stationmeatballsmeatball restaurantunderground parkinghot breakfastshops and restaurantsbalcony overlookingbreakfast was includedthe main streetyogurtclose to downtownski lockersski busbeds were very comfortableski triplake louisetown centre
Filter
Updating list...
668 - 673 of 1,184 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend using a Living Social coupon deal. Hotel is one of the closest to the downtown strip, nice to park the car and walk everywhere. Hotel is an unusual design as many of the rooms do not feature exterior windows and look out over an indoor courtyard or lobby. It probably wouldn't be a big issue except that the rooms were unbelievably warm and even though the hotel provided fans it was difficult to get the room to a comfortable temperature. The included breakfast featured an omelet station in addition to scrambled eggs, meat, yogurt, pastries and fruit. The fitness facility is a treadmill and hand weights in the hot tub area, plus steam room and sauna. Overall it was decent but personally I would pay a bit more for an exterior window. When I returned home I realized I had lost an earring and emailed the hotel to see if it had been found. I received a very prompt reply advising that they had not only checked with housekeeping but they had personally gone and inspected our room. I was impressed that they made that effort!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jewelsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry about the heat issues you had with your room, this is something we battle with on a daily basis as we try to insure optimum comfort for all of our guest. With the changing temperatures we do not always hit the mark but we have implemented new monitoring programs and procedures to combat the heat in the hotel, so on your next visit we hope you see the difference. Also I wanted to mention that we do have complementary local roam passes available at the desk to get you around town and everywhere you can’t walk to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days while visiting Banff and the surrounding region. It is fabulously located, just off the Main Street. It's not luxury but it is clean and safe. We were given a large room, like a family room although there was only two of us but it was greatly appreciated. Would love to be there now! Thanks for everything.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Karenomahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the second time I stayed at the Ptarmigan Inn and there were improvements. This is your typical 3.5 star Banff hotel, rooms are very clean and the staff is great. Don't expect luxury though, as the hallways are narrow and the lighting could be better. The complementary breakfast is GREAT and the selection of the buffet is of a 4.5 star hotel (better breakfast than the Fox hotel anyways). The location was prime for hitting a pub on the Banff Ave as the walk is very short. Overall I'd stay again because of the value but would not bring somebody from out of town if wanted to "show off" Banff.

Room Tip: Stay on the main level closer to the parking and the lobby. There are elevators but they seem to take for ever
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fly_Everywhere21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are hoping in the near future to renovate the hotel and address the issues you had as well as improve the amenities the hotel has to offer. Please stay tuned for more information on this exciting news as we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We purchased a Living Social deal for the Banff Ptarmigan Inn, and we were thoroughly impressed. From the moment that we called in to make our reservations, we dealt with the most pleasant and wonderful staff, which continued for the entirety of our stay. This was seriously the most friendly staff I have ever dealt with. Even the cleaning crew went out of their way to say good morning to us, and to ask us how our stay was going. The standard room was decent. Not anything terribly fancy, but nice, clean and comfy. There was soap from the Rocky Mountain Soap Factory in the room, which was a nice touch. Very close to all of the shops and restaurants that we wanted to visit, and the continental breakfast was very nice.

The only real criticism that I could have would be that The Meatball, which is the in house restaurant, has menus up that say that they are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, which is currently inaccurate, as they were closed for lunches during our stay. However, when I brought this up to the gent at the front desk, he apologized and said that they were just preparing to change those menus out for the updated information. Not really much of a complaint really, when they are in the midst of rectifying the situation. :o)

We will definitely stay here again, likely in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrishRom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Pros- Great price, great location, great free breakfast, safe and clean, free underground parking.

Cons- The rooms are very small.

The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything.

It seemed to be more of a party hotel for groups of people - which is a pro if that's your thing.

The bathroom is tiny. Sink is outside the bathroom with almost no counterspace and no counter space in the bathroom. We had old towels piled up next to the toilet.

The place is a bit of a maze once you are inside.

The hot tub area leave a lot to be desired. Nothing overly great, but they do the job.

Neutral - They didn't clean our room when we were gone for the day. It wasn't a big deal and they knocked 10% off the price without issue. This was very appreciated.

Overall, given cons above, I would otherwise never stay here again, or recommend i.... But.... the free full breakfast is great. Bacon, eggs, toast, sausage, an omlette station, and free OJ. This is huge value and make this place a place I would recommend and return to. There is huge value in this breakfast. Especially with food prices in Banff. The breakfast really saves this place and I suspect the owners know the downfalls of the hotel, and this is how they make up for it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcc129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews