We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was the second time that we spent a week at this hotel. The location is great, shopping and restaurants well within walking distance and the real convenience is the ski bus stopping outside the door. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was amazing. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Although the hotel was full at the weekend it was quiet and there was free Internet access in the room. All this and some powder made it an enjoyable week.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GiselaE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Our group of friends always stays her when we are skiing in Banff! It is a great location (less than a 5 minute walk to downtown), and the breakfast is the best we have seen at any of the hotels in the area! Highly recommended and great value!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertaBound0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent a couple nights here, and would go again. The underground parking, the hot breakfast buffet, the location within banff, the cleanliness and size of the room were all amazing factors that would keep me coming back. Friendly staff and the hot tubs were also a plus. All of these positives, you would assume, would be expensive, except the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geminithecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel was perfect. The rooms were very clean and service was awesome. I found the beds a lumpy and not the most comfortable. The brunch offered in the morning was a perfect start to the day

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kschieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. The location is walking distance to the downtown strip. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast (included) was phenomenal, the beds were very comfortable there was free underground parking, internet is complementary and though the hotel was almost at capacity there was no noise. We had an excellent stay and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northslickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Welcome home and thank you s much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear you had an excellent stay. Just for your information we also offer complementary bus passes to get you all around town for free as well which are available at the front desk. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was looking for a deal to go and ski and stay, there were only deals if I was staying four nights and I could only get away for three. The Ptarmigan Inn was fantastic and a good deal. We were upgraded to a room with fire place for no charge. Hotel staff were weloming and helpful. We had such a great time there. Just so you know, the Rose and Crown pub has a live band during the week, really great place for casual laid back evening:) I hope this helps.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your complementary upgrade. Also glad to hear you enjoyed the local entertainment, we always have tickets available for Wild Bill’s shows at the front desk or lounge that offer an array of musical talent and line dancing… they even have a mechanical Bull.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from annual 11 night holiday in Banff. Hotel is ideally located on the edge of downtown and the ski buses stop right outside. The management and staff are so friendly and will do everything possible to make your stay an enjoyable one. We have stayed at this hotel many times and will continue to do so in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same facilities but we prefer an outside room with a balcony as they are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#10 of 34 in Banff
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $111 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing