We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a stay in Banff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from annual 11 night holiday in Banff. Hotel is ideally located on the edge of downtown and the ski buses stop right outside. The management and staff are so friendly and will do everything possible to make your stay an enjoyable one. We have stayed at this hotel many times and will continue to do so in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same facilities but we prefer an outside room with a balcony as they are cooler.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
There are newer reviews for Banff Ptarmigan Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Location is good - right on the main street. No mini fridge in the room. Our bed was very soft and quite uncomfortable. We stayed 5 nights and our room wasn't serviced twice (despite being out for the entire day - I guess they just forgot???) breakfast was included and was fine. Food at the Meatball was good. Twice we ordered room service and had to go down and pick it up ourselves (to avoid a delay as they were busy). The fire alarm went off at 3.30am (apparently set off by a guest and no fault of the hotel.) We chose the Ptarmigan because it was cheaper than other accommodation in Banff (I personally think Banff accommodation is completely overpriced).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TannyDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I have passed your comments onto our Restaurant manager in regards to your room service experience, they are currently finding solution to fix the problem and avoid delays. For longer stays housekeeping usually don’t service rooms every day to reduce the environmental impact we have on town, but this can avoided by placing your ‘make up room’ sign on the door. We have the benefit in living in a picturesque mountain town which some may consider ‘overpriced’ but we do stay competitive with all the hotels in town. Should you require any additional information or have anything else you would like to mention please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Bought a hotel and tour package from living social or dealfind (can't remember) with a hike. We enjoyed our stay and it is the second last hotel before the main street so we enjoyed we had a short walk to go shopping and eating.

Loved the hot breakfast with the omelette station.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonestarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We got a free room upgrade because our's was a bit too hot, the management was wonderful! The breakfast buffet was also great and the hottubs and underground free parking!!!
The staff were super nice and accomodating! The hotel is a in the best location as its a hop and skip away from all the stores since its on Banff avenue and right next to the main downtown core.

Room Tip: Standard rooms cant control the temperature in them, so it gets pretty warm!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edyta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

One night stay just after New Years. Hotel was showing its age, and didn't quite compare to other hotels in the area (such as the Banff Caribou Inn). A few minor things in our room, such as the patio door not locking, the bed was too soft, the TV image quality was poor.

But, the price was excellent, the included breakfast was likewise (the omelette station made it really good), and the staff was great, particularly those in the breakfast restaurant (called Meatballs I believe). It was half a block to the Safeway and the rest of Banff downtown. So if I was looking for a short getaway that won't cost too much, I'd definitely come back to Ptarmigan.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade during low season. When we were there, there must have been only 12-15 rooms...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarshBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Banff Ptarmigan Inn. I wanted to let you know that the patio door of your room has now been fixed and locks securely. We are also currently in the process of improving the reception and signal quality for all of our TV’s. As for the beds they do have our luxury mountain feather comforters on top of the mattress which is removable for a firmer sleep experience. We look forward to your next stay and should you have any additional concerns or questions please feel free to contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. We actually had to buy a feather top for our bed because the beds here have 'em... And it's so comfortable.

The breakfast is great and included in the price and its worth it.

They are a few blocks away from where all the action is in the town site.

We'll definitely come back. We try to every year, at least once

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Went down for New Years Eve with a group of friends and had a fantastic trip. The underground parking is very nice, rooms were well maintained and perfectly clean when we arrived. They sell themselves short on the website, the breakfast is more than a continental as there was freshly cooked pancakes, meats and eggs each morning as well as the omelette station. Location of the hotel is perfect, especially for New Years eve, it's right on the main drag and took us mere minutes to walk to wherever we wanted to go. Will definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaryd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $126 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing