We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our go to Hotel in Banff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Let's set the stage for what this review perspective is coming from. Being in our early 20s, we aren't looking for something high class and are mainly looking for somewhere to lay our heads after a day in Banff.

That being said, we don't want a dive or complete hole in the wall.

The Ptarmigan in fits perfectly for what we want, somewhere with a decent hottub (two different temperature tubs), good sized rooms and close walk to the main downtown "core". There is no swimming pool which is unfortunate, but minor detail. The rooms are clean and have a flat screen TV to kick back and relax to catch the sports highlights, while the beds are pretty comfortable. One draw back is that there are no mini-fridges in the rooms, which poses a slight issue for chilling the beers.

The staff seem very friendly and helpful when answering questions.

All in all a great place to stay if you don't want to spend $$$ on a place to simply lay your head!

Room Tip: No rooms have A/C, so keep your doors open when you're there to catch the draft of the A/C in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheOnlyMuirsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had a good stay with us as we try to accommodate guests of all needs and budgets. In the future we do plan on renovating our entire spa area so please stay tuned for more information and added guest amenities. Although we don’t have fridges in the rooms I hope you were able to keep your beverages cold in our ice buckets that fit perfectly on the bedside dresser.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Banff Ptarmigan Inn being situated on the main street in Banff is close to all the attractions, shops, restaurants etc. The reception staff were very helpful and efficient, my room was clean and comfotrable although it did not have a good view, being in the side of the building it was extremely quiet. The hotel has its own car park so it was easy to leave the car there for a couple of days and walk to the attractions, or get on one of the tours - all of which collect guests from the hotel. The food at breakfast was extremely good although the room was rather dark, but this seemed to be normal for hotels in this area. WiFi was freely available, although at peak periods there could be a delay in the service. This is a hotel I would certainly return to.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReindeerSelborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We strive to ensure that every guests stay is as relaxing and comfortable as possible. We have just finished installing new carpets in the restaurant to brighten things up and you will see the difference on your next stay. Also as an added service ask us about our complementary Roam bus service to make getting around town even easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The room was clean, the best was very confortable the view was great...I will be back! And the Breakfast was great and the view...fabulous! It was right downton Banff close to all the shopping it was great!

Room Tip: What can I say it was great and within walking distance to lots of restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

stayed there in sept , wouldnt stay again the hotel was dirty a shame as it was a supurb location. the windows inside had not been cleaned in a long time. and there was a thick dirty dust on window sills and skirting boards . i spoke to other guests at the time and they also were dissappointed with the cleanlinesss.there was also an empty beer can on the balcony and it hadnt been swept. i complained but nothing was done about it . i must say though that the beds were very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnrowe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We at the Banff Ptarmigan Inn like to pride ourselves in our customer service and cleanliness. It seems we missed the mark in this case and I am deeply sorry about that. We are making every possible effort to always improve upon our service and guest experience, I know should you return you will see the difference. If you would like any additional information or have any further comments please feel free to contact me at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in the Banff Ptarmigan Inn in July of 2011. We were quite satisfied with the price considering the fantastic location of the Inn almost right downtown Banff. We could walk to town, grocery stores and restaurants. The Inn was mostly clean, just a little dusty in places. Our room looked out over the foyer and was quite noisy when busloads of people came in as the sound carried up. Definitely had to make sure the deck door was closed. The breakfast was not included, but for a decent price you receive a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gleams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Since your stay I wanted to let you know we have made all efforts to maintain the cleanliness of our rooms and our hotel. Just so you know as of December 21st 2012 our breakfast will be included with every single room regardless of how you book. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Second visit to this hotel. Stayed here during ski season last year and really liked it so returned again, this time during the summer. In winter, the ski bus stops right outside the hotel so really easy to get to all 3 mountains. It's an easy walk to the restaurants, bars and shops - close enough to walk but far away enough so you don't get bothered by noise. Rooms are really clean and comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant is good. Overall good value for Banff hotels. Would stay again winter or summer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This Hotel is a VERY SHORT walk to the Downtown stores. It is clean, nice, with very good beds. The access to the rooms can be challenging with it's long hallways and turns. The lobby is nice and the staff friendly. The breakfast buffet area can get quite crowded and slow if you desire custom made omelets or eggs done but the food is good.
It is NOT UNCOMMON to see Deer along the street early in the morning just after dawn. They come right up and eat the flowers and bushes along the buildings. Almost reached out and touched one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $93 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing