We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location - I will pay them a return visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Selborne UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Location - I will pay them a return visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Banff Ptarmigan Inn being situated on the main street in Banff is close to all the attractions, shops, restaurants etc. The reception staff were very helpful and efficient, my room was clean and comfotrable although it did not have a good view, being in the side of the building it was extremely quiet. The hotel has its own car park so it was easy to leave the car there for a couple of days and walk to the attractions, or get on one of the tours - all of which collect guests from the hotel. The food at breakfast was extremely good although the room was rather dark, but this seemed to be normal for hotels in this area. WiFi was freely available, although at peak periods there could be a delay in the service. This is a hotel I would certainly return to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReindeerSelborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We strive to ensure that every guests stay is as relaxing and comfortable as possible. We have just finished installing new carpets in the restaurant to brighten things up and you will see the difference on your next stay. Also as an added service ask us about our complementary Roam bus service to make getting around town even easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    367
    272
    119
    64
See reviews for
248
472
48
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The room was clean, the best was very confortable the view was great...I will be back! And the Breakfast was great and the view...fabulous! It was right downton Banff close to all the shopping it was great!

Room Tip: What can I say it was great and within walking distance to lots of restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

stayed there in sept , wouldnt stay again the hotel was dirty a shame as it was a supurb location. the windows inside had not been cleaned in a long time. and there was a thick dirty dust on window sills and skirting boards . i spoke to other guests at the time and they also were dissappointed with the cleanlinesss.there was also an empty beer can on the balcony and it hadnt been swept. i complained but nothing was done about it . i must say though that the beds were very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnrowe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We at the Banff Ptarmigan Inn like to pride ourselves in our customer service and cleanliness. It seems we missed the mark in this case and I am deeply sorry about that. We are making every possible effort to always improve upon our service and guest experience, I know should you return you will see the difference. If you would like any additional information or have any further comments please feel free to contact me at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Orangeville ON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in the Banff Ptarmigan Inn in July of 2011. We were quite satisfied with the price considering the fantastic location of the Inn almost right downtown Banff. We could walk to town, grocery stores and restaurants. The Inn was mostly clean, just a little dusty in places. Our room looked out over the foyer and was quite noisy when busloads of people came in as the sound carried up. Definitely had to make sure the deck door was closed. The breakfast was not included, but for a decent price you receive a great breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gleams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Since your stay I wanted to let you know we have made all efforts to maintain the cleanliness of our rooms and our hotel. Just so you know as of December 21st 2012 our breakfast will be included with every single room regardless of how you book. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Second visit to this hotel. Stayed here during ski season last year and really liked it so returned again, this time during the summer. In winter, the ski bus stops right outside the hotel so really easy to get to all 3 mountains. It's an easy walk to the restaurants, bars and shops - close enough to walk but far away enough so you don't get bothered by noise. Rooms are really clean and comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant is good. Overall good value for Banff hotels. Would stay again winter or summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka
Level Contributor
189 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This Hotel is a VERY SHORT walk to the Downtown stores. It is clean, nice, with very good beds. The access to the rooms can be challenging with it's long hallways and turns. The lobby is nice and the staff friendly. The breakfast buffet area can get quite crowded and slow if you desire custom made omelets or eggs done but the food is good.
It is NOT UNCOMMON to see Deer along the street early in the morning just after dawn. They come right up and eat the flowers and bushes along the buildings. Almost reached out and touched one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel is in a great location within easy walking of the shops and restaurants. The outside of the building and the lobby area look great. The staff at check-in was polite and professional.
Parking is good with both an enclosed area (heated) and a small outdoor area.
Going to the room was an experience in long narrow hallways with stained faded worn carpets and old wallpaper. The room was clean but small which was ok since I only planned on sleeping there. The carpet was in better condition than the hallway carpet.
I had upgraded to an exterior room for which I was able to view the outdoor parking are at eye-to-headlight level. I should have paid the additional fee for a balcony – at least I would have been above the vehicles.
The room was very warm when I first got there so I opened the window and plugged in the small fan that was in the room. It took awhile but the room temperature finally got comfortable. The bathroom was very small and the bathtub was not only missing a screen over the drain but had several pieces of the enamel missing from it. The large flat screen TV was nice. I guess maybe I am spoiled but there was no small refrigerator or microwave in the room.
Since I was going to dinner and being on the ground floor I closed and locked the window. I was gone for a couple of hours and when I got back the room was just as hot as when I first arrived and I had to re-cool the room again. This turned into a recurring process for my entire stay. My understanding is that since my room was located over the heated parking area resulting in a warmer room. Guess if it is too warm in the room I could wait in the air-conditioned hallway until the room cooled off. Should have paid the extra for a balcony - at least then I might have been able to leave the window open.
At first breakfast was very confusing. There is no clear direction as to the process. You are supposed to wait to be seated at a table then you can go to the buffet. At some point, someone will offer you juice and/or coffee. The food itself was good and plentiful with a wide variety from cold cereal to the eggs which included omelets.
For the next trip I will look into possibly staying at other places.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an exterior room with a balcony so you can keep the room cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Due to our location in town we do suffer from being surrounded by guest parking, other hotels and residential areas. We have installed smart sensors in our hallways to regulate the temperature which does filter in to the rooms through the vents. We are also currently also looking into our breakfast procedures to strive to make breakfast as easy and efficient as possible. If you would like any additional information or have any more concerns please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#16 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Property: Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing