We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of the Rocky Mountaineer Highlights tour.
It was excellent, nice room, very very comfy bed.
Great jacuzzi and sauna.
Amazing staff!!
A special thanks to Sophie for making our Silver Wedding Anniversary so lovely!
Very good value too.
We ate in the restaurant and that was good.

Room Tip: Good central location for walking into town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brisseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    382
    278
    122
    66
See reviews for
258
492
49
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great location in the heart of the town. We did choose an upgraded room when making the reservation and it was great. The room was clean, the furnishing were in good condition and all staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The complimentary hot breakfast selection was excellent. An improvement would be to repaint the parking lines in the garage which would make parking a lot easier. From reading other reviews, we obviously made the right choice in choosing the upgraded room, which also had a balcony. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose an upgraded room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The room I got at this hotel had to be the worst room in the place. The ceiling was black around the vent. There were a lot of stains and chipped paint. The room was really tired looking. The bathroom was divided. The basin was located in the main room. The bath had no grate over the drain hole. It was not maintained. The room was completely internal with a fixed glass window that overlooked the lobby area. This meant that there was no view, no natural light, no fresh air and absolutely no privacy unless the curtains were shut. Anybody standing in the lobby could see directly into our room. The lack of fresh air was awful as the room was hot and there was no way to control the temperature. The lighting in the room was old and it was not at the level at which I would read a book. I also found a small crawling bug in the bed that would have sent my wife nuts if she had been the one to find it. The following night we paid for an upgrade and got a great room. It was the exact opposite of the room description above and it was one of the best rooms that we stayed in on our holiday. Hotwire gave us a standard room. None of them have a window with a view, but many of them have a window into the atrium with some natural light (but not ours). The better rooms all have windows to the outside of the hotels. Be careful with the room that you get in this hotel.

This hotel has a great breakfast and a great location, but that will not matter to anyone if they get the room we had on the first night. Shame on the Ptarmigan Inn for paying so little attention to the quality of their cheaper rooms.

Room Tip: Pay for a more expensive superior room or at least check that the standard room that you booked over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpionfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I want to assure you that we have exactly the same standards and housekeeping staff that clean our standard rooms as well as our superior rooms, and we treat each and every guest reservation with the same attention and utmost care. I do apologize that your first room was not cared for to our normal standards, please know that we are tightening our checklist to ensure this does not happen again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

The only great thing about this hotel is the location, super close to downtown. Beyond that everything is lame. Rooms are run down, beds are really saggy, noisy as well if facing the courtyard. The service is the topper on this. Never had such bad service; never delivered on any of their promises. The omelette cook, however, was fantastic. Stayed here for Melissa's road race weekend, however will make sure I book extra early to avoid having to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to deliver comfortable rooms and good customer service to all of our guests, and I am sorry to hear that we missed the mark in these areas. We would love to hear some further details about the service, so that we can follow up and ensure that we improve in those areas. We do have a quiet hour’s policy starting from 11:00 PM until 7:00 AM and I will follow up with security to ensure this is being followed. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and please feel free to contact me should you have any specific details that you would like to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed only one night on touring holiday so limited experience. The room was good but the bathroom was tiny. The location was on the main street but at one end so surprisingly quiet. Clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful and breakfast was good. I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: We had rooms round the side of the hotel so probably quieter than at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeysusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Ive stayed here twice now, staff are awesome, location is perfect, Ok its not high class but its nicely priced and clean and quiet, request a balcony, worth the little extra.

Cant believe how many bad reviews it has, the breakfast is flipping awesome and Im a fussy eater, staff are so friendly and polite.

Try staying at Jasper Parl Lodge, then youll know what crap rooms and bad service are and you pay 4 times the price for the privelage!

Perfect short walk to the shops and other restauarants, visit the Irish Bar, I can vouch for most of the menu!

Room Tip: Request a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of days for a conference.

The room was small and clean.

Check in/check out was fast and efficient.

The only concern I had was that you could hear the showers in the rooms on either side of me.

If I have to stay in Banff again I would definately consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craigb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Property: Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing