We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and hot breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed February 20, 2012

First off hats off to this hotel for the included hot breakfast buffet. Unlike most hotels that do the run of the mill scrambled eggs and toast this one offers a full hot and cold buffet, complete with custom omelet station. Which is a great touch. The bed was comfy room was clean flat screen tvs , we had the split suite which is a great option if someone snores. Staff was great

Room Tip: The split suite is great if your sharing with friends or if some one snores
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisk1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel is ideally situated for walking into the bars and restaurants of Banff. The only problem was the hotel bar closed at 10.15. There were 14 of us - good trade you would have thought, but they would not stay open for us. Apart from that we had a good experience. The staff on reception were excellent and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doris094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you so much for writing your review, and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. In regards to the hotel lounge, we are glad you had a chance to visit our the lounge, and we apologize that we have to close it so early. The reason for this is that we have standard hotel rooms that over look the lobby and lounge area, and out of respect for the guests occupying these rooms we have to start shutting down the lounge so all is quiet by 11:00. However the great news is that we are only a short walk to many downtown pubs and bars that stay open until 2:00 AM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel from 8th to the 15th February 2012. Booked approx 3 weeks before arrival and after having read many reviews for hotels in the town. Having already visited Banff a number of times before I was aware of its location in town just 1 minutes stroll from the main shopping and restaurant area. This closeness allows quick access for evening meals and shopping which is perfect if you have young family, but you dont hear any noise (apart from the night train) at night! For skiers, the ski bus collects and drops off right outside the door which means no long trips carrying your skis in the morning/evenings! Hotel is very clean and tidy with excellent sized rooms (we had two kids aged 10 and 9) with very very comfy beds and staff who couldn't do enough for us. Facilities are just what you need, hot tubs and steam rooms for relaxation with the extra benefit of a masseur for those tired muscles. Restaurant was very good too with a wide choice of tasty foods, they even give you one free meal when you first eat there! When choosing our hotel the offer of a free hot breakfast made my decision and I wasn't disappointed....lots of choice from cereals, to fresh fruit, yoghurts, all the traditional English breakfast items plus cooked to order omlettes! Overall couldn't fault the place and will be looking to go back there next year!!!! Previously we have stayed at the Banff Avenue Inn, Banff International and the Inns of Banff and this one beats them all!!! Phil Broughton....Rossendale, England.

Room Tip: We requested a room with an external window (some rooms face inwards to the atrium which can get hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philbr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

Phil – welcome home and thank you for such a thorough review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back next year. While you were here we were running a promotion in the restaurant of buy one entrée get a second free, and we do this on occasion when the town is quieter, we are glad you got to take advantage of this and enjoy your meal. See you next ski season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We got the room facing the lobby, and I was scared it woudnt be as good as others. nothing to worry about, they have balconies with chairs, its a very good choice especially in the winter time. Decent breakfast

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lelecaUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Three guys with one night in Banff... couldn't have stayed at a better place for what we paid. Desk set us up with a room with three beds- regular rate. Beds had a great plush top - we all slept like babies. Room was clean. Breakfast was hot. Location was within walking distance of all the bars and restaurants... even in -30 degree weather. Managed not to get too destroyed and made it to the hills on time... bus picks you up right in front of the hotel and brings you to all the slopes... they have it together. Would recommend highly to value traveller.

Room Tip: try to avoid the HVAC - blows a lot of hot air in front of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Z Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Thank you for the review, sounds like you had a great time, and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Banff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Reasonable prices when booked more than a week in advance, clean room, and good ammenities. Very decent hot breakfast, less than a block from downtown, and heated underground parking.
We found the room was very warm at night, even with thermostat turned down and supplied fan running on high. We mentioned this on checkout and the attendant did not seem surprised or offer an explanation.
The pool/suana facilities were not maintained in great condition, and there were local young poeple who stayed at chain affiliated hotels who had access to these facilities, and one weekend night were very loud, obnoxious, and also drinking in the the hot tub. Will probably try a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: We stayed on first floor and found the building very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and the breakfast. As for our hot tub area, we do allow access for our guests staying in our sister properties next door, and we will keep a closer on eye on the behaviors of fellow guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Firstly i would like to say, yet another brilliant ski holiday in Banff, ""The Canadian Rockies"".
We usually book our very last minute ski holiday through the major UK holiday brands, ""BUT"" this year the last minute prices had gone through the roof !!!!!, so i decided to take another route for booking our holiday, in the end i booked the flight, hotel and transfers via "" Canadian affair "" and what a huge saving, and very well organised and prompt, and with all the usual security cover, ie, abta, ect ect.

The HOTEL !!!!
What a wonderful stay we had.
The rooms are clean, and cleaned and maintained daily, comfortable, we had a lovely "out side" !! view with a balcony, they upgraded us to a view facing the mountains as it was my birthday whilst there ( free of charge) :-)). Tea Coffee maker in room and restocked daily.

PLEASE note!!! Many rooms have internal views of the atrium.

We had a package which included the hot buffet breakfast, very well worth it. Apparently when you book this hotel "independently" you get the offer of the breakfast for $5,TAKE IT!!! the breakfast is $14 at the hotel.
We usually stay at the top end of Banff Ave,which is a good 10/15 min walk in to Banff town, looooooooooovely BUT!!! at the end of the night at -36 !!!!!! and after a meal and a few pitchers (60 oz jug of lager) and a days skiing, the walk can seam haaaaaaaaaaaardd, SO, the location of the Ptarmigan was so easy on the legs n feet, its only a 1 minute walk into town and round the corner from Safeway store, :-)) :-)).

Ski lockers on site, 2 good whirl pools. free wireless AND Internet !!, good bar.
The new "Meatball" restaurant is a MUST.
We will be back!!!!!!!!!

(( we had a slight confusion over our breakfast package but the hotel managment and staff at the Ptarmigan very quickly dealt with it, so we would like to say thank you for your cheeri attitudes and help, and a special thank you, to Terryn in the restaurant !!!!
from the Robinsons. room 330, 18-25 jan 2012 !!!!!.

Room Tip: Make sure you are "aware" of what room you want, IE, external room with view and /or bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

Welcome home, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed yet another ski vacation in Banff, and thank you for the lovely praise. For any guests that book directly with us the FREE hot buffet breakfast is included in the price, and if you are booking through a 3rd party supplier, be sure to ask about this delicious and convenient option. We hope to see you again next year for your 10th ski year, and be sure to let us know it is your 10th year so we can make it extra special for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,580 reviews
0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $140 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing