We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Nice location, very friendly staff, clean rooms. We had an outside room, which was quiet and spacious. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nate866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

Clean, great location with very friendly and accommodating staff. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheLovely21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Thanks for the great weekend. Well be back next year.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyonabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

What made this a wonderful experience were a combination of the people and the best food I have enjoyed in a long time. When we upgraded our room to a premium I was most excited to see the beautiful bathroom & fireplace, however, only one bed, which we were not advised and needed two. Unfortunately, the Premium rooms only have one bed, we were given a room with two beds and no fridge which again was a disappointment as we had brought items which needed refrigeration and unfortunately we had to throw them out.

Sophie who checked us in was most gracious and swiftly got us another room straight away and she also made amendments to compensate for the oversights made. What excellent service, thank you.

The beds, were wonderful and the bath/shower amenities were worth a trip to the local Rocky Mountain Soap store where we were able to purchase our very own to bring home.

We were happy to be able to stay inside and looking forward to our evening meal. We were totally blown away with the amazing dinners which were both a treat visually and scrumptious along accompanied with excellent service. After our first night we were hooked and had a difficult decision to make for next visit.

A special mention to Nicole, our Server for the last night as there was a large party going on, and while dinner was delayed some, she brought lovely pieces of bread with oil & vinegar for dipping while we waited and shared a special "treat" with us after our "death by chocolate dessert:".

Not realizing when I got up and exited the restaurant that I left my wallet on the bench she knew where we exited from and ran to meet and hand it back to me as I was about to get in the elevator. Thank you so much Nicole for going that extra mile again. We are already making plans to return again soon for another getaway.

Ashleigh & Deb

Room Tip: The Premium rooms only have one bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Ashleigh and Deb – well you have successfully made me, and I am sure many others, hungry. Thank you for sharing your experience, and also for sharing the tip about the Premium room, we will make sure that we warn guests about the one bed prior to upgrading them in the future. I will pass on the nice remarks to Nicole and Sophie and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We had a room with a balcany facing the front courtyard, The noice echoed into our room. The bed was nice, but the hotel was old and not updated. The only highlight of the free breakfest was the omlettes. Very small selection. I never thought you can cut bread so thin for the toast. Staff was nice, Spa room was okay with two hot tubs, sauna and steam room. We used this alot, with the exception of the sauna that didn't work. I was happy I got a deal on the room, to pay full price is tooooooooo much.

Room Tip: Room that isn't facing the court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Grant – welcome home and thank you for sharing your comments. We are truly sorry that the sauna was out of order this past weekend, however the part is en route and it should be back up and running in the next few days. Hopefully you will come and visit us again, and request a Superior room, so you have that all important outside window.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Beds were absolutely fantastically comfortable... but... the first room we were in had no heat, and even after asking for maintenance 3 times nothing was done. We were finally moved to another room, which had an excessive amount of heat... and the smallest bathroom ever. The remote didn't work, curtains and blankets had tears in them.
The location of this hotel is good, easy to walk everywhere, and has underground heated parking, and the breakfast is good.
Staff very average, no extra effort from anyone to ensure that we were satisfied.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uprivercamaleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Welcome home and thank you for the review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our beds; all of our rooms have our Mountain feather bedding, truly luxurious. However I am troubled to hear that you did not receive the superior service we strive to deliver. We will do our best to remedy this to ensure that every guest is treated with welcoming and responsive service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

excellent smaller hotel - but get an outside room for a window. Right smack in the middle of town. Bed extremely comfy and staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast included. Banff has lots of good restaurants. Staff a little slow but get there in the end.

Room Tip: get a room with a good window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TILLYFARLAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $94 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing