We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It is what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel with a group of guys for a stag. We selected it as we were able to get a loft room which would provide us with enough beds and room so the group could all stay together.

The front check in staff were more concerned with the girls in the hot tub wanting to stay for another 10 minutes after it closed than checking us in. The underground parking was a nice feature, although it would be a little scary for some people as most of the lights were off.

The decor of the room as dated, the TVs were from 1980 and one didn't even have a remote.

The problem came at 7:00 in the morning the next day. The walls are paper thin and the room is incredibly hot. By paper thin, I mean that you can hear the next door neighbours walk up and down the stairs and every word of their conversation. They weren't even yelling but it was like they were sitting on the end of my bed having their conversation. Even with the windows open, the room was incredibly hot.

This hotel is located very close to the main strip of Banff which is a huge bonus. Overall this hotel is what it is. It served its purpose for us, but I wouldn't be having a romantic weekend here or bring my family.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FadeToDraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    322
    191
    71
    29
See reviews for
209
293
33
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

We found the hotel very friendly/homely with a 24hr reception, which gives you peace of mind. All the staff were very helpful and the food was very good in the restaurant and we had no problems with eating there. The sauna/jacuzzi room was very clean with lovely views. Our room was very big with plenty of room with a fridge and tea making facilities, main let down was we did'nt have a view but we were out most of the time anyway so it did'nt riun our holiday. The hotel was at the end of Banff avenue and was very well located for all the shops, restaurants and museums etc. I did hear that the decor is getting a make over in February. I would reccoment this hotel to anyone to stay in.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room temperature
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Genesis50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

This is a large hotel with good facilities, 24 hour front desk, and popular with tour groups. Check-in staff were very helpful, and the room was very comfortable and clean, with mini-fridge. There is a free underground car park, which is a great asset at any time of year (not just winter), as on-street parking is very difficult in Banff. The hotel is on the main street, and all of the shops and restaurants are within 5 to 15 minutes walk. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but I didn't eat there - there are too many great places to eat nearby. This is a good base for a stay of up to a week, and represents good value for Banff. The hotel's web site says it offers free wireless internet, but I distinctly remember that the system said it only offered a free period to try it (enough for me to book my next hotel on this trip), and you would need to pay after the first few minutes - maybe this has changed in the past few months since I stayed there.

  • Liked — Great location, free underground parking
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank majikthise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in a spacious small suite (2 queen size beds, sitting area, bathroom). No air conditioning, but ceiling and freestanding fans. Decoration of room was dingy. Beds were really uncomfortable - the first to be so in our trip. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and there is a choice of a buffet (plentiful and good) or a la carte. There is a car park in the basement. The town centre is quite compact, and there is a good range of restaurants to choose from. We didn't use the hotel's restaurant apart from breakfast, but the menu looked good. The hotel is bigger than it appears, and easily caters for tourists.

  • Liked — Plenty of space
  • Disliked — Lumpy, uncomfortable beds
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

The hotel is in a great location, just next door to a Safeway, and a short walk to the extensive Banff shopping. There's free underground parking, but no security. The room was stuffy and had no A/C. No view either....saw only a large piece of engineering equipment, or something like that. Bed was the hardest I've ever slept on, and I'm not usually picky regarding beds. Internet available, but pretty expensive. It's not a terrible place, though, just don't expect something fabulous.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — stifling air in the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

I have stayed in the hotel during a weekend vacation. I find it amazing for its price. Its location is a bonus, it is near all banff attractions, I didn't have a car, and I found it easy to walk to any place.
The hotel itself is so clean, the service is excellent.
I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dody_dolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis,IN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

This hotel is very conveniently located to shopping and restaurants but that is really the main thing it has in the plus side.
The rooms were only adequate. Breakfast service was okay but they weren't good about making sure the buffet dishes were kept filled. I only ate dinner in the the hotel restaurant one night. It was a tour group dinner with limited selection. I had rainbow trout which was good.

I probably would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#22 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#25 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Property: Banff International Hotel
Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing