We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location good hotel”
Review of Elk + Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location good hotel”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed a total of 5 nights on our return to Banff and very pleased with our choice, staff very friendly and helpful, underground parking a big plus,bar and restaurant very good and location perfect for evening stroll to the pubs and restaurants, also a good steam room sauna and hot tub plus a big bonus was the laundry room as we had travelled a lot and had a lot of washing! Only real downside was lack of air con although the overhead fan worked well,

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Jerry G

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts about your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you very much for pointing out some of the facilities we offer to your fellow travellers, including our onsite Ricky’s all day Grill, guest laundry, hot tub, sauna and steam room.

We also thank you very much for your kind words about our staff, being among them it is great to know we are achieving that which we set out to do.

Thank you once again for your review, it was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Banff International Hotel in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    501
    254
    88
    42
See reviews for
344
492
54
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Basic stay, basic room. Rooms seems to be dated back to the 80s, 90s style. Airconditioning is not available, making it good only for Spring, Winter travel i guess. Rooms tends to be a bit more noisy at night as the other folks makes their way back, guess they need sound proofing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReccaHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear reccakusanagi

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost we certainly recognize some of our weaknesses, that our rooms are dated and that we have a lack of air conditioning (an issue shared by the majority of Banff hotels).

We do have major renovations planned for the coming year to address both these concerns and we hope perhaps we will be able to welcome you back to one of our renovated rooms in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Hotel rooms are dated and very basic. No air conditioning which was not pleasant on a hot august night. Tried to call the front desk late at night and no one answered. Rooms were over priced for what you get. Wouldn't recommend and wouldn't stay again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Seanwbrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Seanwbrg

First and foremost we would like to apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced due to our lack of air conditioning, a situation faced by the vast majority of properties in Banff (2/3rds do not feature air conditioning) but it is something we are addressing in our extensive renovations in the coming year as we do also agree our rooms are a bit dated.

We also do apologize that our staff did not answer the phone on the night in question; we are looking into why that occurred.

We regret we were not able to provide you with a pleasant stay on this occasion as our goal is 100% guest satisfaction.

We thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts, we take all our guest comments seriously, positive and negative in an effort to improve ourselves and provide the best experience possible.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Booked in here for only one night on our Canada roadtrip. Loved Banff, was my favourite place i visited in Canada. Hotel itself is smart looking, friendly staff who were happy to advise a couple of things to do whilst we stayed. Rooms were more than comfortable and well maintained. Wifi was awful, couldn't get good signals on either of the log ins they gave me. Had a brilliant time in Banff and would certainly return to this hotel without a second thought.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear nicSouthamton

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost I would like to apologize for issues you experienced with our Wi-Fi, we are currently in the process of upgrading our entire network in order to resolve this issue.

We are very happy to hear however that the other aspects of your stay were much better and that you found our staff so friendly and helpful.

We are happy to hear you had a fantastic time in Banff as well and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the International Hotel in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2014

When we called the Banff International Hotel to directly book 3 rooms for 3 nites, we were told all they had left were their most expensive rooms @ $145 CD per nite. Well this was a blatant lie bec we checked out several other websites specializing in hotel rooms who all had availability at a much lower rate of $105 CD per nite. So we booked with Booking.com 3 rooms 3 nites at $105 CD per nite. If we did not check out the other websites, the hotel could have taken us for hundreds of dollars. Shame on them!!! Grace

Room Tip: Their rooms are basically the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Grace A,

I am glad that you were able to book for the best available rate. I am sorry that your experience in calling the hotel directly for a reservation did not meet your expectations. There are times in the year when we make available special rates for online booking engines such as stay 3 nights and save 30% off. The front desk and reservations staff can match rates with anything available online as long as they can see the same availability of room types. Again, I am sorry that this did not occur in your case but can assure you that it was not motivated by dishonesty on the part of the staff but perhaps confusion or a difference in information.

Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Brewster Hospitality
Banff International Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borthwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

What a great place to visit. Thanks to Brewsters. The hotel was a pleasant surprise. Good room size, comfortable and clean and centrally located.

Brewsters excursions - fantastic loved the gondola and walk along to the weather station. The lake boat not too special IMO.

The town - busy holiday town but lots of facilities in an amazing setting. Meal in Tooloulous fantastic.

Has to score 9/10 as an overall score. Will expect to revisit in the future.

Room Tip: The best you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WightWake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear WightWake

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and we thank you for your kind words about our property and we are glad that you enjoyed our location and had such a great visit to Banff.

We hope to welcome you back to the Banff International Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Hotel located relatively central in Banff. We had a large, clean but somewhat uncharitable room towards the main road. No air condition, and window would open just a tiny bit so that air could not circulate. It was an ok experience, not more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear TJMichel

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any discomfort you may have experienced during your stay with us, as you did point out we do not have air conditioning, but it is something we will be adding during our extensive renovations scheduled for this year.

We do regret that your stay was only satisfactory, our goal is to exceed guest expectations and we clearly have not done so on this occasion.

We hope you will give us another chance to improve upon this experience especially after our rooms have been renovated should your journeys bring you back to Banff.

David Crossland
Front desk supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk + Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk + Avenue Hotel

Property: Elk + Avenue Hotel
Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk + Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the quaint streets and ample restaurants, shopping and nightlife of downtown Banff, Elk + Avenue Hotel brings an upscale twist to the classic mountain escape. Whether you're looking for a relaxing après-ski sanctuary or a big night on the town, our contemporary designed rooms pair clean, minimalist design with cozy Rocky Mountain-inspired elements to create the ideal accommodation for exploring the best of Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elk + Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing