We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“No A/C in your room - plenty in the hall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No A/C in your room - plenty in the hall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The positives are that the location is great. Plenty of free parking. The staff is very nice and the rooms are a nice size. Unfortunately, there is zero A/C in the rooms. There is plenty in the lobby and hallway, but the rooms have a ceiling fan and oscillating fan which generally moves the hot air around. This won't be an issue in normal Banff weather, obviously. We were unfortunate enough to stay in the middle of summer. I probably would not have been as annoyed had there been zero A/C in the entire hotel. When the room you pay for is sweltering and the hallway is cool, it's really not acceptable in my book.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Beckitex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Beckitex1

Thank you for the recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced during your stay, on rare occasions temperatures in Banff do spike for short periods and as you pointed out we do not have air conditioning in any of our rooms and to quickly touch on your point about the hallways, because none of the interior sections of the hotel have windows, it is mainly there to regulate airflow throughout the building.

This is a problem faced by the overwhelming majority of properties in Banff (2/3rds do not feature air conditioning) and one we are looking to rectify with Air Conditioning units being installed as part of our major renovations going into the future.

But we are glad that our staff could be one of the high points of your visit and that you enjoyed our location, which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope that you would consider giving us another chance to improve on this experience and we’d also like to mention that our sister property, the Mount Royal Hotel does feature air conditioning, we would like to keep you within our group and would be very pleased to welcome you back to either property should your travels bring you to Banff again.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    335
    195
    72
    31
See reviews for
221
305
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

For the night we stay in Banff international hotel, we were pleasant with its convenient location which was just a few minutes walk to gift shops and restaurants. The overall apperance of the hotel is nice. Room is clean with adequate equipments. Soudproof from the outside corridor is good. There are free coffee and tea offered at the lobby.The only comment is the cleaness in bathroom needs to improved. But for its location with a reasonable price, may be that's the reason why its so crowded in peak season!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear kk K

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for the issues you cited in regards to the bathroom; your comments have been passed on to our housekeeping department in order to avoid these shortfalls in the future.

However we are very happy you had an overall positive experience with us and that you enjoyed our location.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again at the Banff International Hotel when you travels bring you to the area once more.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is right on Banff Ave really close to all of the shops and restaurants. The parking garage was handy and the staff even let us stash our bikes behind the front desk for easy access. We didn't have problems with the wifi and the fridge was a great perk. The only complaint I have is that the service in the hotel Ricky's restaurant was horrific. They kept getting my order wrong and most of the servers didn't come around to refill coffee very often.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Christy W

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments about your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel

We are very happy to hear that you had an overall positive experience with us and that we could be so helpful to you with your bikes.

However we do apologize for the service quality you received in Ricky’s, your comments have been passed on to the restaurant management in order to address these issues.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again when your future travels bring you back to Banff.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

From a location standpoint, this property is centrally located and they have a private parking garage below the building. While the exterior and lobby looked great, the rooms were somewhat dated with stains on the furniture and free but fairly useless WiFi that was glacially slow. Overall though, a pleasant stay and decent value considering the summer crowds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear markbyrn24

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for issues you may have had with our Wi-Fi, we are currently exploring several possible options to update our aging infrastructure and we also agree that our rooms are dated, which is why we will be embarking on extensive renovations this year to address this particular issue.

We are glad however that you found good value in our property and enjoyed our location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope you would consider our hotel for your next visit to the area and hope to welcome you back very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed there with my girfriend first week in July for 2 nights. Location is great, right on Banff ave, parking was easy to find right on the back street behind the hotel underground and free. The rooms have everything you need, refridge, coffee maker, nice TV. Yes, the rooms are dated and carpet had some stains, but I had no complaints, we paid 175 a night in peak season, but that seemed like less than the going rate peak season anywhere, I was fine with that. Safeway grocery store is right accross the street, prices are same as Edmonton, we had a cooler and got drinks and food for our excursions and used a cooler with ice from the hotel.
People have complained about no AC in the rooms, but as soon as night hits the hotel cools down fast, I can see if you hit it during a heat wave, maybe issue, but rooms all have a huge ceiling fan and also a fan in the closet, but in Alberta there are only a few days a year you would ever need air. We will stay again.
I give the hotel a thumbs up, the lobby is very Banff, and gives a nice feel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear David K

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

We are very happy to hear that you had an overall positive experience during your stay with us and we do thank you for pointing out our fantastic location and the facilities and amenities we offer our guests including our underground parking and location.

As you mentioned heat can sometimes be an issue and although it wasn’t for you on this occasion we would like to say our planned extensive renovations will include the addition of AC to relieve the issue in totality.

We are glad you will be staying with us again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you again.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hotel is in a good location. Room was clean and spacious and bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The only small drawback is that, if arriving at the same time as a lot of other people and your room is on a higher floor, it can prove difficult to get past the guests waiting with their luggage for the elevator going to the lower floors. Some guests too ignorant to move the slightest bit even when asked nicely. Would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionAnne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear MarionAnne64

Thank you for taking the time to leave us comments about your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and we thank you for your kind words about our staff, it is always great to hear we are achieving that which we set out to do and we are extremely happy to hear that you will stay with us again in the future.

We hope to welcome you back with very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

clean, great area to walk around, breakfast is included, your choice of full breakfast. Comfy bed.
Relax a night with a nice brew or drink in the bar or walk down the street to your choice of many other places.

Room Tip: great place to stay for Banff marathon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Ron Lynn W

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

We are very happy to hear you found such great value in our property and that you had a great time in Banff.

We would like to briefly clarify that not all our reservations come with breakfast included, but you may have booked our Alberta Residents Special that includes breakfast within the room rate.

We once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Property: Banff International Hotel
Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing