We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Big and a bit boring” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Lancashire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Big and a bit boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in a spacious small suite (2 queen size beds, sitting area, bathroom). No air conditioning, but ceiling and freestanding fans. Decoration of room was dingy. Beds were really uncomfortable - the first to be so in our trip. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and there is a choice of a buffet (plentiful and good) or a la carte. There is a car park in the basement. The town centre is quite compact, and there is a good range of restaurants to choose from. We didn't use the hotel's restaurant apart from breakfast, but the menu looked good. The hotel is bigger than it appears, and easily caters for tourists.

  • Liked — Plenty of space
  • Disliked — Lumpy, uncomfortable beds
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    335
    195
    72
    31
See reviews for
221
305
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

The hotel is in a great location, just next door to a Safeway, and a short walk to the extensive Banff shopping. There's free underground parking, but no security. The room was stuffy and had no A/C. No view either....saw only a large piece of engineering equipment, or something like that. Bed was the hardest I've ever slept on, and I'm not usually picky regarding beds. Internet available, but pretty expensive. It's not a terrible place, though, just don't expect something fabulous.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — stifling air in the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

I have stayed in the hotel during a weekend vacation. I find it amazing for its price. Its location is a bonus, it is near all banff attractions, I didn't have a car, and I found it easy to walk to any place.
The hotel itself is so clean, the service is excellent.
I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dody_dolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis,IN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

This hotel is very conveniently located to shopping and restaurants but that is really the main thing it has in the plus side.
The rooms were only adequate. Breakfast service was okay but they weren't good about making sure the buffet dishes were kept filled. I only ate dinner in the the hotel restaurant one night. It was a tour group dinner with limited selection. I had rainbow trout which was good.

I probably would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Red Deer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

Stayed one night, it was off the cuff. We were camping and the weather took a turn for the nasty. Hotel was clean, room was average, enough room for the two of us..The one sticking point was that the queen bed was as hard as a slab of concrete. Did not sleep at all. Very, very disappointing for the price and the hotel lounge closed at 10:30, what's with that?

  • Liked — Location was great, close to downtown.
  • Disliked — Sleeping on the bed was like laying on concrete.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike19111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

I stayed at the International for approximately 1 week and the location was excellent. I encountered 2 reception staff members who were not too bad but the rest were shocking.

I was fairly happy with my room..the ceiling fan was a necessity as it was quite stuffy.

My rate didn't include breakfast and I didn't eat there as it seemed quite expensive. That wasn't a problem though as there were so many great places to go to in town.

If I had of looked around a bit more I probably could have found something better but overall I was pretty happy with it for the price I paid and I did prefer it a lot more than the B & B I stayed in when I first arrived in Banff.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Reception staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MyGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

The Banff International is in a great location just metres from the main street's shopping and dining precinct. The hotel is a little dated and the room we stayed in, a standard 2 x doubles, was on the small side and had slightly dated but not depressing decor. The room and bathroom were very clean and for an overnight stop it was adequate. We got a great price for summer in Banff $125 + tax, but I wouldn't want to pay much more. The breakfast buffet was adequate but not exciting - 3 choices of cereal, yoghurt, fruit, eggs, sausages, potato, pancakes, waffles and bread for toasting (2 types of supermarket packet bread). The front desk staff were only average but breakfast servers were very friendly and pleasant. Overall just OK nothing more. For a very good price and the location I might stay there again for an overnight stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Decor and small room, very firm bed, plumbing noise
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Property: Banff International Hotel
Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing