We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Banff”
Review of Elk + Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our one night stay at Banff International Hotel. It is located on Banff Avenue which is a great spot in the heart of Banff. The rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfy. We walked the avenue and explored many of the shops. The view of the mountains was spectacular. We even saw an elk across the street on the lawn of the local high school. The staff at reception were very helpful. He gave us a great suggestion that resulted in seeing a grizzly bear on the way to Lake Louise. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank tigger60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear tigger60,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location, comfy beds, and helpful staff. Our staff are full of local knowledge and can help all our guests with restaurant recommendations, activities, and popular areas to see wildlife.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
There are newer reviews for Elk + Avenue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

954 - 960 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the Banff International on the 6th October 2013 and we had room 106 which was on the ground floor. The room was dark and gloomy because the window looked out onto a stone wall with no view, just the wall and a small tree. So check into a room on the first floor that way you will get a view and some natural day light.

The restaurant can only cope with a few guests who may require breakfast. We arrived at 7.30am for breakfast only to be told the two kitchen staff could not cope! Not the kind of service you expect from a hotel who must have been aware that 40 guests who had booked in the previous day would be requiring breakfast the following day?

Be aware that this hotel stopped the bar service at 10pm!!

The only good thing to say is that the room was clean and the hotel is well placed for the centre of Banff.

Room Tip: Do not go in room 106 and those adjacent to it because they are dark and gloomy with no view, get a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arfandmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Arfandmarg,

Thank you for your review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed our clean rooms and the location of the hotel.

As we are located in the downtown area, we are unable to offer mountain views from all of our rooms. Please feel free to request a mountain view room on your next reservation and our front desk staff will do their very best to accommodate you.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the delay in food at Ricky's. I have passed your comments regarding the long wait times and hours of operation to the General Manager for his review.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in early September when the weather was quite warm. The room was quite well appointed with very comfortable bed which we appreciated after a long flight. We did find the room warm and a bit airless and the overhead fan was definitely needed as the small window did not allow very much fresh air in - no air con. In colder weather it would probably be absolutely fine. It certainly wasn't bad enough for us to ask for another room. Price was very reasonable, so that was the offset.
Great location with an easy walk to most town sights, restaurants, shops etc. Staff were very pleasant at reception and also in the restaurant where we ate once - food in Ricky's was fine and reasonably priced.
Overall, I think we got what we paid for in such a busy tourist destination and we were happy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large, opening window.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elanora16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear elanora16,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

It is great to read that you enjoyed the comfortable bed, our pleasant staff, and convenient location. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the room temperature. We do supply an overhead fan as well as a table fan (located in the closet in most rooms) in case the room is warm. Our rooms also come equipped with blackout curtains to keep the sun from warming up the room. As you mentioned, the colder weather cools down the rooms. Each room has a thermostat to adjust the heating.

Just last week we put a complimentary coffee and tea station in our lobby for our guests. Our guests can now help themselves and our to-go cups makes it possible to take your hot beverage with you on a stroll around Banff or on the bus up to a ski hill!

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to host you and your partner should you visit the Canadian Rockies again.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We really liked the room .the view was nice .we found Ricky's restaurant a good place for breakfast .i being vegetarian was impressed by their wholesome breakfast as well as efforts to change their menu to suit my needs.
The bed was king size and comfortable and in general service was good.we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anju G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Anju,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your room, king sized bed, and mountain view.

Brewster Hospitality is committed to providing our guests with the best service as well as accommodating our guests' needs as best we can. Ricky's All Day Grill caters to all types of dietary restrictions such as vegetarian and gluten free. Ricky's will be adding new sandwiches to their menu at the end of this week including the delicious 'grilled veggie zensation'.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you and your partner back soon.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The best thing was the location-really close and convenient to downtown.
The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, had a nice feel to it. Didn't go to the restaurant but it has a good name amongst the locals, especially for breakfast. The staff were polite and friendly at all times. We stayed for 3 nights. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Book ahead online, much cheaper than just turning up.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargetBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear MargetBrisbane,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location, spacious rooms, staff, and atmosphere.

As you mentioned, Ricky's All Day Grill is a favourite amongst the locals and many of our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Last Christmas, we stayed at the Banff Hotel and for the expensive rate, the hotel did not live up to the quality expected. The pool/ hot tub was a joke, we had to switch rooms to try and get something with a normal sized window but ended up with a view of the other side of the building... I would never stay here again. The rooms smelled like stale cigarettes

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear RMinty,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

Please accept our sincerest apologies that you did not enjoy your stay. We thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I hope you trust that we have heard your comments.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I really liked the hotel and also our room. It all had a very nice feel to it. The food in the restaurant however was a real let down. On the first evening I received my chicken risotto without the chicken and on the group dinner many people didn't eat their food as it wasn't very good. The bathroom also wasn't too good, the toilet flush didn't work properly, that is it didn't stop!!

Room Tip: Rooms seems to be alright, just make sure that you eat somewhere els!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gudrun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Gundrun B,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

We are so pleased that you and your husband enjoyed the hotel and your room. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any issues you made have had with the toilet flush. We will be undergoing an extensive renovation in the next couple of months and that including replacing the entire bathroom! Should you stay here again and have any issues whatsoever, please contact the front desk and they will send the appropriate department to fix any issues.

I have contacted the management at Ricky's All Day Grill and passed on your comments. We greatly appreciate your feedback and will use it to help improve our service.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
968 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk + Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk + Avenue Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $122 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk + Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the quaint streets and ample restaurants, shopping and nightlife of downtown Banff, Elk + Avenue Hotel brings an upscale twist to the classic mountain escape. Whether you're looking for a relaxing après-ski sanctuary or a big night on the town, our contemporary designed rooms pair clean, minimalist design with cozy Rocky Mountain-inspired elements to create the ideal accommodation for exploring the best of Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elk + Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing