We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lame” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elk + Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lame”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The entrance is OK and the staff are pleasant. There is no extra charge for parking. The beds were a bit soft but not too bad. But the decor in the room had not been updated since the 1970s---cheap furniture, stained rug, a silly little sitting area that faces...a blank wall. No desk, wifi that is so slow you can fall asleep waiting for the connection to work, a big-screen TV hidden away in a cabinet that requires massive neck-craning to view from the beds. More annoying was the poor quality of housekeeping. I used a packet of coffee my first morning, and it was not replaced by the maid. The phone in the room didn't work, so I could not call for a replacement; instead I ended up walking down to the front desk in my PJs to get more coffee. The second day the maid didn't even bother picking up the bathmat; she just left it rumpled on the bathroom floor. The hand towel was dumped on the back of the toilet, leaving the bathroom looking like someone had broken into the room and rifled through things. Are the maids here on drugs? Or just incompetent? The sad thing is that most Banff hotels seem to be stuck in a similar 1970s time warp. It almost seems like all the cool people moved to Whistler 20 years ago and Banff hasn't bothered to make any changes since then. The scenery in Banff is unbeatable, but the Banff International Hotel...an overpriced Motel 6.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Tom L:

Thank you for sharing your recent experience staying at the Banff International Hotel. We are glad to read that you found our staff pleasant and enjoyed the free parking. You will be pleased to know that the hotel is scheduled to undergo major renovations in the near future with a view to better cater to the desires of our guests. I have also passed on your complaints to our Executive Housekeeper who will aim to improve the standards of service going forward. Our main goal is to ensure that our guests have a memorable, happy experience and we use customer feedback, such as your own, to understand our strengths and weaknesses.

Your business is important to us and we thank you for sharing your insight.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    368
    207
    74
    32
See reviews for
234
343
38
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairland, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
242 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in a very nice location and offers a very comfortable stay. The room cleanliness was a little less that it should have been but I believe they had just had a bad day. It was a little overpriced in the restaurant but the staff did their best to accommodate our needs. The housekeeping staff should pay a little better attention in the rooms before they open the rooms for business. We would stay again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Kelly B:

Thank you so much for giving the Banff International Hotel a 4/5 rating on Trip Advisor!

We are glad that you enjoyed our very nice location and that your stay was comfortable. I have passed your comments on to our housekeeping department in an effort to better our service standards in the future.

Your business is important to us and we appreciate your kind words and suggestions. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Banff.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our 2 night stay with friends in the next room was slightly spoiled by very poor housekeeping. The large tv cabinet was extremely dusty, both on top and inside. Shower curtain had yellow stain along the bottom and the bath had grime in the corner where it met the floor. Our friends room was not cleaned on the first full day. On the plus side the staff were polite and the food very good. It's central location makes it ideal for discovering this beautiful town.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Stephen D:

Thank you for taking the time to review the Banff International Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you found our staff to be polite, our dining options above satisfactory and our location ideal for exploring Banff.

I have passed on your comments regarding room cleanliness to our Housekeeping department and apologize for the issues that you encountered. Please know that your experience is not common with our standards and we will use this feedback to improve in the future.

Your business is important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Canadian Rockies.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed for a few days in March and booked a Premium room solely for the mountain view. However, on arriving we found the view from the room to be somewhat lacking (see attached picture of car park)!

The room was pretty spacious, but also quite dated, and the wifi was so slow to render it completely useless.

The real benefit to this hotel was its location, you really can't be any more central. This is why I would stay here again if there was a good price for a room, but I would only go for a standard room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CG_London45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear CG_London45:

Guest feedback is a key tool that we use to improve our services here at the Banff International Hotel and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you were impressed with our central location and spacious rooms. You will be pleased to know that our hotel will soon be undergoing major renovations to provide more modern amenities for our guests.

Regarding your complaint about the view from your Premium room, please accept our apologies. The Town of Banff has a bylaw that states that buildings cannot be more than three storeys above ground level. Given this fact, it is common for downtown businesses to have elements of surrounding buildings/parking lots incorporated into their mountain views. Regardless, our front desk staff are always accommodating and if they are aware of your dissatisfaction, they will do their best to relocate you should a comparable room, with a better view, be available.

Thank you again for sharing your insight and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to the Canadian Rockies.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We got a 2 bed room. Very comfortable beds, shower is good, clean and quiet room. There is a good bar next to front desk. Staff was friendly and gave us good dinning directions. Parking is underground and it's entrance is at back of the hotel. You get a password to enter it. Great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FernandoLSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear FernandoLSilva:

Thank you for giving the Banff International Hotel a 4 star rating on Trip Advisor!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our comfortable beds and clean and quiet rooms. Our staff are indeed friendly and knowledgeable and our location (with onsite parking) is certainly convenient to all that downtown Banff has to offer. We pride ourselves on providing a quality experience to our guests and are glad that you agree.

Thank you once again for your kind words and we look forward to your return when you are next visiting the Canadian Rockies.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed for two nights after the May long weekend. Location and value were our main reasons for choosing this hotel and we are very glad we did. Room décor may be somewhat dated but very clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable. We were given a wifi code and it worked wonderfully for the time we needed it. All staff we encountered in both the hotel and restaurant were wonderfully friendly and helpful.

We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a_lawrence1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear A_Lawrence1976:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel. We are glad that you believe our hotel to be good value and that you found our staff to be friendly and wifi and downtown location to be convenient also. We appreciate your business and are pleased to read that you had such a memorable visit that you will come and stay with us again!

Thank you in advance for your loyalty and we look forward to serving you on your next trip to Banff.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Rooms have really old decor. But clean. They say free wifi but its super slow and you need a code (they don't give you one) to get on. You get free wifi for about five minutes though. Staff were super friendly! Access to downtown is great. Parking is okay if you have a small car there is a parkade but as I came on work with my van it didn't fit and I had to park two blocks down. Might stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Executive Coordinator at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Shauna L:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Banff International Hotel. We are happy to read that you appreciated our clean rooms, super friendly staff and convenient location. We are pleased to inform you know that the hotel will be undergoing extensive renovations in the near future with a view to better cater to the desires of our guests.

Your business is important to us and we look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again when you are next in Banff.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#23 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk + Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk + Avenue Hotel

Property: Elk + Avenue Hotel
Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk + Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the quaint streets and ample restaurants, shopping and nightlife of downtown Banff, Elk + Avenue Hotel brings an upscale twist to the classic mountain escape. Whether you're looking for a relaxing après-ski sanctuary or a big night on the town, our contemporary designed rooms pair clean, minimalist design with cozy Rocky Mountain-inspired elements to create the ideal accommodation for exploring the best of Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Elk + Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing