We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It was OK ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Decent hotel, in a good location. The furniture in the room I was in was quite old, with stains on all three of the chairs in here. Carpets are looking a bit tired, showing signs of use. It's definitely time for management to upgrade the rooms. Aside from my sitting situation, everything seems clean (I'm just going to avoid looking under the sheets! What I don't know can't hurt me ...)

For the price I paid, I probably couldn't expect much more, but I'd be shelling out a few extra dollars to stay in a fancier hotel in the future.

Staff was friendly, the halls are quiet - so overall, this hotel gets an average rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bananayoshimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Eugene Wu:

The Banff International Hotel has a sincere desire to provide a quality experience for all of our guests. Feedback, such as your own, assists us in understanding our strengths, but, most importantly, our weaknesses. We are happy to inform you that the hotel will be undergoing large-scale renovations in the near future which will enable us to provide new and improved services and facilities for our customers.

Your business is important to us and we do appreciate your input. Thank you once again for your constructive comments.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    338
    197
    72
    31
See reviews for
222
307
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

absolutely horrible hotel, the staff was so incredibly rude and unprofessional. to many yahoos in the halways at night, like seriously?? the security guard didn't do anything about it (the short one), mind you he even came inside and had a glass of wine with us (WHILE HE WAS ON SHIFT). i couldnt believe the service, and that kid who works at the front desk who was like 16, like hell-oooo there are tons of people in this world needing jobs yet you hire a unprofessional 16 year old? worst hotel in banff ever, DONT STAY THERE.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank banffhater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are alarmed to read about your profoundly negative experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you encountered and know that your remarks are taken very seriously. The relevant departments have been fully informed of the points you have raised and, rest assured, action will be taken.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. It is with these discerning comments that we will be able to better the standards of service that we provide to our customers.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

this is a great place right on the main strip in Banff, but not too close that its too noisy. It was the perfect walking distance to all the main shops. Beds were very comfortable and we had no issues at all. would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hppytrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just back from 12 night stay at the Banff International, We had a great room (519) it overlooked Safeway but you also had the mountains behind as this room is on the top floor. Excellent location for shops and restaurants in Banff, especially as it was pretty cold so you didn't want to have to walk too far ! Staff all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorry62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed in this hotel when i travelled to banff to see the real Canada. The glaziers to the Rocky Mountains what a beautiful country Canada is. This hotel was perfect for evrything we wanted to do and located centrally to everything. Overall good hotel and perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali-TheTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We got a special, working out to almost nothing per night in Banff, we had nothing to lose as the location was perfect - across the street from the Safeway, right at the start of the shops and restaurants on Banff Ave (none of the noise from the clubs/restaurants but only a couple of blocks away to get there). We thought there would be something wrong with it for sure, but, there wasn't. Clean, comfy beds, noise policy after 11pm, Ricky's for breakfast downstairs, nice entrance/etc. The rooms were basic, but clean/comfy/quiet/location made for a perfect vacation.

Room Tip: We didn't get a view, we were just happy it was a quiet room but it overlooked the roof/heater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoanneH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Joanne

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!


We were pleased to hear of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We strive to ensure that our guests are happy, and we are humbled that we made an extra positive impact on your stay.


Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.


Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

On our first trip to Banff in September we stumbled upon this hotel with a great package which was a night rate ($200) that included the gondola ticket and a lake cruise. Great value for money and we enjoyed it a lot. You cannot beat the location of this hotel, it's right in the centre of it all. The hotel itself can do with a revamp but who needs to stay in the room for long when there is so much to see outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helenseaborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Helenseaborne

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

It was a pleasure to host your visit to both Banff and the Banff International Hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m happy that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s location and all the different activities our company has to offer its guests. We found it a joy to have hosted you in house.

Thank you for sharing with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Property: Banff International Hotel
Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing