We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Hotel and perfect location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elk + Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Good Hotel and perfect location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed in this hotel when i travelled to banff to see the real Canada. The glaziers to the Rocky Mountains what a beautiful country Canada is. This hotel was perfect for evrything we wanted to do and located centrally to everything. Overall good hotel and perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali-TheTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    369
    207
    74
    32
See reviews for
234
344
38
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We got a special, working out to almost nothing per night in Banff, we had nothing to lose as the location was perfect - across the street from the Safeway, right at the start of the shops and restaurants on Banff Ave (none of the noise from the clubs/restaurants but only a couple of blocks away to get there). We thought there would be something wrong with it for sure, but, there wasn't. Clean, comfy beds, noise policy after 11pm, Ricky's for breakfast downstairs, nice entrance/etc. The rooms were basic, but clean/comfy/quiet/location made for a perfect vacation.

Room Tip: We didn't get a view, we were just happy it was a quiet room but it overlooked the roof/heater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoanneH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Joanne

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!


We were pleased to hear of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We strive to ensure that our guests are happy, and we are humbled that we made an extra positive impact on your stay.


Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.


Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

On our first trip to Banff in September we stumbled upon this hotel with a great package which was a night rate ($200) that included the gondola ticket and a lake cruise. Great value for money and we enjoyed it a lot. You cannot beat the location of this hotel, it's right in the centre of it all. The hotel itself can do with a revamp but who needs to stay in the room for long when there is so much to see outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helenseaborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Helenseaborne

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

It was a pleasure to host your visit to both Banff and the Banff International Hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m happy that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s location and all the different activities our company has to offer its guests. We found it a joy to have hosted you in house.

Thank you for sharing with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We got a two nights for one rate so was well worth the price. The location (2 blocks from the centre of town) was excellent. Parked the truck on Friday and didn't have to drive till we left Sunday. Garage was a tight fit to get in 6'1" clearance) but roomy inside. Room was very clean and smelled nice. Was a great size with a comfy bed. I read that there may be issues with noise but was nice and quiet. Our view was non-existent (roof view) but with the price we paid for the weekend ($183 all in) that was no big deal. Room was hot though so needed to crack the window and run the overhead fan at night. All in all I will definitely stay again for that price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snarley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Snarley

We were pleased to hear of your pleasant experience while staying with us.

We strive to ensure that our guests are happy during their stay. It is fantastic to hear that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s facilities, and all our town has to offer its guests. We found it a joy to have hosted you in house.

It is my pleasure to share your comments with the rest of our team, we thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days during the skiing season. The Hotel location is ideal for easy access to shopping and eating establishments. We were unlucky to have very noisy neighbours for 3 nights but these were sorted out by hotel staff. The hot tub was great after a hard days skiing but the clean towels were sometimes in short supply. The staff were always polite and helpful. Overall, a hotel that I would choose again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skid1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Skid


Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

It was a pleasure to host your visit to both Banff and the Banff International Hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m happy that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s central location and all our town has to offer its guests. We found it a joy to have had you and you in house.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and look forward to serving you in Banff again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
381 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked the Premium Deluxe King Room (best room in the hotel) which their web site boasted that every one of these rooms have a magnificent mountain view. We phoned ahead to confirm and we were told they were on the second and third floors at the rear of the hotel. After recently being diagnosed with a serious medical condition, we needed a weekend away and thought this suited us.

On arrival we were given a main floor room with a "wonderful" view of the Safeway across the road (see attached photo). When we went to discuss this with the front desk, we were told it was "first come first served" and we got the ground floor version of the advertised room. This was contrary to the information given by the web site and the reservation call. We asked to speak with the manager and were told he was off site at another location. When he returned at least an hour later, he said there were no other king rooms available but offered to give us the room at no cost and would move us the next day (he did honor the free night). However the room we though we had booked would still not be available for the second night. Our relaxing weekend became such a nightmare that we barely slept at all that night and decided just to check out the next day.

The manager said he would address the "false advertising" on the web site and speak to staff about the location of rooms. Our advice is that once booked, we get confirmation of room and location by email and would appreciate that this room would be ours for the allotted stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidTAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear David

We are very sorry and deeply regret that our services and facilities were not satisfactory during your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in offering only the best to our guests and assure this experience is not common with that of our standards.

I have taken the liberty to share your comments with the appropriate departments. Your feedback will be reviewed and used as a tool to help us improve and maintain our standards.

Thank you for sharing with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to share with you the true Banff International Hotel experience.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Booked through Hotel.com: fantastic price, great value for what you get, clean and well attended services. Right on the main thoroughfare Banff Avenue. Great restaurants are near by, Food store Safeway is across from it. Very convenient location. Would stay agin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wtun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Wutn

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received while you were with us and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, close to all the shops and restaurants.

We are happy to have had a positive impact on your stay, as we do take great pride in offering the best services possible to our guests.

Thank you for sharing with us, and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#23 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk + Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk + Avenue Hotel

Property: Elk + Avenue Hotel
Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk + Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the quaint streets and ample restaurants, shopping and nightlife of downtown Banff, Elk + Avenue Hotel brings an upscale twist to the classic mountain escape. Whether you're looking for a relaxing après-ski sanctuary or a big night on the town, our contemporary designed rooms pair clean, minimalist design with cozy Rocky Mountain-inspired elements to create the ideal accommodation for exploring the best of Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Elk + Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing