We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 10%!
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for a night during reading week. We booked a loft room. When we arrived there, our room was not ready for us yet (we arrived before the 4 pm check in time) but they told us that we could have a non-loft room if we wanted to have a room right then. We decided that we would come back later, and keep our loft room, but appreciated that they offered us an alternative.
The room was very nice. It was nice and clean and open. The beds were very comfortable. We had a great view of the mountains. We had plenty of towels which was nice, especially since a lot of places don't give you enough.
We went to the hot tub, steam room and sauna in the hotel. Our only complaint was that the hot tub wasn't hot enough. The sauna was really nice though, and we spend plenty of time in there.
Overall, the hotel was very nice. It was in the perfect location for shopping or going anywhere else in Banff. We definitely would stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyss90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Lyss90

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was glad to read that you and your friends had a good experience while you were staying with us.
We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    320
    188
    71
    29
See reviews for
206
291
33
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent first time stay here over the Family Day weekend. Best location of all Banff hotels right on Banff Ave. at the edge of the main shop/restaurants - everything was within a few minutes walk. Secure underground parking was appreciated, and the staff here are friendly and helpful. Our room was a premier queen which had a great corner view up Banff Avenue. Nice large room at great rate at the hotel's website - Explore the Rockies package which was lowest rate (better than AMA or Expedia) and included passes for gondola and hot springs. Very comfy beds, nice linens, bathroom was updated and spotlessly clean. Only issue was no air conditioning, so was a bit warm, but easily solved with opening one of the many windows.

No hotel food service, but nice modern Ricky's restaurant in the lobby. Our breakfasts there were very nice - good food and service and very reasonable prices.

Hotel and rooms are a bit dated in decor, but location, cleanliness, price and staff more than compensate. We will be back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Premier two queen rooms - large corner room with curved wall with 6 large windows with views up Banf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanTravel106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear CanTravel

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We were pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are truly happy with every stay and our team are humbled and found it an equal joy of have you in-house.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.


Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2013 for 3 nights. Booking.com and Expedia had the best rates, and the front desk staff were happy to match those for me when adding a night at reception. The room was large with a good bathroom, nice beds and large TV. The hotel restaurant was ok, but service was a bit slow at the bar. Nice place to hang out if you are not in a rush.

Underground parking could fit cars up to 6'1". There is also an internal Jacuzzi room, and ski/snowboard waxing iron in the basement available. The location is fantastic, and you can rent skates from reception for the rink across the road, or walk up to the river.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendanshanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

With Banff on our doorstep we like go for a mini getaway. The price point was excellent compared to other dated properties I've stayed at in Banff. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. Facecloths and a plastic bag for the ice bucket were missing, and it would have been nice to see a bin for recycling. The sofa and chairs were very worn. The restaurant is hardly what I would call upscale family. The hotel is just a block from the beginning of the shops and restaurants of main street. It was lovely to explore the street at night and then again during daylight after check out (the hotel let us continue to park into the afternoon).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear cdar

Thank you for sharing your Banff International Hotel experience! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team is humbled and found it a joy to have you in-house.

We are grateful for your constructive comments which will help us improve and maintain our standards. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments.

Thank you again, we truly look forward to seeing you in Banff again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This is your standard large hotel, however it's a two minute walk to the bars and restaurants in Banff. The bus to the Ski resorts stops outside the hotel. The rooms are clean and tidy. The one thing that makes a big difference is the staff are always friendly, generally smiling and go out there way to help you. It was good value for money

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Lee

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

Thank you for sharing your experience! We were glad to hear about the high level of service you received during your stay. Our team found it a joy to host you in house.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you again on your next Banff getaway.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I could not seem to find a hotel in Banff that had a separate living quarter for my 3 kids until I found this hotel. It was a good place to stay during the winter for a family with little ones like ours. Hotel has ample parking underground. The room that I booked was a LOFT. My kids were amazed at the place that I booked. They were really excited. The price was a little pricey because it was a loft. The hotel is conveniently located near all shops of main business district. The rooms were a little bit older, but decent. We only needed a place to sleep after a day of skiing. Hotel's front desk staff were courteous and helpful. In my opinion, it would be just fine to stay at this hotel over the winter but might not be as good during the summer, since I noticed there was no air conditioning. It only had fans.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Ken

We were pleased to learn of the great experience you received during your recent stay with us at the Banff International Hotel.

We always strive to ensure our guests are truly happy with every stay and our team are humbled and found it an equal joy of have you and your family in-house.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I had a special 2 day escape to Banff. The hotel exceeded our expectations and the staff should all be congratulated for their friendliness, professionalism and doing the job right.
Our room had a great view of Banff Avenue and the mountains, the suana, steam room and Hot tub was very relaxing.
I have booked another visit to this hotel in February.

Thanks

Bill & Katherine Meyer

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bemeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Bill and Katherine,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was glad to read about the exceptional experience you received while you were staying with us. We strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team found it a joy to have you in house.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your specific comments with the appropriate departments. Thank you for your feedback.

We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#22 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#25 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Property: Banff International Hotel
Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing