We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, somewhat dated, but overall fits the need”
Review of Elk + Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, somewhat dated, but overall fits the need”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend family getaway in Dec 2012 and despite the kids disappointment that there was no pool, we found the hot tub, steam room and sauna a nice relaxing break from our room. Service was good and underground parking was nice. It's nicely located in the heart of downtown Banff and easy stroll to all the shops, restaurants and outdoor skating across the street. Thanks for a nice stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Eatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Love2Eatz

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was glad to read that you had a good experience during your recent stay with us. We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to welcoming you and your family upon your return to Banff.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    500
    254
    88
    42
See reviews for
343
489
54
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I arrived from Vancouver on 20th December hoping for a white Xmas. We were greeted by Alyce at reception and immediately felt welcomed. She was so helpful. The hotel is a little dated however, it felt very cosy. The bedroom had a view of the surrounding snow capped mountains and was quiet roomy. The bed was very comfortable. Their restaurant (Ricky's) was probably our only disappointment. Whilst we didn't eat their often, a couple of the meals were average, however, I wouldn't let that stop me from staying there as the town is full of great restaurants and cafes. Overall, our stay from the 20th to Boxing Day (6 nights) was very enjoyable. I would certainly recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaelmo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Michael

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We were pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are truly happy with every stay and our team are humbled and found it an equal joy of have you in-house. I have also taken the liberty of sharing your specific comments with our team member who made an extra positive impact during your stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 9 nights and had a lovely time. Check in was fast and efficient and the member of staff on the desk friendly and welcoming.

The room was very clean, a very good size, well maintained, warm and cozy. The room had two queen size beds which were very comfortable. Bathroom was spotlessly clean and well maintained.

Staff throughout our stay were always friendly and happy to help, from bus timings to various attractions, to Safeway opening times. This hotel is in a superb location, very close to Banff town centre, shops, and a large number of bars and restaurants.

We had breakfast at Ricky's All Day Grill which is located within the hotel. Food was excellent and the service quick and friendly. We frequented the bar on many occasions and always received great service.

The one and only minor criticism I have is the consistency of the complimentary wifi. Signal in the room was erratic and at times we were unable to log on. Had to go into the lobby area to get a connection. Hopefully that can be remedied fairly easily. That said, it's a free wifi facility so I am grateful for that!!

Thank you to the hotel staff for a wonderful stay. Will definately be back to stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Bill

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We were pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received during your stay with us.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team found it a joy to have hosted you.

We are grateful for your constructive comments which will help us improve and maintain our standards. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments.

Thank you again, we truly look forward to hosting your next trip to Banff.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hotel room was quaint, but hallway noise was ridiculous. Might as well be trying to sleep in the hallway. It's impossible to sleep without earplugs. Hotel restaurant took 67 minutes to serve breakfast, they then got the order wrong, then had the audacity to kindly discount the meal by 25%. An electrical outlet was damaged and likely dangerous. Front desk staff were polite but useless when asked for information. Calls to request the hallway noise be dealt with seem to have been ignored.

I've been coming to Banff for decades, and this is my worst hotel experience ever.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R_sparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear R_sparrow

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We have taken note of your comments and deeply regret that you were not 100% satisfied during your recent stay. We pride ourselves in offering only the best to our guests and assure this experience is not common with that of our standards.

We always strive to ensure that our guests are happy during their stay. We thank you for your
constructive comments which will help us to improve and maintain our standards. I have taken the liberty of sharing them with the appropriate departments.


Thank you again, we truly look forward to serving you in the near future

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts

Manager on duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The check in staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean. It also had a good view of the mountains. The only thing that might be an issue is that there is no air conditioning in the room and it was really hot when we were in Banff. However, opening the windows worked fine. We had Breakfast included in the stay. What was on offer was the 2 by 5. Which was 2 of 5 different things. The restaurant staff seemed surprised when we said that would be too much food but were happy to replace it by something smaller.
We loved Banff and enjoyed going up Sulphur Mountain.
We would definitely come back to Banff and stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cayennenl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went to a conference in Banff last week and we found the Banff Internation Hotel to be a good place to stay - in the heart of the town. We found the rooms clean, the hotel comfortable, and the food was better than expected. For the price, we were delighted.

Room Tip: Any room is decent at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank datoptalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Datt,

Thank you for sharing your Banff International Hotel experience! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team is humbled and found it a joy to have you and your family in -house.

We look forward to serving you again on your next Banff getaway.


Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

There was nothing spectacular about this hotel except its location. It is located on Banff Avenue, the main road in town. It was within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants.

Customer service was below average. The check in process was very robotic and the person didn't even smile. It seemed that we were bothering her just by checking in. She told us where everything was located in the hotel, including the pool and sauna, but I couldn't find it. There is a business center in the lobby, but it costs a few bucks to use. Wireless internet is complimentary throughout the hotel.

We were in room 202, which was a corner room. It was fairly large, but it looked like the other rooms were smaller in size from looking at the map on the back of the door. The beds were actually extremely comfortable; it was very soft! The room had a nice sitting area by the window and a small desk. The TV had a lot of stations to keep us entertained. The restroom was a bit small compared to the rest of the room, but it was good enough. The only thing I didn't like about the room is that every single bulb was an energy-efficient compact fluorescent bulb and I felt like I was at the gas station at night.

One point of contention about the cleanliness of the room is that I found a strand of curly hair on the shower wall, so I'm not sure the restroom was properly cleaned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoysInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Boys in NY,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We are very sorry and deeply regret that our services and facilities were not satisfactory during your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in offering only the best to our guests and assure this experience is not common with that of our standards.

We are grateful for your constructive comments. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments.

This will help us improve and maintain our standards.

Thank you for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk + Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk + Avenue Hotel

Property: Elk + Avenue Hotel
Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk + Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the quaint streets and ample restaurants, shopping and nightlife of downtown Banff, Elk + Avenue Hotel brings an upscale twist to the classic mountain escape. Whether you're looking for a relaxing après-ski sanctuary or a big night on the town, our contemporary designed rooms pair clean, minimalist design with cozy Rocky Mountain-inspired elements to create the ideal accommodation for exploring the best of Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Elk + Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing