We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location. Great town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location. Great town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The check in staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean. It also had a good view of the mountains. The only thing that might be an issue is that there is no air conditioning in the room and it was really hot when we were in Banff. However, opening the windows worked fine. We had Breakfast included in the stay. What was on offer was the 2 by 5. Which was 2 of 5 different things. The restaurant staff seemed surprised when we said that would be too much food but were happy to replace it by something smaller.
We loved Banff and enjoyed going up Sulphur Mountain.
We would definitely come back to Banff and stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cayennenl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    354
    201
    73
    31
See reviews for
229
325
36
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went to a conference in Banff last week and we found the Banff Internation Hotel to be a good place to stay - in the heart of the town. We found the rooms clean, the hotel comfortable, and the food was better than expected. For the price, we were delighted.

Room Tip: Any room is decent at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank datoptalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Datt,

Thank you for sharing your Banff International Hotel experience! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team is humbled and found it a joy to have you and your family in -house.

We look forward to serving you again on your next Banff getaway.


Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
255 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

There was nothing spectacular about this hotel except its location. It is located on Banff Avenue, the main road in town. It was within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants.

Customer service was below average. The check in process was very robotic and the person didn't even smile. It seemed that we were bothering her just by checking in. She told us where everything was located in the hotel, including the pool and sauna, but I couldn't find it. There is a business center in the lobby, but it costs a few bucks to use. Wireless internet is complimentary throughout the hotel.

We were in room 202, which was a corner room. It was fairly large, but it looked like the other rooms were smaller in size from looking at the map on the back of the door. The beds were actually extremely comfortable; it was very soft! The room had a nice sitting area by the window and a small desk. The TV had a lot of stations to keep us entertained. The restroom was a bit small compared to the rest of the room, but it was good enough. The only thing I didn't like about the room is that every single bulb was an energy-efficient compact fluorescent bulb and I felt like I was at the gas station at night.

One point of contention about the cleanliness of the room is that I found a strand of curly hair on the shower wall, so I'm not sure the restroom was properly cleaned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoysInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Boys in NY,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We are very sorry and deeply regret that our services and facilities were not satisfactory during your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in offering only the best to our guests and assure this experience is not common with that of our standards.

We are grateful for your constructive comments. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments.

This will help us improve and maintain our standards.

Thank you for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great location in the heart of the rockies 2min walk from Banff town centre. Mountain view from most rooms. Accomodation was very clean and spacious, staff friendly and willing to help at every opportunity.

Room Tip: Be careful how you book you can get better deals through travel websites than direct through the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Jason,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us, and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look truly forward to serving you and your family again in the near future.


Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I would definately stay there again, it was very clean, staff were friendly and accomodating. We arrived a little early and there was no problem getting our room right away. Although there is no pool the jacauzzi and steam rooms were great and our room had a mountainview which was nice

Room Tip: next time I would ask for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluemermaid9625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Bluemermaid,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We were pleased to hear of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We strive to ensure that our guests are happy, and we are humbled that we made an extra positive impact on your stay.

Thank you for sharing with us, and we truly look forward to serving you again.


Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPWatson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed 5 nights. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Wish there was a pool. Would stay again. Location is great walking distance to everything. Restaurant in the hotel was good a little high on price for breakfast but you get lots of food. Price for our stay was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KPWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear KP Watson,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received while you were with us and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We are happy to have had a positive impact on your stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.


Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here with three of my friends late September in a loft apartment. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms clean and spacious, and the prices are exceptional.

There are lots of nice restaurants nearby and the Safeway is just across the street, very handy if you need to do some shopping for the road.

Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Thomas

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Thomas,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

Thank you for sharing your Banff International Hotel experience! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team is humbled and found it a joy to have you and your friends in -house.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you again on your next Banff getaway.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#23 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Property: Banff International Hotel
Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing