We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a Mountainview”
Review of Elk + Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I would definately stay there again, it was very clean, staff were friendly and accomodating. We arrived a little early and there was no problem getting our room right away. Although there is no pool the jacauzzi and steam rooms were great and our room had a mountainview which was nice

Room Tip: next time I would ask for a room away from the elevators
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluemermaid9625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Bluemermaid,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We were pleased to hear of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We strive to ensure that our guests are happy, and we are humbled that we made an extra positive impact on your stay.

Thank you for sharing with us, and we truly look forward to serving you again.


Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,299)
There are newer reviews for Elk + Avenue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,067 - 1,073 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed 5 nights. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Wish there was a pool. Would stay again. Location is great walking distance to everything. Restaurant in the hotel was good a little high on price for breakfast but you get lots of food. Price for our stay was great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KPWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear KP Watson,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received while you were with us and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We are happy to have had a positive impact on your stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.


Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here with three of my friends late September in a loft apartment. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms clean and spacious, and the prices are exceptional.

There are lots of nice restaurants nearby and the Safeway is just across the street, very handy if you need to do some shopping for the road.

Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Thomas

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Thomas,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

Thank you for sharing your Banff International Hotel experience! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team is humbled and found it a joy to have you and your friends in -house.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you again on your next Banff getaway.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here in September and got a really good "walk in" rate for a superior king room. Room was nice and spacious, staff were friendly and best part about this hotel is its location. Short stroll and you are in the main part of town. If I return back to Banff I'd be looking to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank choz_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Choz Man,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We were pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are truly happy with every stay and our team are humbled and found it an equal joy of have you and your family in-house.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.


Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on our tour of Canada and Alaska. The hotel rooms were spacious and well decorated. The beds were very large and comfortable. Shower, Bath and toilet good and very nice soft white towels.
The hotel is very well situated as it is in the beginning of the town so not a lot of walking. Banff itself is delightful with plenty of lovely shops and a beautiful river running through. Also visit the gardens they are wonderful. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizofsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Lizofsurrey,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

It was a pleasure for us to host your visit to Banff.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We found it a joy to have had you and your family in house.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.


Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My convention was from 10-12th of August in Banff and before it I've done a classic lodging research through TripAdvisor (naturally). Here's the essence of my stay: large rooms, small windows, hotel not renovated recently, perfect location, comfort undergroung garage, early in the morning buses are roaring their engines below your window, you can forget about wi fi (or pay it too expencive for PC in the lobby), staff is polite, breakfast is good. Did I get what I was looking for ($/Q)..? Not. Maybe because I was single traveller and very picky in that period and my laptop was without internet...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KicTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Kich,

Thank you for sharing your Banff International Hotel experience! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team is humbled and found it a joy to have you in-house.

We are grateful for your constructive comments which will help us improve and maintain our standards. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments.

We look forward to serving you again on your next Banff getaway.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Came in on Labor Day for 3 nights -- pros: great value (compared & visited several competitors); excellent location (Banff Ave shopping starts across the street); spacious, very well lit room; good furnishings and excellent bedclothes (duvet, pillows); free underground parking; free wireless internet (ethernet connection also available in lobby); onsite bar, restaurant, gift shop, and coin laundry; cheerful cooperative staff. Cons: no microwave (didn't ask for one, so it didn't matter to us); no need for a/c so that wasn't a problem. Will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miniliq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Minilig,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We were pleased to hear of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We strive to ensure that our guests are happy, and we are humbled that we made an extra positive impact on your stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.


Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
968 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk + Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk + Avenue Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $123 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk + Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the quaint streets and ample restaurants, shopping and nightlife of downtown Banff, Elk + Avenue Hotel brings an upscale twist to the classic mountain escape. Whether you're looking for a relaxing après-ski sanctuary or a big night on the town, our contemporary designed rooms pair clean, minimalist design with cozy Rocky Mountain-inspired elements to create the ideal accommodation for exploring the best of Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elk + Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing