We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Elk + Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Large room, helpful staff, and great location. Could walk to the Bow River and sights nearby, and many restaurants. Free underground parking. We had a mountain view from our room. Good access to the Bow Valley Parkway ro Lake Louise (recommend taking that route rather than Hwy. 1 as we saw a bear!) Unfortunately the hotel's restaurant only offered big heavy breakfasts so we took a 5 minute walk to Starbucks every day for something lighter.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Jen

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We were pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are truly happy with every stay and our team are humbled and found it an equal joy of have you and your family in-house.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,228 - 1,234 of 1,459 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We arrived to this hotel on, what we were told by the locals as, the hottest day of the year - 86 degrees in August, 2012. We arrived early in the day and our room wasn't ready, but the desk clerk offered to store our luggage. They also have free parking in a parking garage, but it was limited to 7 ft tall vehicles - we had a taller pick-up - so they had free parking in a lot across a side street which we took advantage of. The lobby was warm and inviting with a nice gift shop, a bar/restaurant and seating area with fireplace. We ended up with a suite on the second floor, even though we had reserved a double queen, and it was beautiful. Unfortunately, it was stuffy because of the heat. But, there was a huge ceiling fan and only one small window opened. There were a line of windows looking up Banff Ave, but none of them opened - whew! If we could have left the door open, it would have been great because there was a great breeze coming down the hall. In spite of the heat, we would definitely stay here again. It's on Banff Ave, but away from the middle of downtown, but still an easy walk to anywhere you want to go. Check out Giorgio's for dinner and Coyote's for breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTMama1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Mt,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We were pleased to learn of the experience you received during your stay with us.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team found it a joy to have hosted you.

We are grateful for your constructive comments which will help us improve and maintain our standards. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments.


Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

came here with my family this past weekend, great rooms, good food and the price was just right. the location of the hotel was right downtown so we could easily walk to everything We will be going back !!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vegan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went at the Banff International Hotel for 2 nights in mid-August. The things I found annoying we're that, even if nights were pretty cold, rooms we're still hot at night (no a/c; small fan; small window), so I would totally not recommand that hotel in the hottest season. Wi-Fi was supposely included, but wasn't working most of the time. When the Internet was working, it was just slow.

Otherwise quality of sleep is okay (not getting noisy at nights, beds are okay). Location is really perfect since you're in the main area of Banff, which makes everything from a walk distance. Other nice thing about the hotel is the included underground parking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b-noy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed at the hotel the last weekend of July. Our room was located on the second floor on the back of the hotel. A little bit noisy at night, mostly because of the trains running at all hours of the night. They blow their whistle as they come in to Banff and that woke us up every night (our window was open because of the heat).

The web page says free Wi-Fi and that's true, but I had to go outside my room all the way over to the elevators or down to reception to make it work. A little disappointing. Also on the last day we were there the plumming failed, so we were unable to flush the toilets, which was a bit nasty.

Very friendly staff and excellent location next to Safeway where we got all our breakfast and lunch meals. We didn't bother eating breakfast at the hotel as it was not included in our price. I would definetely stay here again if given the chance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camilla7818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here on an impromtu visit to Banff in early May 2012.

Very helpful young lady from Oz got us checked in and was a constant source of help and good advice for our stay.

Rooms are big , comfortable as you would expect as were the beds.
Just a short and pleasant walk along the street to the main drag for shoppping.
I didn't dine at the hotel so no comment on that.

Only complaint is that my room , on ground floor, was very close to the lobby and the noise from departing groups was a real pain.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 269miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our family spent three nights in August in this hotel and enjoyed our stay. This hotel is in an excellent location, so combined with a clean room with most amenities, this was exactly what we needed.
There is no AC, but this appears to be the norm for Banff. Also, there is no pool, just a spa/ hot tub, but again this is pretty common for Banff being more of a winter town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 34 in Banff
2,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,005 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk + Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk + Avenue Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $108 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk + Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the quaint streets and ample restaurants, shopping and nightlife of downtown Banff, Elk + Avenue Hotel brings an upscale twist to the classic mountain escape. Whether you're looking for a relaxing après-ski sanctuary or a big night on the town, our contemporary designed rooms pair clean, minimalist design with cozy Rocky Mountain-inspired elements to create the ideal accommodation for exploring the best of Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Elk + Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing