We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay !”
Review of Elk + Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay !”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

came here with my family this past weekend, great rooms, good food and the price was just right. the location of the hotel was right downtown so we could easily walk to everything We will be going back !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    489
    248
    84
    38
See reviews for
327
471
53
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went at the Banff International Hotel for 2 nights in mid-August. The things I found annoying we're that, even if nights were pretty cold, rooms we're still hot at night (no a/c; small fan; small window), so I would totally not recommand that hotel in the hottest season. Wi-Fi was supposely included, but wasn't working most of the time. When the Internet was working, it was just slow.

Otherwise quality of sleep is okay (not getting noisy at nights, beds are okay). Location is really perfect since you're in the main area of Banff, which makes everything from a walk distance. Other nice thing about the hotel is the included underground parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b-noy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vradal, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed at the hotel the last weekend of July. Our room was located on the second floor on the back of the hotel. A little bit noisy at night, mostly because of the trains running at all hours of the night. They blow their whistle as they come in to Banff and that woke us up every night (our window was open because of the heat).

The web page says free Wi-Fi and that's true, but I had to go outside my room all the way over to the elevators or down to reception to make it work. A little disappointing. Also on the last day we were there the plumming failed, so we were unable to flush the toilets, which was a bit nasty.

Very friendly staff and excellent location next to Safeway where we got all our breakfast and lunch meals. We didn't bother eating breakfast at the hotel as it was not included in our price. I would definetely stay here again if given the chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla7818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here on an impromtu visit to Banff in early May 2012.

Very helpful young lady from Oz got us checked in and was a constant source of help and good advice for our stay.

Rooms are big , comfortable as you would expect as were the beds.
Just a short and pleasant walk along the street to the main drag for shoppping.
I didn't dine at the hotel so no comment on that.

Only complaint is that my room , on ground floor, was very close to the lobby and the noise from departing groups was a real pain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 269miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our family spent three nights in August in this hotel and enjoyed our stay. This hotel is in an excellent location, so combined with a clean room with most amenities, this was exactly what we needed.
There is no AC, but this appears to be the norm for Banff. Also, there is no pool, just a spa/ hot tub, but again this is pretty common for Banff being more of a winter town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Hotel's highest quality is its location. The rooms are hot and there is no air conditioning web windows are opened the air conditioned machines make to much noise. The internet access, although free is so slow it is impossible to use (it would be mire reasonable to charge and offer a decent access).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familiampm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas
Level Contributor
1,448 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 688 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good location close to shops and restaurants. Pleasant and helpful staff. Clean, spacious room with comfortable bed. Value for money - I was pleasantly surprised that it was such a good find. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk + Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk + Avenue Hotel

Property: Elk + Avenue Hotel
Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk + Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the quaint streets and ample restaurants, shopping and nightlife of downtown Banff, Elk + Avenue Hotel brings an upscale twist to the classic mountain escape. Whether you're looking for a relaxing après-ski sanctuary or a big night on the town, our contemporary designed rooms pair clean, minimalist design with cozy Rocky Mountain-inspired elements to create the ideal accommodation for exploring the best of Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Elk + Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing