We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Banff International Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Batemans Bay NSW
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Banff International Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

great hotel, clean, non smoking. Staff friendly, awesome location

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJTBatemansBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    337
    197
    72
    31
See reviews for
222
307
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

While staying at the Banff International in December 2011, we found it to be Brialliant in every way. The welcome was warm and informative, the room was cosy, clean, quiet and well equiped, the location was perfect - just on the edge of town, but an easy walk into the centre for all the shops, and everywhere you turned, beautiful snow capped mountains. Attached to the hotel is Ricky's Bar and Grill - now if you love your food, and plenty of it for a extremely good price, this is the place to go!, we had all meals there - we couldnt find anywhere else to match the value for money, and again, the staff were Great!!!. We cannot rate the Hotel or Ricky's high enough - go there and see for yourself!.

Room Tip: We stayed in Loft Guest Room - two queens in loft, and double / sitting area with loung, table and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccermum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Husband read some previous reviews and booked us the top floor corner room that had a spectacular view of the Banff Ave and the mountains. The room was comfortable, with two large queen size beds, which were firm. The deal came with breakfast at the "Ricky's" restaurant and since we both enjoy a big breakfast this worked for us. A couple of quibbles...the wifi was non-existant in our room so i used the high speed plug in the lobby. Additionally, I tend to enjoy the room cool when I sleep and I found even with the heat turned off and the fan on it was still reallly warm. As you are on the strip when the window was open you could hear the drunks at all hours!

This is not the Banff Springs hotel ..it is a comfortable clean hotel with features underground parking, a good location on the ave. Not sure I would stay there again but for the money it was a fairly good deal.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank habsfan0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The location of the hotel is great, and while we only stayed overnight, the overall impression was good. The staff is friendly and the rooms are more than adequate.Only a couple of hiccups.

1. There was a dried, bloody stain on the outside surface of the bed cover, only covered a small area but big enough to make out the dripping pattern.
2. One of the red cushion pillows on the bed had a large clear stain, upon closer inspection we got a hunch of what it could have been and tossed the whole thing across the room...
3. the wifi is inconsistent. having wifi is essential to us and we make reservations based on it. The connection was there the night we got there but loading a page was next to impossible. The next morning, however, the connection seemed just fine.

Overall the stay was good. The walls are thin but for an overnight stay it was adequate. I wish the cleanliness of bed items could be further examined

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Ab
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

With Banff hotels offering rates and quality at wildly inconsistent levels, we focused more on price for a two night ski trip. The Banff "I" offered a spring getaway for 99.00 per night. We asked for no pets/smoking/down pillows due to allergies and were informed this was standard. Great news. The young man at check in would speak only when spoken too. Underground parking was no extra charge. The room was very clean and a reasonable size with two queens. The mattresses were a little soft for our liking. An interesting touch to have washable duvet covers instead of the traditional bedspreads of questionable cleanliness. A quiet building notwithstanding the fellow sitting in a lounge chair out in the hall speaking on the cell phone at 11:00 at night. There is no pool, but there is a large hot tub featuring co-ed rinsing showers. One gentleman didn't notice the co-ed part and showered , um, completely. Good thing my wife wasn't there. I suggest the "no nudity" sign on the door (referring to partiers in the hot tub no doubt) might be more defined. The "I" is walking distance to many restaurants so no need to spend time at Ricky's.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauifan125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Like most Hotels in Banff... Average

Since Banff is generally very expensive, this hotel is great value for money. There are some great offers, like rooms with free gondola passes ($60.00 value). If you are looking for a high end fancy place, this isn't it. If you need value for money and a nice clean place to stay. This is the place

It is well located, on the Banff strip and very close to the heart of Banff. Some of the hotels are a very long walk away. Do not underestimate this, it can be very important late at night or in the cold. It also has nice heated underground parking.

The rooms were average, showing some normal wear and tear (ie toilet ran, faucet was loose). But the rooms, like the rest of the hotel were clean and that's very important. the wear and tear was average, nothing horrible.

It tries to be fancy and high end, but it just doesn't get there. Its the kind of place that calls their Ricky's All Day Grill - upscale family dining. There is nothing wrong with Ricky's, and there is nothing wrong with the Banff International, they are just not upscale.

Again, if value, saving money, and having a clean, safe, well located place in Banff is what you need, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcc129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

pros: free underground parking; clean room; with clean crisp bedding; clean bathroom; walls are quite thick, we got the room at the end of the hotel so we only had one neighbour and opposite us was the emergency exit, I don't hear anything from the neighbour who is actually talking quite loudly because I can hear it when I walked down the hallway; front desk staff are lovely and very helpful; hotel is walking distance to the banff shops / downtown that we didn't need to use the car to go there; I can see that there are no aircon in the room, so I'm not sure how the hotel would be during summer, but for us in winter the room temperature was perfect; there's a restaurant downstairs; the hotel itself and the room interior are really charming with country cabin feel to it.

cons: I can hear the train going past every so often, but we found that all we needed to do was to close these latches on the windows to make it airtight & somewhat soundproof, didn't hear the train during the night anymore so that wasn't really that much of a negative for us; the bathroom wallpaper and above the sink lighting somewhat look a bit dated, but the sink, toilet and bathroom were all new and clean

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Property: Banff International Hotel
Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing