We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Alberta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed here from Dec 28-Jan 1. We absolutely loved the hotel. We brought our cats and it was a very pet friendly hotel. We loved meeting the hotel resident dog peanut and peanuts mom the housekeeping manager. Our room had a wonderful clean jacuzzi right in the room. It was wonderful as it was incredibly cold out. The room was decorated very nicely and the bed was amazing. We really liked the location as well. The room was incredibly clean and very stylish. The staff are all really amazing and go above and beyond the call of duty for their guests. We went to the hotel restaraunt for some tapa's and they were very tasty and affordable. We go to Banff every year for the holidays and this has been the best hotel we have stayed at yet. We definately look forward to another stay here. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corinaeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    235
    114
    20
    13
See reviews for
167
194
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Very nice stay...clean hotel, very tidy. very helpful staff. Rooms were roomy and all seemed to have nice new tv's. We asked for a toaster for our room and it was in the room with plates and utensils by the time we got back from the hot tub.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank agent1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed at Irwins for 3 nights Dec 29-jan 1. We have stayed here in the past but this is the first time since the renovations and it looks great! The new decor is bright, clean, comfortable and inviting. they've updated the carpet, bedding, curtains, tv's and more. We were impressed by how comfortable the beds are, we slept great. we've always appreciated the friendly and helpful staff and the hot tub is a great perk. Thanks to the staff at Irwins - we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bouche7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. The rooms have recently been refurbished, were clean and tidy. They are not large rooms but have everything we needed. Though our room looked out to the hotel/youth hostel next door we had no problems with this as we were not in the room for long periods of time. We found the staff friendly and accommodating. The restaurant was well run and the staff friendly, i love it when you go in and they know what you want to drink from the previous evening. The only downside for us is we did have trouble accessing the Wi-fi quite a lot, for some reason we just could not connect. I have also read that other guests had trouble parking, yes there is limited parking but we always managed to get to a space, maybe we were lucky as it was tight as times.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RC62Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ollerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

we stayed 2 nights we struggled to park our car each night as car park is small,our room was ok but had no wardrobe or hangers so we had all winter kit everywhere,but the worse thing was the noise we had 2 sleepless nights as all night long people were coming and going with doors banging and we had an ice maker machine outside our room which made ice all night long and made a racket, sadly on our second night our room was robbed and all our cash stolen there is no cctv or security guard so anyone can get in. having said all that it was value for money and near to banff centre and breakfast in el tore was brilliant.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hairymonkeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We have visited Banff a few times. Usually we only stay one night, so we don;t look for anything extravagant. We usually stay at Irwin's Mountain Inn due to thier price and location. This time though we were pleasantly surprised, as the hotel looked completely different. We didn't even know they had completely renovated the place. We really liked the decor. Definitely an improvement! The staff were as always pleasant and helpful. We will definitely book again on our next weekend away!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgarygirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMIBanff, Front Office Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We have just finished renovating all of our guest rooms with new bed linen, carpet, wall coverings, light fixtures, curtains, and flat screen TV's. We hope that these renovations will increase our guest's experience and value for their stay. We greatly value repeat customers, so I'm very pleased we had the opportunity to show you the changes we have made. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We were trying to find permanent residence in Banff and stayed at Irwins for over 2 weeks while searching. The staff were very helpful and gave us some good deals when we extended our stay. There was renovations occurring on the floor above us which was rather noisy in the morning and also the Samesun Hostel was right next door so on occasional nights you could hear screaming (however the front desk did offer to move us if it became too excessive). The room was spacious but it wasn't anything fancy. The Hot Tub was great.. It was only a 5 minute walk or so to the clubs/restaurants in Banff so location wise Irwins was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,085 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
388 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Property: Irwin's Mountain Inn
Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing