We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We were very happy with our stay at Irwins. The rooms were bright, clean and spacious with comfortable beds. We really enjoyed the newly renovated hot tub and sauna area. The hotel is located close to downtown Banff so you can walk to the shops and restaurants. We were so impressed by the incredibly helpful and knowledgeable staff who suggested places to go for diner, for a hike, or a scenic drive. We will definitely be staying at Irwin’s again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nellesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 594 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2009

Cozy, warm and nice place, excellent ration of money/service, nice staff.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DajanaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

First impression was an arrogant guy who doesn’t have a clue about nice manners or professional attitude. His manager should teach him that his job is not to be focus on surfing internet when he has guests on the other side of the counter. His parents should teach him to be polite. The guy is definitely in wrong career.
The parking was included, but it was full, so I parked on the street. When you are staying on The Rocky Mountains in late October, it is a big deal where you are parking your car. Trust me with this one.
The room was so cheap. On our way to Banff, we spent a night in a cheap motel in Revelstoke and it was ten times better. The room was very noisy too. The view trough the dirty window was on the huge air-condition of the neighboring hotel.
Hallway is scary and everything squeaking.
If you need to use the computer with internet in the lobby, you have to pay for that, although the internet is officially free.
Hot tub didn’t work the day we checked in.
Breakfast was included, but it was a joke. It was marmalade, toast, milk and mini muffins.
The underline: This is not a 3 star place! This is a very cheap, unprofessional and overrated place. This is a one star dump max!
I would not stay there again even if they offer me some money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boban70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Okay, stayed here for 2 nights in a standard room with 2 double beds. Check in was chaotic with only 1 person on the front desk and cars lining up to get into the car park. Once we finally got into our room, we looked for a fridge to place a bottle of wine etc. Big surprise!!! We were told that as it was only a standard room, they don’t come equipped with a small fridge. Now I have stayed in a number of places and this would be the first time a room doesn’t consider a fridge something as important as a telephone. Luckily, the front desk did volunteer to keep anything downstairs in their fridge which was okay I guess..
Our room did come standard with continental breakfast which I found just a bit narrow in its selection but we did pay under $10 and selected a big plate of bacon and eggs which was really good. Overall the room was spacious enough but the car park a bit too low for my SUV. There were a couple of spots near the car park entrance which was handy but I wouldn’t want to stay here when it really gets busy.
Having said all of the above, we did notice that the place had “No Vacancy” on both the Friday & Saturday we stayed, which must mean others find it okay as the location is good. Overall, the staff are very friendly and I would stay again for the location (but perhaps get a room with a fridge).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzTravellerBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We stayed a night (Sept 23) and were pleasantly surprised at the great value we found here. Convenient in location, under ground parking, laundry. Comfortable clean beds. Clean new decor in room. Cleaning staff could just have ensured some closer detailing to ensure the bed skirts "looked pretty" and not dragging uneven on the floor! We enjoyed the little balcony and used our laptop out there. Slept super comfortable. Staff friendly. The free breakfast has typical toast, muffin, cereals so we chose to order from the menu and for $8.00! had a wonderful goat cheese stuffed omelette and the trimmings - excellent. So for expensive Banff this is of super great value. Thanks Irwin's.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AK/MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Very Good Value for the Money
Clean
Professional and Courteous Service
Spacious, well laid out rooms
I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyRowluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Stayed at Irwins in the summer, great location for all types of activities. The staff here are superb. The housekeeping manager was fabulous, as were the other housing staff. The rooms are basic but very clean; you're getting a good deal for the price! The only negative comment I could make was when checking into Irwins the woman receptionist appeared uninterested and seemed unwilling to help me with my queries. Apart from that I give 5*!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hometime76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#19 of 33 in Banff
451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $76 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing