We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We've been to Banff several times as a day trip, but decided to go for the weekend. Researched several hotels and Irwin's was a good price compared to others. When we arrived, the staff was very friendly and welcoming. The decor is a little dated, but the room was large and clean. Wifi worked well and there were two flat screen TVs in our family suite. We had a mountain view and were within walking distance to the downtown shops and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

I am most grateful for your review and comments. Thanks for taking the time to highlight our property. I am so pleased that your research paid off. We are indeed a budget property with the hopes that both price and customer service will ensure you return again soon. Thanks for highlighting our great staff and their willingness to help. Our rooms are comfy and clean and we work hard to ensure that this is for every stay. The Free WiFi and the rooms are proof that we try hard to meet the needs of every traveller. Our TV's are big and our Family Suites are shaped for families looking for a room to fit 6. We are so close to downtown and yet far enough away from too much noise. The view of Banff's landscape are all around us and thanks for taking the time to look us up. I do hope you return soon and thanks again for the kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 584 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

I keep going back, this hotel is a great value.

The rooms are always clean, the views are great, the staff are super friendly. The restaurant is good, though I've only ate there twice.

And if you stay there more then once, mention it when you make your second reservation and you get 10% off as a thank you.

It's about a 15min walk from downtown. It's a nice hike. I like that it's far from downtown so that you can't hear people if they're loud late at night.

I like that there's underground parking - though if you're driving a big truck, you'll need to park outside, the ceiling is a bit low.

I've never had any complaints about this hotel. I will be going back again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

I am so very glad to hear from our returning guests. I am so blown away by your comments and our staff will be so delighted to hear the feedback. I would like to take the time to thank you for highlighting our hotel as you have. It is both honest and appreciated. We take all comments very seriously and work harder and harder to ensure repeat stays. I will be sure to take this feedback back to staff and do come again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is located in downtown Banff near shopping and restaurants. The building is old, the rooms are furnished with not only the usual beds but two comfortable chairs, a microwave and an in room sink. While there were many lamps in the room, the lighting was poorly arranged so there were dark spots.

The bathroom facilities were not satisfactory. There is a small, cramped room with a plastic tub/ shower and toilet and in the next room a small sink but no door separating these facilities from the rest of the room.

The food in the restaurant was quite good but the noise level in the restaurant was uncomfortably loud and the service was quite slow.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khajorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Cheers for taking the time to review our property. Our goal is to create a returning customer so I would like to take the time to ensure that happens with you. The Irwins has been around since 1967 and is family owned and operated. So you are correct that the building has been around for a while. However, the owners have worked hard to create a hospitality stay that fits the budget traveler. The beds are comfy, the rooms are clean and the essentials are taken care of. With big 37 inch flat screens and FREE wifi and FREE AC, we have worked hard to ensure some bonus features that not everyone in Banff can provide. The lighting is situated for the traveller to meet many needs. Bedside lighting, room lighting and table lighting, all with great cfl lumens. You've highlighted our comfy chairs and our bathrooms, which are clean and functional. You've highlighted one of the most important pieces of information which is our partnership with El Toro restaurant. Their food and service is second to none in town. They serve both Breakfast and Dinner and truly have been in town for over 35 years. Their reputation is solid. While I know your expectations were not met fully, I hope you will give us another shot as our staff truly work hard to ensure that you will come again. We are a budget hotel with the hope that our price and service will keep you returning year after year, month after month. Thanks for your comments and I hope you try us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Booked last minute! Lots of reasonably priced hotels in Banff. $133 for a family of four. Located only a few walking blocks on the main strip from the shops and restaurants. Breakfast is not included. Parking in back of hotel is terrible and tight. We drive a small compact car, anyone with a big truck would have extreme difficulty parking there! Were excellent accommodating our need for a main floor room. Rooms were packed tight with too much furniture. The table is too huge for the room. Take some out! Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManitobaNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for our property. While you have highlighted some great points, let me take the time to highlight some more. Our budget property does amazing at hitting pricepoint during a very busy summer season where rates can balloon. Breakfast is not included and our rates show that. But our next door restaurant attached to the hotel, is second to none and gets the high ranking it deserves for Breakfast and Dinner alike. We are proud partners of El Toro and we think they are the best in town! Yes our parking can promote some challenges, however, unlike many hotels in Banff, PARKING WITH US IS FREE! We do have many spots for Trucks and larger vehicles. Though parking is tight, we do our best to accomodate the situation and our staff have been amazing to help source parking. Thank you for highlighting the size and space in our rooms. Our rooms are both roomy and clean and free of clutter. As many have stated, our rooms feel spacious and comfy. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you return soon and see we are unbeatable at price and staff will prove to you why we are a hidden gem in beautiful Banff. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Room was a little weird (unconventional room shape, eclectic furniture) but clean and great location. Hotel staff was nice and helpful. Only $10/day pet charge. I would stay there again for a good price!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Your comments highlight some of the great features we provide here in Banff. Our pet friendly hotel is very accomodating and our fees are for the budget traveller in mind. Our staff are amazingly helpful and our staff are always ready and willing to help. Our rooms are both comfy and clean and since we have been around since 1967 there are some very charming room types and room shapes. I do hope you see this as a plus in light of many rooms that can be cramped and tight. Our goal is to make every stay a return. I do hope you come again soon and enjoy the unique hotel that is the Irwin's Mountain Inn, nestled in the heart of Banff. Thanks for staying with us and for your constructive comments. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Staff very friendly and hotel was spotless. The room was a great size for 3 adults with fantastic views of the Canadian Rockies from our room, located in the heart of Banff. Shopping and restaurants are conveniently within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Truly grateful for your review. Thank you for illuminating our room sizes and cleanliness. Our housekeeping staff will be so pleased with your comments. They work so hard to ensure that our hotel is spotless. Our 65 room hotel has been family owned and operated since 1967. The Irwin's has always made cleanliness it's top priority and friendly and helpful staff it's goal for every guest. Thanks so much for staying with us and for your helpful comments. I hope you could stay with us again real soon. Cheers to you in your travels and wishing you all the best adventures. Come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent friendly service at check in and out as well as any time you asked for help or guidance. The room was spacious and clean. Hotel is just a few minutes walk from downtown which is great for evening strolls and dinner. Only downside was very noisy AC. We tried sleeping without it one night but it was too hot

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakkster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Irwin's Mountain Inn. I am so pleased to hear that our staff were helpful and that your check in and check out was a breeze. That is our goal. Our staff are ready and eager to help you find what you are looking for in Banff. I am so sorry that you found our Air Conditioning so loud, however, on the plus side, we are one of the few hotels in Banff that do offer Air Conditioning. We have some hot days in Banff and this is when the AC does come in handy. We have tried to think of everything for the budget minded customer and I hope you will stay with us again soon. Thanks for your comments and thanks for letting us know what we need to improve on. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,161 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#18 of 33 in Banff
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#24 of 33 in Banff
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $81 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing