We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very friendly”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June while touring the Rockies,,We had a lovely clean big room and we were very pleased, the hotels staff are great all very friendly and it's location in Banff is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzygill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I am very pleased to hear of your stay with us. I am glad that the room was what you were looking for. Equally I am pleased that our staff maintained a level of helpfulness that worked well for your stay. I do wish you well in your future travels and thanks for staying with us on your tour of Canada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    248
    119
    22
    14
See reviews for
173
208
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed at the irwin's for 3 days this June. We had originally selected another hotel but change to this because of its location.....and that's the best thing about this hotel! It's right on the main street with almost everything within strolling distance ! we met some very friendly staff....right from the reception, everyone was very helpful and courteous and greet you with a smile! The hotel seemed to be recently renovated and done quite well. We stayed in the 1-bed room 2-Queen beds room.the room was a bit cramped but okay because in Banff, you'll not have a chance to be indoors much. The restaurant downstairs whips up a good breakfast and some great dinners if you care to come in early (think it closes at 11:00 PM). Overall a very pleasant experience...will have to make a longer trip to Banff again !

Room Tip: Try the upper floor rooms...they give you a better view. Coin laundry downstairs....a great feature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sachi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
I am most pleased to hear of your experience here at the Irwin's Mountain Inn. I am most excited of how staff made a difference for your stay. Our staff are so conscious of your needs and they are at the desk 24 hours a day. They are well versed in presenting tour options and events that you will enjoy in Banff. The El Toro is second to none! We are so proud to be partnered with such an amazing restaurant. They work hard to present an atmosphere of quality. Their breakfast menu is the best in Banff and their Dining menu is refreshing for Banff and has done so for over 40 years. Thanks for your highlights and thanks for your positive feedback for us. Our staff will be encouraged. I am very excited about our service for your stay. Please come again soon. Sincerely-GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a lovely little gem of a hotel, great location, great friendly staff and nice views of the mountains. It also has a laundry room which was so convenient for us as we were travelling for eight weeks and when we could wash our own clothes it was a real money saver. Staff were happy to give advice on what tours to do and where to eat, and also I have to give special thanks to staff as we left our I pad in room when we left to stay at lake Louise and they rang our next hotel to let us know it was there, if they hadn't heavens knows when we would have realized it was gone and we wouldn't have known how to get it back, it is always good to know there are honest people, we really appreciated it. Banff is well worth a visit and it was our favourite destination in Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellovergeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
I am always pleased to read reviews where our staff went above and beyond to ensure that your stay and your possessions were cared for. I am super excited that our little property met your expectations and that your trip was a positive experience. Thanks for staying with us and thanks for the kind comments. This hotel was founded on Family run integrity. The Irwin's is proud to continue that heritage today. Thanks again. It's a good feeling to have been able to help our guests and make a positive impact. Sincerely-GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very friendly service...extremely happy with the room...stayed here a year ago...was able to get as pet free room...great views...it's Banff, fresh air, great shopping and a fun filled time with our family...keep it simple!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evelin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
I am so delighted to have read your review. Yes indeed, we do keep things simple here at Irwin's Mountain Inn. I am glad that the service and the comfort met your expectations. I wanted to highlight our FREE WIFI and FREE PARKING, which is a premium here in Banff. I am very excited to hear that we hit it out of the park for you. Please come again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here on a room only basis. The reception staff was very helpful and pleasant. Our room was clean and perfectly adequate. It looked into youth hostel but we’d a sideways few of the mountains (room 240) It held 2 queen sized beds although wardrobe area was very small. Our towels were changed each day.The hotel is a short walk from a Safeway store. We were glad we were there at a quiet time and I can see how the underground parking could be limited at peak times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sorebackneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your most recent review. I am delighted to hear that your stay with us went well. With the Irwin's Mountain Inn being 2 short blocks from the downtown area, you were able to experience the best of both worlds, close to shopping and close to come back and rest easy. Our staff will be pleased to hear of your experience. Thank you for sharing your comments and for the constructive feedback. I hope you can join us again soon. Sincerely-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights while travelling through the Rockies. The hotel is in easy walking distance from the main drag. The rooms are very ell equipped, clean and maintained. They even provided a kettle for us tea drinking Brits. The room had a jacuzzi but I did not like the noise of it. The staff are friendly and create a relaxed vibe. As for the views of mountains from the balcony- simply breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmerwaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your most honest review. I am very pleased to hear about your experience here. You named the breathtaking views. Our balconies are quaint and perfect to soak in what is truly Banff. Mountains in the distance and fresh air. There is no pretense here from staff. Our Budget property is perfect for the traveler who is looking to enjoy the sights and sounts of Banff. With simple touches like kettles at the desk, and a 24 hour desk staff who is ready to help, the Irwin's Mountain Inn is the perfect choice. Please come again soon. It was a delight meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Read the history of Irwin's Mountain Inn, it is quite fascinating and to stay competitive in Banff is remarkable. This hotel aged gracefully, its not because it is expensive, hotel has very common amenities, clean beddings, clean toilet, hot and cold water, close to downtown just like any hotel in Banff, really nothing much to brag about this hotel but hardworking, honest, efficient staff. The day we arrived was raining hard and cold, we asked the front desk about the "hot springs" in Banff, she kindly informed us that Irwin's has one too and it has the same feel no need to drive, no entrance fee and it is only the two us instead of a crowded pool on top of a mountain. Through an honest staff info, we had a wonderful time relaxing after so many hours of driving. Secondly, the maintenance person was working so hard to keep the underground parking dry knowing guests will be using the space, until the next day staff continually monitors the condition of the underground parking lot. Staff performed their best because I think of the desire to continue to serve the visiting public and preserve the Irwin's legacy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J58Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review. I was very encouraged by the review for a number of reasons. The highlighted portion of history that you wrote about was very personal for me. Arlen Irwin, who was the founder of this hotel, passed away about a year ago now. His mother, Elizabeth made the focal point of this property customer service and returning customers. This good will that you wrote about was very moving. It is something we have worked so hard at here. Thanks for the encouragement and the feedback about our front line staff. They are invested in the best interest of the guest. I am so pleased to hear about your experience. Please come again soon! Sincerely-GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 33 in Banff
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#22 of 33 in Banff
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,248 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Property: Irwin's Mountain Inn
Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing