We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Nearby Hotels
$444
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
$353
$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$330
$304
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$527
$363
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $414/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$353
$342
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$388
$316
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$414
$401
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$392
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$268
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$219
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveler rating
183
265
122
25
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
265
122
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel torohot tubunderground parkingadjoining restaurantfridge and microwavestay there againfront desk staffbanff avenueminute walkbeds were comfortablethe main streetfamily rooma great place to stayclose to downtownlarge roomfour nightsbit dated
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 615 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a lovely little gem of a hotel, great location, great friendly staff and nice views of the mountains. It also has a laundry room which was so convenient for us as we were travelling for eight weeks and when we could wash our own clothes it was a real money saver. Staff were happy to give advice on what tours to do and where to eat, and also I have to give special thanks to staff as we left our I pad in room when we left to stay at lake Louise and they rang our next hotel to let us know it was there, if they hadn't heavens knows when we would have realized it was gone and we wouldn't have known how to get it back, it is always good to know there are honest people, we really appreciated it. Banff is well worth a visit and it was our favourite destination in Canada

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellovergeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

I am always pleased to read reviews where our staff went above and beyond to ensure that your stay and your possessions were cared for. I am super excited that our little property met your expectations and that your trip was a positive experience. Thanks for staying with us and thanks for the kind comments. This hotel was founded on Family run integrity. The Irwin's is proud to continue that heritage today. Thanks again. It's a good feeling to have been able to help our guests and make a positive impact. Sincerely-GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very friendly service...extremely happy with the room...stayed here a year ago...was able to get as pet free room...great views...it's Banff, fresh air, great shopping and a fun filled time with our family...keep it simple!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evelin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

I am so delighted to have read your review. Yes indeed, we do keep things simple here at Irwin's Mountain Inn. I am glad that the service and the comfort met your expectations. I wanted to highlight our FREE WIFI and FREE PARKING, which is a premium here in Banff. I am very excited to hear that we hit it out of the park for you. Please come again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here on a room only basis. The reception staff was very helpful and pleasant. Our room was clean and perfectly adequate. It looked into youth hostel but we’d a sideways few of the mountains (room 240) It held 2 queen sized beds although wardrobe area was very small. Our towels were changed each day.The hotel is a short walk from a Safeway store. We were glad we were there at a quiet time and I can see how the underground parking could be limited at peak times.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sorebackneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your most recent review. I am delighted to hear that your stay with us went well. With the Irwin's Mountain Inn being 2 short blocks from the downtown area, you were able to experience the best of both worlds, close to shopping and close to come back and rest easy. Our staff will be pleased to hear of your experience. Thank you for sharing your comments and for the constructive feedback. I hope you can join us again soon. Sincerely-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights while travelling through the Rockies. The hotel is in easy walking distance from the main drag. The rooms are very ell equipped, clean and maintained. They even provided a kettle for us tea drinking Brits. The room had a jacuzzi but I did not like the noise of it. The staff are friendly and create a relaxed vibe. As for the views of mountains from the balcony- simply breathtaking.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farmerwaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for your most honest review. I am very pleased to hear about your experience here. You named the breathtaking views. Our balconies are quaint and perfect to soak in what is truly Banff. Mountains in the distance and fresh air. There is no pretense here from staff. Our Budget property is perfect for the traveler who is looking to enjoy the sights and sounts of Banff. With simple touches like kettles at the desk, and a 24 hour desk staff who is ready to help, the Irwin's Mountain Inn is the perfect choice. Please come again soon. It was a delight meeting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Read the history of Irwin's Mountain Inn, it is quite fascinating and to stay competitive in Banff is remarkable. This hotel aged gracefully, its not because it is expensive, hotel has very common amenities, clean beddings, clean toilet, hot and cold water, close to downtown just like any hotel in Banff, really nothing much to brag about this hotel but hardworking, honest, efficient staff. The day we arrived was raining hard and cold, we asked the front desk about the "hot springs" in Banff, she kindly informed us that Irwin's has one too and it has the same feel no need to drive, no entrance fee and it is only the two us instead of a crowded pool on top of a mountain. Through an honest staff info, we had a wonderful time relaxing after so many hours of driving. Secondly, the maintenance person was working so hard to keep the underground parking dry knowing guests will be using the space, until the next day staff continually monitors the condition of the underground parking lot. Staff performed their best because I think of the desire to continue to serve the visiting public and preserve the Irwin's legacy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J58Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you so very much for your review. I was very encouraged by the review for a number of reasons. The highlighted portion of history that you wrote about was very personal for me. Arlen Irwin, who was the founder of this hotel, passed away about a year ago now. His mother, Elizabeth made the focal point of this property customer service and returning customers. This good will that you wrote about was very moving. It is something we have worked so hard at here. Thanks for the encouragement and the feedback about our front line staff. They are invested in the best interest of the guest. I am so pleased to hear about your experience. Please come again soon! Sincerely-GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews