We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Affordable place to stay for 3 months with hot tub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Irwin's Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Affordable place to stay for 3 months with hot tub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at Irwin's for 3 months on my gap year. It's in a lovely situation and only a short walk from the town with lots of shops and restaurants. It has a very nice hot tub that we were in most days after a long day's skiing! The reception staff were especially helpful and really made me feel very welcome.

The adjoining restaurant, El Toro, serves great food and the staff are very happy to help with special requests.

The bus stop is literally outside the hotel to take you to the slopes, with 3 different resorts close by which can suit all abilities.

Can recommend this hotel for people travelling alone or in groups - I'd love to go back next season!

Room Tip: Some rooms have microwaves, all rooms en suite with sink in the sleeping area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks so much for your review of our property. Thanks for highlighting our ammenities for our future guests. You have highlighted all that we are so proud of here at the Irwin's Mountain Inn. The great access to public transportation is a huge plus for our property. Our Hot Tub is one of the hottest in town. The free WIFI and free parking are also a huge plus to our property and the free ski lockers are a nice added bonus to the many ammenities here at the Irwin's Mountain Inn. Again, many thanks for your stay with us and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    227
    113
    18
    12
See reviews for
161
188
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I booked Irwin's Mountain Inn for a four night stay (Monday - Thursday) through Hotwire and was very happy both with the value and the quality of the hotel. When we arrived, we were given a free upgrade to a suite which was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and spacious. We ate at the hotel restaurant El Toro three times (2 dinners and 1 breakfast) and each time experienced excellent food and service. The Thursday night Chateaubriand for two special was over the top delicious!! A nice small hotel, close to all the shops and restaurants on Banff Ave. with friendly and prompt service!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eunice1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of our property. Your comments are both helpful and appreciated. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a family owned business in the heart of Banff. Our staff are both personable and helpful. Our goal is to help our guests find what they are looking for in Banff. There are so many sights and sounds and our desk staff have worked hard on being able to provide that information to our guests. Our hotel is both clean and comfortable and our partnership with El Toro has gone on for 35 years! Rates for both hotel and restaurant are unbeatable in Banff. Thanks for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed two nights for hiking and evenings out. Really nice, newly renovated room with its own bar area sink. Very clean. Great location, we were able to walk everywhere within Town. Will definitely stay at this Inn again when I return with friends or family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2tessmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I'd like to take the time to thank you so much for your review with us. Thank you for highlighting some of our ammenities and our location just being perfect distance to downtown. Our 65 room hotel is just 2 blocks from the shopping that is unique to Banff. We do focus on being clean, comfortable and affortable. Our housekeeping department is second to none in Banff. Our staff are ready to help on a moments notice. Thanks for staying with us and I do hope to see you again very soon here in beautiful Banff. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights, ski trip.
Location is great and easy to find, but I bypass this hotel and had to u-turn.
Checkin, fast without any problems
Parking behind hotel was not big, but I had no problem to find stall for my car; there are about 10 stalls.
Room was clean with daily maid service. Not sure why, but sink was in the room, not in the bathroom. Heater was powerful and little bit noise; used power to dry boots and gloves.
I was pleasantly surprised to find hot sauna, I mean HOT sauna as well as a hot tub.
Definitely would recommend this hotel for non-luxury stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergAndTat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. I love reviews like this because you get straight to the point. I'm glad you enjoyed our FREE parking and the HOT sauna. You are right about the heat, we do our best to keep both the HOT TUB-hot and the HOT sauna-hot. After a long day on the hills, it is what so many are looking for and it takes the chill right out of you. Our staff have worked hard to keep this place in top notch condition with top notch cleaning and maintenance. Our property has been in in Banff since 1967. Many of the designers in Banff had the sinks outside of the bathroom. The idea was to keep the space well utilized. I am glad you enjoyed our heating system which is very powerful and very efficient. Our recent upgrades were made to produce a high quality feel to our heating and cooling systems. We do provide a great price and a great feel and I am so very glad that our staff make so many feel welcome and point them in the right direction for the sights and sounds of Banff-a world class destination. Come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a great 11 night stay with friends. This is our 7th trip to Banff and this hotel is in a great location not too far from town. We were upgraded to a double queen suite from a double queen room as our friends were in a family suite and we requested to be near to them for convenience, and so that the children were not chasing around the hotel when moving from one room to the other. The room was quite large with loveLy views towards Sulphur Mountain. It was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The only downside was we could have done with a little more hanging room or a few hooks for our jackets, but it in no way detracted from our stay. The staff were super friendly, very accommodating and were lovely with the children. The El Toro restaurant downstairs served great food both at breakfast and in the evening. We would have eaten there a few more times if they had served children's portions, but the meals we did take were first class.
I'm sure we will return to Banff again and will definitely book here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Balabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for your kind review of our property. I am so very glad we met your expectations. El Toro is a fantastic restaurant with incredible food selection and presentation and portions that will keep you coming back. They are truly the best in Banff for breakfast and dinner. Our rooms are spacious and I am so very glad you noticed our recently renovated rooms. We worked hard to create a warm and inviting atmosphere that is perfect for family and friends. I am glad you experienced the upgrade and I welcome your return back very soon. Thanks again for your kind words and your most positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Irwin's Mountain Inn was great! We stayed here for one night in April 2013 and wished we had been able to stay here for longer. The rooms was large, clean, comfortable, and updated and the hotel as a whole was very nice. There was a small gym downstairs as well as a nice hot tub to use too. The hotel is right on Banff Avenue and just a 5 minute walk into the heart of town. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Banff... though we did get a terrific deal on the hotel (paid about $75 for the night) and I don't know what the regular price is.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USCTrojansFan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Wow! It's terrific when I see a review like this spelling out the strengths of our hotel and ammenities. Thanks so much for staying with us and I sure hope you return again soon for a repeat stay. All the best in your travels. Much appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Was very happy with this hotel. Nice clean quiet rooms with a beautiful hot tub. Good restaurant attached that has $5.99 bacon, eggs, hash browns special in the morning before you hit the hill. Safe place to lock up your ski's at night. good location to walk into town. staff were friendly and accommodated special requests. Thanks for the nice stay

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MochaRoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review. We are so very proud of our partnership with the El Toro Restaurant. Our hotel has partnered with them for over 33 years in Banff. They are a wonderful restaurant that showcases a quality breakfast and a quality dinner tha does not compare anywhere in Banff. I am so glad you enjoyed the special breakfast and I do hope you come back again very soon.
Cheers,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#19 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Property: Irwin's Mountain Inn
Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing