We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Always Go Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Will Always Go Back”
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Stayed at Irwin's, which was recommended by a friend, during the August '07 long wkend. Went there to get away, get some r and r and celebrate our 1st yr wedding anniversary. This trip was spur of the moment, and all the hotels were booked but luckily, a vacancy here!

My husband and I are not party people and since the hotel is a few blocks away from all the hustle and bustle of downtown Banff, it was perfect. It was close enough to the action and far enough from the noise.

This establishment is locally owned (which we always like supporting) and the price is quite reasonable. Our hotel room was clean, no problems with anything. They offer a continental breakfast with your stay and there is a hot tub on the main floor. There is underground parking and we noticed lockers for storage should you be staying there during ski season. Staff are nice and helpful. We're going to Banff again in June and guess where we're staying?

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank primojalapeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    238
    115
    20
    13
See reviews for
167
198
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2008

Irwin's is a great value, very well located motel/hotel option on Banff Ave for those looking to be near the action without having to shell out loads.
The simple continental breakfast is great if you need to get some fuel on board before a day on the slopes - saves a few bucks on a coffee and muffin from Starbucks!!
The rooms are big with decent, but dated bathrooms.
All in, Irwins is the place for those looking to experience Banff on a budget.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LondonJerseycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

It is my first time lived in Banff. When I arrived the inn around 11:00Pm, we came from Upper hot spring, the staff is very warm and friendly gave us advice where could find the late openning restaurant, and quickly check in also

The Room is nice, two queen size, tv, microven and fri, only 110 per night,

The breakfast is included and fruit is fresh. We will come back again very sure.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EdmontonEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdonshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2008

This was our 4th stay here in as many years.
We stay due to the fact that the mountains & view from the room are what we go for rather than pos fittings.
If you need a microwave & a fridge book a room with one (esp if staying say 3 weeks)
Ice machines on each floor.
Pleasant room service, though can be a bit rushed.
Attentive staff whenever asked to help with anything, eg tv remotes, blockages, (or me nobbling a window on the coldest day of the year) whatever time of night.
Night staff WILL kick up a fuss on your behalf over noisy calgery week-enders who come to revel in banff.
Location wise it's perfect for a stroll into town or that ski stop being only 50metres (tops) from the door.
if the weathers really bad though it's only 5 dollars into town / 5 minutes walk.
(must mention at this point it's very conveniently placed for visits to Safeways supermarket If you forget your marmite / vegemite etc & wish to top up on pastries for the morning)
If you need to moan about the breakfasts (some do) then think about this! ..what's your daily breakfast ritual consist of? ..if its 3 kinds of coffee, milk or cream white & brown texas toast & 3 varieties of juice, peanut butter, jam, honey, cereals, english muffins, muffins & fresh fruit salad then you have more time than me in the morning my friends! ..as this is what you'll get & immediate top ups should you care to need anything.
Reception staff are always polite, friendly & helpful,..they're all locals so feel free to pick their brains.
lift to all floors is fast & clean, use of room phones is very cheap even for international calls (uk)
Irwins caters to ALL sections of society, week-enders, seasonaires, families, etc etc..
Definitely a pleasant experience of budget prices without suffering budget rooms.
Hot tub, small downstairs gym (quiet in winter) board & ski storage, large mountain maps, cheap & efficient laundry (so we onlypack enough for a week even if staying a month)
Definitely outstrips High country Inn, which still smells of grease as per previous reviewers experience.
Definitely better off here than any further out of town (as you'll pay more & have a good long cold hike into town from the hotel opposite Bumpers, which is more expensive & not good ..wet floors & no heating (yes that's your room)

Irwins all the way, we are trying elswhere for our summer back in banff but will be back as a family with a 4 / 5 year old winter season 08-09.our daughter has been coming to irwins since she was under a year ,..she's part of the furniture as are we, over the years it's been totally consistent delivering quality service without the high price of other hotels on the same strip
If you want to enjoy the mountains & be able to spend a bit more on meals in town, trips etc then stay here! ..if on the other hand you wish to have less cash in your pocket from the word go for a slightly newer (though no better hotel) go elsewhere then moan about how expensive it is to holiday there.

place to eat,... cheap spaghetti factory
...Bruno's GOOD & cheap
..Tony Roma's ..the only time we've left meals untouched!
..Melissas, ..go LOT'S ..fine breakfast, brunch, lunch & supper
...Salt-Lik ..good food (pricey) Will impress the lady!
...Tommy's cheap plentiful bar / pub food
...Melissa's (again) upstairs bar for afternoon drinks & chicken wings

  • Liked — close proximity to town & ski-bus, mountain vies (rooms at rear) ...cheap to upgrade for family sectioned off bedrooms
  • Disliked — leaving (again)
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank winter-warriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

Arrived tired but exited - we love Banff and this is a brilliant location for the town - and for the ski bus - stops right outside - had a problem with the door - it wouldnt lock maintenance man came along and said it would take an hour or so to fix so we were immediately was upgraded to a suite! That was brilliant as we were staying for 10 days and it was great to have a fridge and seating area etc. breakfast was great - fresh fruit salad , muffins, toast, cerial, juices, coffee etc as much as you want - we ate out at Coyotes one morning for breakfast - wowee you couldnt do that everyday - but it was great for a treat - recommend the berry pancakes! skiing was great went to Kicking horse, Panorama, + Lake louise & Sunshine - Fantastic! love this place and would come back to the Irwins any time!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryChristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

I stayed here for two weeks in January/February 2008. The room was basic, but comfortable, I would be happy to return here again.

The hot tub was kept clean and offered a pleasant way to ease tired muscles. There is also a well equiped gym area in the basement next to the secure ski/board storage areas. Also in the basement area is the large heated parking garage, as well as a large guest laundry area.

The room would have benefited from more time cleaning, particularly the bathroom floor behind the door! The maid had a nasty habit of listening to the alarm/radio and in doing so left an unwelcome early hours alarm!

Free wireless internet was a great help, as if you wanted to use the hotel's coin operated pc, it was located just inside the front door, so cold and with no privacy.

Reception staff were efficient and willing to help.

The 'continental breakfast' was fine, with fresh fruit, juices, tea / various blends of coffee, toast, muffins and cereals. It was a shame that a small minority of Inghams' guests considered it acceptable to steal much of the food to take with them on the slopes, at times leaving other guests with little food or choice (I saw one man take half a loaf of bread and four massive muffins!) . I hope the hotel staff will take action to prevent this in future.

The location is great, with the ski bus stop outside, and local shops and restaurants within a short walking distance away.

Overall a good hotel, but if you want to pay a fortune for luxury rooms, stay at the Fairmont!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Getting woken up in the middle of the night, beause the maid had messed with the radion alarm!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank williams.pj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2007

Wonderful!! Just returned from a week's skiing Dec 07. Cheap and cheerful - just what we were looking for. Good location on Banff avenue - ski bus stops right outside. Staff helpful. Breakfast very good - just what's needed for a days skiing ahead. Sunshine skiing fantastic. Make sure you go to elk and oarsman - very good pub. Rooms great. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and plan to return next year!

  • Liked — Cheap and cheerful, clean, good location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Maddox27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#18 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Property: Irwin's Mountain Inn
Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing