We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, close to town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great place, close to town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We always stay here when we go to Banff. We love the jacuzzi room and it's so cheap for Banff! Has great service and a few blocks walk to main area of Banff Ave. The jacuzzi room is great!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allinmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    235
    114
    20
    13
See reviews for
167
194
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kentwood, Louisiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed for 9 nights in this hotel. The staff was always very friendly and accommodating. The hot tub was just what we needed after a hard day's hiking. Breakfast at the on-site restaurant was hearty and delicious. A great place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAtravelerKentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and had booked a room which had two large double beds (which would be ideal for a family), small breakfast bar area, kitchenette and balcony with a lovely view to the rear over small mountains. There is free parking to the rear and an underground garage with a lift that leads into the lodge and ski storage if required.
The staff were majority helpful and assisted us with any directions and recommendations.
There is a fridge in the room, which was ideal for us as we bought some breakfast supplies and had these each morning before we ventured out.
It takes 10 minutes max to walk into the lovely Banff town centre with it's vast selection of restaurants, bars and shopping facilities.
Overall we were very pleased with the choice that we made to stay at the Irwin Mountain Inn, considering that there is such a selection of accommodation in and around Banff.
If we returned, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraK030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

The rooms were well priced and clean with outstanding facilities. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful with great information available on what to do and where to go in Banff and surrounding areas. Could not have asked for a better place to stay and the restaurant there is brilliant - i am still having dreams about the crepes!! I would recommend this hotel for a night or a week in summer or winter.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiredTeacher08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Excellent management and helpfulness and very friendly service.

Would recommend to all my friends.

Excellent accommodations and service

Room Tip: Book a clean suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieJune18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

I have just returned from a weekend in Banff. Had a positive experience staying at Irwin's Mountain Inn.

The hotel is in a great location on Banff Avenue. We had arrived before check in time, but the receptionist allowed us to park in their underground parking area. This meant we could walk into Banff & not have to worry about parking downtown. It is only a short walk to the shopping area. The same thing applied after we checked out. The hotel allowed us to leave the vehicle in their parking lot until we were ready to go home later that afternoon.

The rooms are comfortable & clean. Our room had a coffee maker, fridge, microwave & kitchen sink. Tea kettles are available on request. There is a gym & hot tub.

The restaurant on site is excellent. We were impressed with the selection of vegetarian food available on the menu & the prices are very reasonable.

Staff were extremely pleasant & helpful, The hotel is pet friendly & although I wasn't travelling with my pets on this occasion, it is good to see a hotel with a pet friendly policy in place.

Overall, a good hotel at a fair price. I would book here again & would also recommend to friends & family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddydoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Stayed in this hotel/inn for our family trip in Banff. It was within walking distance to Banff Town Centre and because our room has fridge, we were able to avoid eating out all the time (saved us some money), and just managed to buy some food in a nearby Safeway Store. The room we were in had a good view of the mountains, had the necessary facilities needed and was reasonably clean. The room could use some upgrade on its decoration and noise reduction too.
The receptionist during our visit didn't appear very jolly...she really needed to smile a bit.
For the price and for it's function, this hotel is reasonable and convenient indeed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asndavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Property: Irwin's Mountain Inn
Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing