We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Friendly - in Banff but not too close to the loud and busy downtown.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Stayed on a Friday, which can mean loud and late noisy people in several parts of Banff (which is a breathtaking place at any time of year). So Irwin's Inn is walking distance to shops and downtown but quiet too. Inn is easy to find, staff is very friendly and willing to suggest things to check out in town, and the room was great - not fancy but good quality for the price. The beds were very comfortable. I've stayed in Banff before at other places but this is the best so far.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paolo403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for Irwin's Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 577 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2011

Hotel has recently been redecorated and the hot tub area renovated. We have stayed at this hotel many times when visting Banff and always had a great experience. The staff are friendly and helpful and overall it is great value for money. The cleaner did leave the old bed linen and towels in our room on the floor twice but no major fuss, she always cleaned the room fine.

The rooms are a good size and we had tea and coffee maker plus a door to outside with a step so we could chill drinks overnight.

Only 10 minutes to walk into the main town area which has loads of restaurants, bars and shops. A nice walk home after you have eaten too much!

The only downside is that because the hotel is well priced you do get some teenagers visiting over weekends who are noisy in the corridors at night. We had to ring reception to complain twice due to parties going on in a room opposite at 3am. Reception did act very quickly though and came to stop the party so well handled.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpinkysWorldTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Irwin's was clean with good sized rooms (we had the two queen bed option), friendly staff and a clean indoor hot tub. Downside was the fridge didn't work properly (kept freezing our food) although I'm sure they would have addressed this if it was a real problem for us, and the wireless internet didn't work very well - not even just checking emails. We were floor three at the front; if you need internet, let them know in advance because although they said it should work well every where it was definitely better downstairs.

The restaurant attached dd good tapas and a great value brakfast.

On the whole, great value, nice hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lozza1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Needed 3 rooms for family - 1 for 2 adults and 2 for 2 adults plus 2 children. Phoned 4 days before and offered good rate. Arrived 6pm, rooms clean and warm, basic but ideal for our one night stop. Parking a bit restricted.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hambledonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

I stayed here many times over the past year and are sitting in te room while typing this listing to a live band playing downstairs. If that is not bad enough we listen to a dog, who was left alone in the room. Even that it is great that you can bring your pets the hotel is responsible to make sure that the owners do not leave the dog alone. At 1.30am I had to tell them to either take the dog out the roomy move us. No apologies even when I went to the manager. Instead of saying sorry she told me that I just wanted a discount.
People walk on their ski boots and it's horrible noisy with people talking in the hallways. Even that the rooms are clean and the location is great the service is horrible. Even when I read the review I have to laugh as I stayed here many times before and they have never ever walked me to my room neither is the staff helpful. Even more interesting is that management only leaves messages on positive feedback. I gave it a try more then ones and I will never come back.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joscar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

Thanks for your feedback. I am very sorry for your experience here at the Inn. Our staff does it's best to deal with noise issues and to serve our guests with kindness. Yes, we are a pet friendly hotel and that can create challenges, however, our front desk staff and night staff does adhere to our policy of contacting the owner and dealing with the issues of dogs barking in an effecient manner. The Irwin's has prided itself on hiring staff that are helpful and who do take the time to deal with guest complaints. The core values of this hotel are simply hospitality and kindness. My hope is that you will give our property a chance to prove this to you. Thanks for your feedback and my sincerest apologies. The Irwin's has been in Banff since 1965. It is family owned and operated with the hope that every stay will be a great stay. They have placed value on being accommodating with pets and the comfort and simplicity of clean rooms and trusted service. We value your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

For the price of this hotel you cant really expect much more than what you get. Staff just get the job done. The cleaning staff seem to be inconvienced if you are not out of your room by 830am so they can clean it. No shower amenties besides a tiny bar of soap. No pool just a hot tub. The parking garage has only clearance for 5 foot 10" so anything over a small SUV wont fit and only about 8 or 10 parking stalls outside so very little parking available. For a hotel in banff you can get a better place to stay for the same price be carefull not to overpay it was our first stay because we had a coupon but i dont think we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianOil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write our hotel. Our hotel has been in Banff since 1965. This family owned and operated hotel has prided itself in service and kindness. Our Housekeeping staff starts its day at 9:00 a.m. and does so with great care to ensure noise is minimal. Our check out time is 11:00 a.m. and late check out goes as late as 12:00 noon. When we are full our staff cleans rooms with efficiency and courtesy to guests. Our ammenities do include a small facial bar of soap, a large body bar of soap, hand lotion, shampoo and plenty of towels. Any additional ammenities, including hair conditioner, can be retrieved at the front desk. Our 5 person hot tub is perfect for those looking to relax at the end of the day in Banff. The Irwin's also offers a 4 person Sauna and a huge shower to relax in before entering the hot tub. Towels are available for your use as well. Banff is a world class destination with many sights and sounds to make your stay a pleasureable one. Our Front Desk staff is happy to help with any of your needs including booking tours and helping guests find their way around the beautiful townsite. Our hotel provides FREE parking in Banff, which is not always the case with other hotels. The Irwin's also has FREE wireless internet for those wishing to connect with friends or family or just research Banff. Our hope is that you will return and that you will experience the true beauty that his Banff, Alberta and enjoy the comfort of the Irwin's Mountain Inn. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Great budget accomidations for Banff. We used this as our launch for Skiing at Lake Lousie and some hiking. Location is right on the strip though a little more removed than some of the hotels. Its still an easy walk to anything in Banff. Trails are near by, one picture shows Tunnel Mountain in front of the hotel (and thus proximity to Tunnel Mountain Trail). View in our room includes the parking lot along with a little bit of the mountains. Could be more plush but if your looking for something a little less ostentatous then who cares. At this price point the value is just right. Enjoyed the hot tub if you need a soak after skiing. Underground parking is welcomed even if its a touch tight. Staff were helpful at every instance (Chick in, tips re area, directions, wine bottle opener etc.)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr3z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. Your feedback is so appreciated and I am very grateful for your comments. At Irwin's we have made efforts to listen to our guests needs and have renovated our property with the customer in mind. Since our renovation we have recieved such positive feedback surrounding our property. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#22 of 33 in Banff
768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $98 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing