We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family recently stayed at this hotel. Our room was on the second floor at the end of the hall. The space was adequate for 4 adults with 6 suitcases and other miscellaneous stuff. The room and the bath were clean.
The breakfast was good but WAY overcrowded. The parking spaces underground were scarily close together - spaces were close together and and there wasn't much room between the aisles. We had to get out of the car before my husband parked (couldn't get the doors open wide enough to get out after he parked).
The hotel is close to everything downtown. Price was mediocre. May or may not use the hotel again in the future, depending on what else was available.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GAscrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 819 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed one night while in Banff. The hotel is overall satisfactory. Room was clean and neat, balcony not swept (for some time, and this is July); just overall the room, towels, etc., look like they have a lot of miles on them. Which is to be expected for such a busy place.
The breakfast was nice, hot and had a wide variety of items (hot and cold).
The underground parking was handy.
Probably if we had to pick one item that could be improved was the girl at check in; in our mind, all they have to do -other than give you keys to a room- is look at you and say 'welcome to BW', and possibly smile. This wasn't done! It is understood everyone has bad days...
However at checkout, the front desk girl was quite friendly. :)
Would we stay again, possibly but likely would investigate other properties first in the Banff area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_travelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived, the clerk was luke warm. I noticed she didn't answer the ringing phone. I understand the need to take care of customers, but she was on the computer and not talking to me. She was knowledgable about the area and pointed out the dinner spot someone had recommended. We stayed in a family suite. There weren't enough towels for everyone. When I asked the clerk for extra towels, she looked at me as if I wanted to steal them. Towels were ripped and dirty. The AC in the room was terrible. When we presented the issue to the clerk, we were told someone would be in to look at it. When we returned to our room, a fan was blowing and the tech looking at it. Unfortunately, he couldn't fix it. We ended up sleeping with our covers off. The breakfast was mediocre compared to other Best Western hotels. However, the attendant kept everything stocked. I was very impressed by her ability to multi-task. The check-out experience was great. The clerk was so warm and was concerned about our stay. The hotel was not typical of the Best Western hotels we've stayed in. I believe with a little bit of care, they could attract better ratings.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank LoveSummerRoadTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Hotel was very clean. All staff helpful. Breakfast was delicious, but breakfast room very small for the numbers that use it. Seating hard to find. Small area where food is presented. People going around every which way. Pricey, but then so is Banff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sheila42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Best Western Siding 29 was conveniently located, clean and comfortable. it had easy access to downtown Banff and the highway. The staff at the front desk were a bit curt but got the job done. Nice chambermaids. Very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This Best Western was the most expensive out of the four Best Westerns we stayed over the last two weeks. Not worth the price small rooms and an old feeling to the hotel. The buffet breakfast was not up to par compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is an older hotel, however it had everything we needed. The rooms were quite large; although it was very busy it was very quiet and the reception and departure were handled very well. The breakfast was great, though the breakfast room was a little small for how many people were staying there. I find Banff is quite an expensive place to stay, however I believe the price was fine for what we got. Within easy walking distance of quality shopping and restaurants. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 34 in Banff
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 34 in Banff
1,451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $96 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing