We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Western Minus” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Shawnee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Western Minus”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We originally booked the Standard Room Plus. It was supposed to be for six people. When we arrived, we found this room had no windows that would open. Instead, the westward facing fixed windows overlooked the indoor pool. All of the heat and humidity from the pool and from the sun poured into the room. The staff kept the curtains closed in order to try to lower the temperature, but even so, the air conditioner was not adequate. This resulted in a very hot and dark room. We called the front desk and they sent maintenance to look at the air conditioner. Maintenance said it was working, but obviously not well enough. The staff did not offer us a different room. We had to request it. They moved us to a standard room with two roll away beds which was much more spacious. Unfortunately, it was also on the west side and opened to the sidewalk where the exterior painters banged against the windows when they started working the next morning. One of the pillows and comforters on one of the queen beds had stains. One of the blankets on a roll-away had stains and was torn in several places. The kleenex box had been sitting in water and was stained. The outlet was controlled by the switch so when you turned the main light out, the night light also turned off. There were places on the baseboards and countertop that had not been cleaned. Toward the end of the evening, it was extremely difficult to squeeze into the parking garage. There was not enough seating for breakfast although the outside seating area was very nice. After our experience with the evening staff and the air conditioner, we did not bother to mention the dirty and torn items until the next morning when there was a different lady at checkout. She was much more friendly and did offer a small adjustment to our bill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank TravelingKSFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    253
    99
    48
    21
See reviews for
252
240
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Had a good stay at this hotel. The price was reasonable and the staff was helpful and hard-working, but I suspect they were a bit under-staffed during our stay. They rooms were great, but the sofa bed was atrocious...but our boys endured that one night. The other 2 queen beds were great. We were treated to a tasty full breakfast...not just a continental style like most other hotels. I would recommend this hotel when staying in Banff.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the pool. Ours was 305 and we were above the pool and the kids made noises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diyguy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Beautiful, clean, roomy, covered (underground) secure parking. Not within easy walking distance of the city center, but close enough. Elevators from the underground parking. Breakfast good. The a/c worked well--not noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeauten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hotel Room was clean as well as overall appearance of the hotel. Although I believe that for the money I paid per night service should of been much better. Hot tub was closed by Health inspector and pool although it was open looked like needed some cleaning. Underground parking was very small and tight, some guests had to park on a street and parking in front was also limited. Although staff appeared to be helpful I did not think they were all 100% there. Breakfast was ok, as expected.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank eyasynskyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Front desk provided us with a cheaper rate - although still expensive. The room was ok, but very hot. The air conditioner was broken. Had to ask for a fan from the front desk. Easy to walk to downtown to explore. There was underground parking but our truck had a difficult time manoeuvring. It did include a free breakfast in the morning, which helped compensate for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Arrived into Banff from Edmonton without any reservation. The front desk was attentive and we thought $179 for a two queen beds plus a full complementary breakfast for the 4 of us (2 kids) and secure underground parking was a gift.
The room was very clean and nicely presented with fridge and balcony with table and chairs!!! Wow !! All the bed linens were good quality and very fresh looking and smelling. The room had a comfortable welcoming appeal - all of this within a nice walk to the hub of Banff. All the staff we encountered were polite. The beds were in very good condition and comfy and we all had a great sleep.
The complementary breakfast was superb, and offered a great variety of quality freshly prepared breakfast foods, that even included fresh fruit, yougurt , prepared oatmeal and juices. This was easily a $20 per person breakfast without a doubt. We were so impressed with this complementary breakfast that we couldn't help but generously tip the breakfast staff who were attentive and polite.
The pool is rather small but this wasn't a issue for us.
Would highly suggest staying here. It is a nice clean and secure good value accomodation with the bonus of first class breakfast. Our standards are pretty high and this exceeded our expectations for this price category.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We look forward to seeing you again some day soon. We are glad your found our hotel enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel has nice rooms and underground parking. The breakfast offers a good selection of items and appeals to all.
We stayed for one night and feel that the hotel is overpriced. The location is so-so. I don't understand why the property is so expensive. We had to use our car every time we want to go anywhere and then had to deal with parking. If your activities our near this hotel and you are ok with price go for it otherwise find another hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorimcwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,904 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western + Iniative, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing