We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Best Western Siding 29 Lodge and for the most part it was brilliant. It is in a very good location on the outskirts of town (approx. 10-15 min walk into the centre) due to its location on the outskirts there was very little noise that I heard and conveniently there was a shell garage right out front. The rooms were huge and very clean, there is no restaurant attached but there are many dining options within a 10 min walk. The only negative point about the hotel was that the breakfast area was quite small in comparison to the amount of rooms in the hotel, this meant that unless you were up early and one of the first into breakfast you were unlikely to get a seat in the breakfast area, and there was not really anywhere else to sit other than back in your room or at the front of reception. Other than this small detail the hotel is clean, modern and well equipped.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smileycat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Hope to see you again the next time you are in Banff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 819 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

First impression was a great one. Friendly staff, beautiful room and great location. But waking up with my face, neck, arms, back and legs covered in itchy bed bug bites was scary. Maintenance came right away to check the room but bed bugs hide in more places than just a mattress. Staff were very apologetic and offered to wash all of our belongings.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jrmferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

First of all, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay in our hotel.
We would like to inform you that we are taking all the necessary measures in order to avoid such issues in our establishment.
Again, we apologize and we hope we will have the possibility to prove to you that we are worth your trust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great hotel, reasonably priced. Good breakfast. But it was hot. The room was warm when we checked in so we turned it down and got is somewhat less hot. The next day we were gone all day and when we returned the temp was turned up to 90. Called front desk and complained. Next day
when we got back temp was turned up to 80. After this I taped the thermostat and that solved the
cleaning staff from touching it however they are doing this to every room when they leave it so the whole hotel is hot like an old folk's home or hospital. I never did get a decent night sleep because of the heat. For this reason I wouldn't stay here again. And that is a shame because the hotel is
great other than this. Underground parking is limited to 5' 9" so be prepared to park on the street if you have a truck. There is 3 spots available on the lot if you are lucky.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpt98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experience.
Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail with our maintenance and housekeeping department and steps have been taken to ensure these faults are solved promptly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I want to start off by saying that I have stayed in Hotel rooms all around the world, and you come to expect certain things when paying a higher price for a room.
To start off the lady at reception did not look like she was in a very happy mood and was very of dismissive to us.
The room was clean when we arrived.
Little things like a burnt out light-bulb in the main vanity (which I unscrewed and left for the cleaning staff to change - they left it where it was and never replaced the bulb). The dimmer switch for the main light over the jacuzzi was broken. The cable TV was very snowy. Sugar, tea, and glasses were not replaced after the first evening. The dirty ones were removed, but new ones were not supplied.
Even though the breakfast room was very tiny and crowded, it was nice to have a hot meal in the morning. The internet, (an unsecured network) had sufficient speed and no problems with disconnection.
Temperature in the room could not be controlled by the thermostat. The room was constantly too hot.
Fixing little issues like these could make an average hotel experience a lot better. In the end it is the customer that needs to be satisfied.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kpoelzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. I have investigated your comments and we will take steps to ensure that these problems you experienced do not happen again. We will take immediate corrective actions.
Again I apologized and hope you will still consider staying with us again the next time you are in Banff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was a quick visit with new to Canada family members from the Philippines. Hotel is in a great location to main sights in town, good value for the family. Nice breakfast to start us off, clean rooms and very good service. My wife and I have been here before, and most likely will return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garywing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed her from December 13th to the 15th. The room was clean and warm. The decor is a little dated but not bad. The bed was very hard and not comfortable. Gives sore back and sides. The tile floor by the hottub and in the bathroom was freezing cole to walk on without socks as we were on the first floor as we got a kingsize bed with hottub room. One of the lights wasn't working and they came right away and replace it. very good service. The check in and out was great and they treated us very well. The location is a little bit of a walk but not bad. It was nice and quiet no noise except for the fan running for the heat it is very noisy and we shut it off for a while to be able to sleep but then it got cold so we turned it back on. The bathrooms was very nice and the food for the full breakfast ws good. All in all it was a good experience for us.Oh they also don't have a restaurant in their hotel but there are lots nearby so no problem.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy17Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We've stayed here a few times in the past year. Our whole family just loves it,.. great pool and hot tub,.. might as well be at the Hot Springs.. it so good.
Breakfast is very good for a complimentary style breakfast. Eggs, sausage, and all the contenental type stuff. Good coffee too.
Staff is always friendly and helpful. My kids accidently purchased a PPV movie and the staff gladly took it off the bill, when I explained the mistake.
The rooms are updated and clean. Pets allowed in certain rooms, and for only 10 bucks more tbh.
This is the best value in Banff by a long shot. Many great restaurants within walking distance.
Underground parking is convenient and secure.
Great place!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milkmannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you very much for the positive review. I am grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 34 in Banff
2,213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,463 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge

Address: 453 Marten Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $105 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing