We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a really expensive little city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
384 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a really expensive little city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were happy to find this place which is walking distance to the main downtown area. Our room was lovely and the breakfast was excellent. Having parking on-site was a great asset. Banff is a really pricey place and this hotel was right in the middle of our range.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbgoodkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    253
    99
    48
    21
See reviews for
252
240
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent the weekend in Banff with a couple girlfriends. We went up for the Banff Winterstart Race. We stayed at the Best Western. From the outside, it looked a bit dated, but typical for the area. Inside however was a different story. Beautiful. Professional. Great service. The elevator is a bit slow, and sounds a little creepy, but it worked fine. The rooms were spotless. The beds were so comfortable. The water pressure is excellent! Lots of hot water too. Good quality room amenities. Great TV. Great wireless. The hot breakfast alone is worth the stay. Absolutely fantastic! Our stay at the BW was awesome. I would stay again and would definitely recommend to a friend. Oh, and the price is stellar. Especially in a community where everything is grossly overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btlbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked a jacuzzi room for our 5th anniversary. First we were put in a room where the floor was being dried by one of those industrial dryers...the carpet was soaking wet. We were then moved to the 'other' suite and the only difference was that they had managed to finish drying and vacuuming the room...though the carpet was still wet in places. Something had flooded and when the carpet deodorizer smell faded, you could smell the mold! On top of that, the jacuzzi tub does not look like the picture from the website, the TV menu functions didn't work (couldn't order movies) the jets on the tub were so noisy we couldn't keep them on for very long and the bathroom door looked like it had been kicked in. Never going there again!

Room Tip: Pick a room far away from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.
Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations. Your comments have been reviewed in detail with our staff and steps have been taken to ensure these faults will not happen again. Hope you will still consider us the next time that you are in Banff, I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel was well situated so you could leave your car parked and walk into town for restaurants. We especially appreciated the free breakfasts in the morning with hot and cold selections. It really saved time to be able to just have breakfast at the hotel and be ready to start on the day. I also appreciated that they used real silverware, plates, cups, etc. It is so much more earth friendly than all the paper products most places use.

Room Tip: The only "restaurant" was the breakfast room. The hotel staff were very good about recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your good review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

siding 29 is a pleasant hotel in a beautiful area of the national park..underground secure
parking is available to guest..walking into the reception you are greeted warmly and all information gladly given..24 hour coffee tea is available...turning around is the swimming pool which is in a strange place,one set of stairs heading up to the next floor but it doesnt look out of place somehow...the room was spotless,very fresh and the beds very comfortable..all you required was available within the room....breakfast according to those with me was delicious,and a nice varity..the hotel was full value for money...across the road is a gas station if you wish to fill up and its a 5 minute walk to the centre..a short journey takes you to the mountain and on the other end of town from the hotel is a mock fort which holds a fine display of native american culture,its worth the $10 to enter..banff is a lovely place,it was $76 for four of us to go into the national park for four days...the hotel is well worth a stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malc5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsa T, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and that hope you will come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were very surprised by the room we got! It was huge, ground level, and had an awesome circular jacuzzi tub in the room, not in the bathroom! The room was clean, bed was comfortable. A 10 min strole to where all the action is, but we were happy with that. The people next to us did have their room broken into - ground level, so just make sure to lock up your valuables, and keep the slidding glass door locked, which they didn't.

We stayed twice in a week. Once was with the tub in the room, the second stay was a standard room without the tub, and was also very nice. I'd do it again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LANDASTEWART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Good location, excellent underground parking, poor cleaning in public areas, awful breakfast room - wish we had stayed elsewhere.
No decaff coffee in room or at reception !
Noise from upstairs plumbing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickw952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,906 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western + Iniative, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing