We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun afternoon out”
Review of Chinook Rafting

Chinook Rafting
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.44*
and up
Kananaskis River Rafting Adventure
Ranked #1 of 32 Tours in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Closest whitewater rafting available from Banff and Calgary. Half and Full day trips. Whether you want Mild or Wild, our fun-loving professional guides will provide you with the best whitewater rafting adventure. Perfect activity for Families (5yrs+), and Groups like Bachelor and Bachelorette Parties or your Corporate Team Building Event.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a fun afternoon out with Chinook. The crew leading were very professional and we had fun with our three kids (aged 14, 11 and 8). By the end of the trip (which became more of a float), the kids said they wished there were more rapids and more action. They liked climbing the bridge and jumping into the water, so it would have been fun to stay in the water at the end for some more swim time.

Be prepared for a lengthy wait at the beginning. It takes a long time to get a bunch of people organized, so you wait around a lot from the 1:30 check in time. All in all, a good day...

1  Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"kananaskis river"
in 194 reviews
"horseshoe canyon"
in 187 reviews
"cliff jump"
in 44 reviews
"guide james"
in 18 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 75 reviews
"great fun"
in 65 reviews
"class rapids"
in 39 reviews
"wet suits"
in 34 reviews
"cookies"
in 43 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 25 reviews
"great guide"
in 42 reviews
"safety talk"
in 23 reviews
"white water"
in 21 reviews
"these guys"
in 28 reviews
"great trip"
in 33 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 20 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 30 reviews
Filter

1,053 - 1,057 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We did an adventure white water rafting experience and really enjoyed it. It was very well organised and the guys in charge were great in looking after us, making sure we understood the dangers and how to make ourselves safe. It was my son's birthday and they waived the fee. We encountered several class 4 rapids and had plenty of thrills and laughs. My son even had the opportunity for a 10 metre cliff jump. Oh boy that was the icing on the cake! Thank you Chinook for an unforgettable day out.

1  Thank davei_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked for the kananaskis rafting trip. As a first timer, I thought it was fantastic. A great family activity to do.
The staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful and professional. They were also entertaining yet informative.
I'm hoping one day to travel to Canada again, and will be booking another rafting trip with Chinook Rafting

Thank Sheree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

It was a amazing experience with much of fun. The stuff was professional and made us feel safe and secured. I just wished if we could have stayed more in the water and enjoyed some free swimming at the end.

Thank DondonSaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked the Family (2 adults, 2 children) rafting excursion on the Kananaskis River. The tour repeatedly told us the pick-up time would be 12 noon. We showed up at 12 noon. Nobody came until 1pm. They then said it was a mistake. We wasted an hour sitting around waiting for the pickup - instead of spending more time on Sulphur Mtn. Once finally there, we had to change into rafting attire. The changing quarters were dark and cramped with zero privacy - this made for an unpleasant experience for our kids. Then, once you are bunched-up in the attire, it took almost an hour until we actually started rafting. There must have been over a hundred people on this tour! We spent at least 15 minutes bobbing around in the water, crashing into rocks and other rafts. Kids will tell you the truth regarding fun. Our kids were unimpressed with these rapids. They said the rapids were class 3-4. Maybe one rapid was class 3-4. Once it was done, it took nearly an hour to finally get moving back to our drop-off in Banff. The excursion was supposed to be from 12-5pm (as advertised); we did not get back until nearly 7pm - again, more wasted time and did not get to shop in Banff as was planned.

Not what was expected and I would never do this tour again. A more personalized tour, with fewer people and actual rapids - and done in a timely manner, please - is what we will look for next time.

Thank k m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinookRafting, Manager at Chinook Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback on our Kananaskis Rafting trip.

I have checked into your booking and you booked through a 3rd party, not directly with Chinook Rafting and unfortunately were told 3 incorrect pieces of information about your tour by this 3rd party company:

1. You should have been told 1:15pm as your meeting time at the Banff Caribou Lodge as opposed to 12 noon as that is the time which we always pick up there every day.

2. The Kananaskis river is class 2 & 3 rapids which is how we advertise it on our website http://www.chinookrafting.com/whitewater-rafting-kananaskis-river and also in our brochure. Unfortunately you were told it would be class 3 & 4 rapids.

3. You were also told that the tour runs from 12pm until 5pm, but our trip always runs from 1:15pm from Banff until 6:15pm to 6:30pm which is 5 hours in trip duration, sometimes our trip may run over by 15 minutes.

We appreciate you bringing these points to our attention and we have contacted the 3rd party company that you booked through to make sure that this information is correct in their system and that their staff do not give this information out again to any more customers.

With regards to your other comments we value your feedback and would like to offer some explanation to you:

1. Our changing room tents are quite dark, and our decision not to put lights in them comes from customer feedback that the majority of people feel that they have more privacy in a darker tent than a lit one, and they are not massive, so there can be lots of people in them at a time. Some of the companies which operate on the Kananaskis river do not have changing facilities at all.

2. August is the busiest time of year for rafting due to the weather, and in the middle of the summer and school holidays is when we do have lots of people that want to join us for an awesome time on the river. Once you are out on the river on average there will only be 8-10 people per raft plus your experienced whitewater rafting guide. On the day that you rafted with us the total number of people was 70 people. We do hope that our guests understand that once you are changed at our base we do still have to drive a very short 15 minutes to the river followed by a safety talk so that everyone knows what to do for each situation on the river, followed by some practicing of paddle commands with your assigned guide. Safety is our number 1 priority so we think that this is an hour well spent. The starting point can sometimes be a little congested as this is where all of the companies start on the river, but once we leave this point any congestion usually disappears as all of the companies have spread out. At the end of the trip there is a short 5-10 minute drive from the river back to our base, where we give people time to get changed back into their dry clothes, grab a complimentary hot or cold drink and snack, purchase the photo CD or buy rafting merchandise and chat with their guides before heading back to Banff, all this usually takes approximately 45 minutes.

We are sorry that your experience was not what you expected and we would like to invite you to return and raft with us again, perhaps at a quieter time of year, and we can show you the class 3 & 4 rapids on the Horseshoe Canyon that you were expecting, as long as your children are 12 years (90lbs) and over.

Please contact us directly to make this booking on 403 763 2007 or info@chinookrafting.com and we can offer you a discounted rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinook Rafting also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Chinook Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing