We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee in canada”

Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe
Ranked #10 of 147 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Here artisan bread is hand-crafted the traditional way with long fermentation periods, careful hand shaping and small batch baking. When the sun is rising behind the mountain tops, our organic loaves are just coming out of the oven, along with freshly baked pastries and other tasty treats. All of our offerings are made with locally-sourced and all-natural ingredients.Whether for breakfast, lunch, or the in-between snack, everyone can find something to fuel their day in Banff at Wild Flour! Vegan, Vegetarian, gluten-free and raw options are always available.Our Specialty coffees are organic, fair-trade and served in a ceramic mug that invites you to stay in the warm bakery atmosphere. If you are keen to get out and explore the national park, know that our take-out packaging is made from biodegradable, compostable, and recycled materials.In the evening, you may well find a unique community event hosted at Wild Flour. We regularly feature local and visiting musicians, poetry readings, conversation cafes, and even custom calzone nights in the outdoor wood-fired oven.Twitter & Instagram: WildFlourBanff
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best coffee in canada”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A Young and dynamic coffeebar. Nice atmosphere, super coffee, fresh muffins, ...
Its a very busy place, so take some time for your breakfast.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilias G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    246
    69
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Espresso amazing”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The espresso drinks here were far and away the best we could find in Banff or Canmore. The chocolate chip banana muffin may have been my favorite muffin of all time and I went back every day just to see if they had made it again (sadly no). The sandwiches were good too. The only exception was their egg sandwich. Maybe the worst egg and cheese sandwich ever which is pretty amazing considering the quality of their other food. Cheese on the sandwich was almost nonexistent- I actually peeled back the bread to see if there was any at all. And the egg was in this rectangular microwaved or steam tray form which was so unappetizing and pretty awful. If they can revamp this, the rest of the things there were pretty tasty and especially the espresso quality.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kkrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Field
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I love the atmosphere of this place - kind of hippie but they make really good food! And the photos on the walls are beautfiul. This is a great place to enjoy some tea and a good wrap. Their homemade pizza is fantastic! If you're looking for a little cafe in Banff, go here for sure!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“BLAT sandwich was awesome”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We needed a place to hide from the rain and this was the first cafe that we saw. Didn't expect anything special but I found the food/drinks that we ordered to be surprisingly good.

I ordered a BLAT sandwich (bacon, lettuce, avocado, tomato) and it was DE-LICIOUS. Also got a medium roast coffee that was very good too. The sandwich took forever to make (over 10 minutes!), but it was worth the wait. Seating is a bit limited, service was ok (not super friendly, but nice). A tad on the pricey side for coffee/sandwiches but I'd come back again to grab a quick bite.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hailo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not going back anytime soon”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Normally we like organic, local, natural, cafés. However, this weeken we visited twice and both times: 1. The staff were abrupt, 2. They had run out of menu items, and 3. They messed up our drinks and don't offer to remake. In addition, they are over priced an charge extras for things like butter, jam, and maple strip (web you order toast or waffles!) They made us feel like we were an annoyance. Needless to say, we won't be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ajzakalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing