We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oTENTik was fab!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Two Jack Lakeside Camgpround
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“oTENTik was fab!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in an oTENTik in two jack lakeside campground and loved it! BBQ included and unlimited firewood! Staff were extremely helpful and friendly! OTENTik was very clean and comfortable and the main bathroom and shower area in campsite very well kept. Beautiful views of the lake. Use BACTRAX in Banff for camping supplies they are very reliable and good value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank WellTravelled1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    34
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at this site for one night on our way though Banff. The site was great, but very open and thinly treed. Great views of the lake and full bathrooms that were fairly clean. Not the best campsite ever, but definitely beats some others around the Banff/Jasper area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlchk9021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
377 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We came here on a Friday morning during the August long weekend with our fingers crossed. We had a feeling the Two Jack Lakeside campground would be impossible to get in and tried our luck at Two Jack Main and we were the 3rd last group of people who were able to secure a campsite. No reservations allowed at either.

We got a spot in loop #2, site D. It was situated high and away from the main road and it provided a lot more privacy that those close to main road at lower elevation which was quite exposed to the world and close to both bathrooms and garbage bin; you wouldn't want your site there.

The bathrooms were relatively clean and there was a a shelter with a sink and running water for doing dishes along with tables and benches. Fire permit was mandatory and you can take all the firewood you need. Park wardens at the site were very friendly and ensured the campgrounds were safe and quiet by frequent patrolling. As the other reviewer noted, no showers but we were aware of that before going.

Because this site was close to everything, the following activities were accessible within a short drive: ice cream and short walk at Lake Minnewanka, sushi & groceries in Banff, round trip 1 hour hike around Johnston Lake.

Room Tip: Good campsite would be one higher in elevation, away from main road, washrooms and garbage bin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank JY_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was the best campsite I have ever visited. The views, especially on the lake, are amazing and the sites are well kept with flat tent ground and fire pits. There is also unlimited firewood for a small fee and close bathrooms/hot showers. During peak season you will want to arrive early to get the best spots. #28 has an amazing view and access to the lake.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank ShawnA356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was my first time camping and was our anniversary!! We were very dicey about choosing a campground but guess what we made the best decision ever! This campsite gets full during peak season and since they don't take reservations we drove in from Calgary and reached at 8.30am. We got in! Yay! The lady at the entrance gave us a map and a lovely campsite by the lake, the lake was deep blue and yes, it was perfect! If you ever decide to hike around Banff, camp at Two jack lakeside and drive into camp sites. Personally, I find the town very crowded and touristy and is not my thing...The campsite has showers, but not great..and firewood and other basic amenities! Overall, lovely :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
6 Thank Indie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nice place to camp. Well-treed lots, free firewood. Bathrooms are covered in dead bugs, though, and there are no showers onsite at all. Quick trip to Banff, Cascade Pond, or Lake Minnewanka. Saw a herd of elk grazing on the way in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arrowrootcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were a litte nervous coming in on a saturday morning, but we arrived at 10:30 am and we were the 4th car in line waiting at the gate. We decided to stick it out and by 11 am we had a spot. The girl at the registration booth was very friendly and realistic with our chances of getting a spot. We did not get a spot on the lakeside, but we were very close and couldn't be happier with the site. Quiet, clean, and respectful neighbours. Perfect for a weekend away from the loud party type campsites. Hopefully it stays that way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
4.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
3.2 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
18.3 mi away
Castle Mountain Chalets
14.8 mi away
Johnston Canyon Resort
Johnston Canyon Resort
#18 of 18 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Jack Lakeside Camgpround? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Jack Lakeside Camgpround

Property: Two Jack Lakeside Camgpround
Address: Lake Minnewanka Loop Road | 12 km from the Banff town site, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Number of rooms: 74

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing