We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate Option”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground
Ranked #13 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The campground is one of the most interesting yet unattractive I've ever seen. It has enough wood cover and views to be spectacular however it is laid out so poorly that it would require a start from scratch.
Overall the facilities were clean. It was fairly expensive for a campground as you paid over $30 then had to pay for a fire ring. It was cold that night so you can bet I used as much wood as possible as it was included.
I was in spot D4 which actually had a little privacy except for the condos and their annoying porch lights on all night. Still.. not bad. There was a picnic shelter that came in handy the next morning as I needed to dry my tent.

There is a train that goes through the area but unless you are backcountry hiking and camping you can't expect perfection.

I hope that in the future they re-plan this campground and especially the RV spaces. RV users I'm not sure if there's another option in the area but here you'll feel like you're parking in a walmart parking lot with an electric hook-up, nothing more.

Room Tip: I would look at the sites before settling on one if you are a walk up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jcktvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 93 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at this campground in an RV mid August 2013, though pre-booked in April. An extremely busy venue at this time of year, and choosing a site early is essential. Sites were clean, as was the ablution facilities. A public transport bus (Roam) regularly leaves from two stops with-in the campground (Route 2), one near the entrance, another by the chalets. $2 one way into Banff. Train horns wailing through-out the night, is par for the course, where-ever there are railway lines. The track is about 1 km away. Enjoyed the stay as a base to explore the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 49bandicoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Tunnel Mountain exists of 3 campgrounds, of which Village II Campground provides full hook-ups. It is a huge Parks Canada campground, having 222 RV sites. Currently roads are being paved all around, and parking & hooking up the camper is easy. Sites are close by one another, yet the site is quiet. Except for the passing trains... a first time experience for us. Accomodation buildings are basic, yet provide the services one may require. September is not high season, so the campground was not over-populated. For Banff, this surely is a recommendation, when RV-ing through the Rocky Mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Georges B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

campers are lined up along roads. Fully hooked places with 30 amp. Shower available in sanitary units. Entertainment and services to be foun at Village I campground.
See the sun rise on a bright morning. The views are great.
Bus connecting the campground (village I) frequently.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcslot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in a tenting site for two nights in the summer of 2013. The campsites were wonderful, spacious, private and mostly vacant. The first night we found out why they were mostly vacant! Trains go by all night long, sounding their horns over and over, so we hardly got any sleep. The basic purpose of a campsite is to be able to sleep! We were so exhausted the second night that we got some sleep, but I would never stay here again by choice. If you sleep in a trailer with air conditioning it would probably be okay, but tents don't keep out any noise, so I would not recommend tenting in Banff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you love the outdoors this is a great place to camp or RV. We were site B70 so the views are fantastic from this area. We were by the road but still found it quiet. You do park on pavement which is fine by us. The showers were not clean up to my standards but it sounds like they were fine for some people. The price is a bit high for what you get at the campground. The only thing I missed was WIFI and they could install this in the campground if they wanted. This is a parks campground and the service is not what it used to be. There are tons of biking and hiking trails around which are fantastic. Town is close and there is a convenient store a minute away if you don't want to go into town. We did have a great time and will go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suz406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The site was fully booked when we stayed in August and due to the way the sites are laid out, we found our space a little tight even though our RV was not particularly big. The train running past can be noisy at first but we were so tired from hiking on our second day that we slept through it. The views are beautiful and there is a lovely walk just outside the campground. The shower and toilet facilities were always clean and tidy. The shuttle bus service is a real bonus for getting into town and back and runs every 40 minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scally55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
13.6 mi away
Johnston Canyon Resort
Johnston Canyon Resort
#18 of 18 in Banff
382 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
1.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
0.9 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 34 in Banff
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground

Address: 300 Tunnel Mountain Road | 5km east of Banff Townsite, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range: $112 - $786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 200

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing