We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Train horns kept us awake all night!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Train horns kept us awake all night!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in a tenting site for two nights in the summer of 2013. The campsites were wonderful, spacious, private and mostly vacant. The first night we found out why they were mostly vacant! Trains go by all night long, sounding their horns over and over, so we hardly got any sleep. The basic purpose of a campsite is to be able to sleep! We were so exhausted the second night that we got some sleep, but I would never stay here again by choice. If you sleep in a trailer with air conditioning it would probably be okay, but tents don't keep out any noise, so I would not recommend tenting in Banff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    32
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you love the outdoors this is a great place to camp or RV. We were site B70 so the views are fantastic from this area. We were by the road but still found it quiet. You do park on pavement which is fine by us. The showers were not clean up to my standards but it sounds like they were fine for some people. The price is a bit high for what you get at the campground. The only thing I missed was WIFI and they could install this in the campground if they wanted. This is a parks campground and the service is not what it used to be. There are tons of biking and hiking trails around which are fantastic. Town is close and there is a convenient store a minute away if you don't want to go into town. We did have a great time and will go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suz406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The site was fully booked when we stayed in August and due to the way the sites are laid out, we found our space a little tight even though our RV was not particularly big. The train running past can be noisy at first but we were so tired from hiking on our second day that we slept through it. The views are beautiful and there is a lovely walk just outside the campground. The shower and toilet facilities were always clean and tidy. The shuttle bus service is a real bonus for getting into town and back and runs every 40 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scally55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We tent camped here for one night. We had site d4. It was a walk-in site but parking was only 10m away so really easy. The site was full but it didn't feel busy or cramped in the camping area. We booked online and it was easy to do and easy to select a pitch. Not much tree cover on this pitch but others looked to have. The showers and toilet blocks were fine. An easy drive into the town, just a couple of miles. We did hear the trains but only a couple of times and seemed no worse than anywhere else in banff. It is quite loud though!

Room Tip: You can look online at the layout of pitches and see photos of them. It's on the national park w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodenowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We found this place okay for a quick overnight, however not our idea of a campground. Motorhomes and trailers were lined up along side of the road, one right after another. There is absolutely no privacy here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaB212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at this campground and it was not too bad. The site we had, B72, had an amazing view. Yes there are a few trains that go through and you'll hear the horn more than a few times but you get used to it. The showers are okay. My advice is to get there early because they get awfully messy later on in the morning. Also early morning means hotter water because the more people who are using them, the cooler the water gets. The interpretive program Friday night is a must! We had a great time learning about the ecosystem of the park. There isn't a lot of privacy for the campsites but with so much to do in Banff all we did was sleep there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jiggymh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived Friday afternoon looking for a spot to pitch our tents for the long weekend. Luckily Tunnel Mountain had recently opened up some overflow RV sites to tents. It was great to get a place to stay, but in the future I'll try to get into a proper tenting section/campground.

We were on a gravel pad, supplied with power and water. Obviously a good spot for an RV but not ideal for tenting. It was very open and we didn't really get the full camping experience.

Overall it was a good time. Rain was coming in so we left a day early and were provided with a refund. The washrooms were decent and it was nice to be able to have a hot shower in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AaronP929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,005 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tunnel Mountain Resort
0.1 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground

Property: Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground
Address: 300 Tunnel Mountain Road | 5km east of Banff Townsite, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Number of rooms: 200

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing