We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Campground, Wi-Fi ???”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The campground is conveniently located to Banff and the Trans-Canada Hwy. It consists of 8 parallel roads with sites off both sides of the road. All services are adjacent to the road, so those on the North side have to turn around to orientate the RV to the services. Interior roads are paved and in good condition.

Choose you site carefully, as they aren't all full service and some are double sites.

We were in 322, which was large enough for our 41' 5'er. Services we conveniently located and of good quality. This site has no access to satellite signals from a roof top dish, but some in row 100 should see the satellites.

The convenience to Banff and the Park is great, but being without Wi-Fi today is a challenge. If we return we will look at a Canadian hotspot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gla_Rangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 123 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

We love coming to Tunnel Mountain every year! Its nice and close to the townsite of Banff! There are a couple bus stops right in the campsite, so you can hop on one and be in Banff within minutes! Or you can even walk down to town, its about a 15-20 minute walk!

The campsite is very clean! The shower/bathroom facilities are kept very clean! The shower house has 6 or 7 showers! I usually head there around 9 am and rarely have to wait for a shower!

You are surrounded by beautiful mountains, just pull out a lawn chair and enjoy! We love this campsite for the fact that its so close to everything, if you are looking to be surrounded by trees and have more of a true camping experience you might want to check out another campground, as you park on a paved road and have some trees around your site. Which works for us but might not be some peoples cup of tea if your looking for a more authentic in the woods type of camping. Also, some sites do have fire pits which is nice (for an additional charge) ! And the wood is free, which is nice not having to pay a fortune for wood bundles!

There's a program once or twice a week in the theatre, these are great for kids.

This is a perfect place to stay, keeps us coming back every year!

Room Tip: Reserve ahead of time if there is a certain type of site or certain site # that you specifically wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank beachbum0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We traveled with 5 families to the Rockies and Dinosaur National Park. This campground was close to Banff downtown, 15-20 min walk, 5 min walk to laundromat and lots of washrooms throughout campground, the sites all had water and electric for RV. There was only 1 shower per back room, and I never had to wait.
Washrooms clean, well lit and lots of hot water.
We will definitely stay here again on our next RV trip to Rockies.
Camp fires are not permitted at trailer court site.

Room Tip: Make a reservation as this campground gets busy and fills up quickly early in day. No reservations a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CanadaKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

There are not a lot of places to RV in Banff, so one better make reservations the first day they are open. We arrived a year that they shut down 2/3rds of the campground for upgrading, although I cannot figure out what they were doing. There are only a few toilets / showers for the area. Ours had 3 toilets and just 1 shower for about 40 RV's so there was frequently a line to use the facilities. We found this to be true of most of Canada's national / provincial parks.
The location is what draws people and it is fabulous. It is not too far from downtown Banff, but it is impossible to walk.
It could be much better, but there are no alternatives.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinballnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We are pulling a 38 foot 5th wheel so look for parks with easy access and pull thrus. This park has those and so much more. The view from our space was so incredible that we almost did not want to leave even for a few hours to play tourist. The restroom/shower facilities were plentiful and clean. The staff friendly and welcoming. We were there before the high season so can't speak to what it is like when fully occupied.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janese C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our daughter in love joined us here. She arrived ad midnight by fly to Calgary, She was tired (had travelled alone with a baby) and it was dark when she arrived,, but as she said it all was forgotten when se saw this beatiful place.

I did not se if there was a playgound but on the other we don't travel so many miles to see a playground! However I must add that we were 13 persons and the children played with each other.

Here we saw the first deers on our tour (elks I think)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisViggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Tunnel mountain is a pull-through style RV campground with full hook-ups. It has gone through utility upgrades over the past two years, so the sites have been redeveloped. This has meant that the sites are primarily gravel. Sites are large and can accommodate very long RV's. No campfires are allowed in this campground. No playgrounds for children.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank superbeetlesrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,097 reviews
16.9 mi away
Castle Mountain Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Johnston Canyon Resort
Johnston Canyon Resort
#18 of 18 in Banff
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#2 of 18 in Banff
587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground

Address: 300 Tunnel Mountain Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Number of rooms: 321
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing