We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Wasilla, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Incredible views”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We are pulling a 38 foot 5th wheel so look for parks with easy access and pull thrus. This park has those and so much more. The view from our space was so incredible that we almost did not want to leave even for a few hours to play tourist. The restroom/shower facilities were plentiful and clean. The staff friendly and welcoming. We were there before the high season so can't speak to what it is like when fully occupied.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janese C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    38
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our daughter in love joined us here. She arrived ad midnight by fly to Calgary, She was tired (had travelled alone with a baby) and it was dark when she arrived,, but as she said it all was forgotten when se saw this beatiful place.

I did not se if there was a playgound but on the other we don't travel so many miles to see a playground! However I must add that we were 13 persons and the children played with each other.

Here we saw the first deers on our tour (elks I think)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisViggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Tunnel mountain is a pull-through style RV campground with full hook-ups. It has gone through utility upgrades over the past two years, so the sites have been redeveloped. This has meant that the sites are primarily gravel. Sites are large and can accommodate very long RV's. No campfires are allowed in this campground. No playgrounds for children.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank superbeetlesrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Tunnel Mountain rises above the stylish town of Banff. On it are three campgrounds, one for tents, one with partial hookups and the Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground with full hookups including sewer for RV's. Big pulloffs from central roads in the forest with room for big rigs and towed vehicles that don't need to be unhitched. Rate is $38.20 per night and should be reserved ahead at Parks Canada Campground Reservation System during the busy summer season. There is a $10.80 non refundable reservation fee. Bus system available at entrance that will take you all over town of Banff. Beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank PuddlestheThird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I stayed here for two nights, close to Tunnel Mountain Road. This provided a mostly unobstructed view of the mountains south of Banff and the Bow River Valley. The only oddity of this campground was the shower in bathrooms: Just one shower head each in the men's and women's, and no hooks to hang anything.

Room Tip: Stay in Loop A for better views of Mount Rundle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank im4cnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I had booked Tunnel Mountain 1 campground for our tenting trip to Banff. We had big luggage and no car, arriving into town by bus. When we took the Banff roam bus up to Tunnel Mountain, we discouvered that Tunnel Mountain 1 is actually 2km from the bus stop, something which the website hadn't really made clear. Fortunately, the very helpful staff informed us that there was a walk-in site there for tenting, so we accepted this and stayed at the tenting section of the trailer court, which we did not even know existed. We had a campfire and picnic table and, most importantly, the site was beautiful. The RV area looked like a car park, but the tenting area was in a beautiful forest overlooking Rundle Mountain. It was nice and quiet and the washrooms were clean and located nearby. The bus was just a 1 minute walk from our tent and was a great service all around Banff. I would definitely recommend this place to tenters, though I'm not sure if you can prebook on the website. Parks Canada definitely needs to update their site to let people know about this great walk-in spot!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hkm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Long rows of nicely separated RV sites with full hook ups, each row shaded by rows of pine trees. Kiosk staff, friendly and approachable. This is surrounded by a backdrop of tunnel mountain and other great scenery!

Be warned arrive early to avoid horrendous queues at the gate and get a choice of pitches! Toilets and free showers were okay not the cleanest but in our case hardly used!

Site is 2.5km from Banff town. DOWNHILL there and UPHILL back - local bus every 40 mins till late for only $2 circles the site.Is

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,025 reviews
1.8 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
0.9 mi away
Tunnel Mountain Resort
0.8 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground

Property: Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground
Address: 300 Tunnel Mountain Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Number of rooms: 321
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Trailer Court Campground Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing