We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shadow Lake Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Banff
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kootenay Park Lodge(Kootenay National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
101
14
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
14
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred earthhot showercreek trailtrail mixhiking bootstwo nightsmain cabinlunch itemscreature comfortsgluten free pancakesrushing creekcozy comfortercommunal bathroomwinter tripseparate buildingother guestsgreat hiking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 117 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

After battling the huge crowds in Banff, Shadow Lake Lodge was a welcome retreat. I would recommend staying for two nights so you can hike the area. Husband and son went fishing and caught a fish on Shadow Lake. Everyone loved the trip. Expensive, yes but not when you consider the staff is on 24/7 when they work and all the supplies are brought up on horseback.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent two nights and wished we were there longer. The hike in is long and certainly not as scenic as others. However, for flatlanders as ourselves, there is still plenty to enjoy on the hike in. The hike up Gibbons Pass while staying there allowed us to enjoy the colors even in the rain. The staff was friendly and the food very food. Afternoon tea was my favorite with a selection of cheeses, fruits, crackers and cookies. The bath house and latrines were clean and no problem at all. It is a small switch off for the solitude of this place. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank textrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Unique backcountry experience. Long and easy to get to. Comfortable lodging. Wonderful hospitality. Amazing food. Access to spectacular hikes and views. Recommend 2-3 nights for further exploring in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRT101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

There is a reason this is ranked number 1!! We spent 2 nights at the lodge and I wish I could live there! The service, food, lodging and the breathtaking beauty of the mountains made this a trip of a lifetime! We hope to return year after year until we are unable to make the hike in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evaclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hiked 7 hours from Hwy 93 over Gibbon Pass to Shadow Lake Lodge. This was the hard way in rather than the easier hike along Redearth River. Was so glad to see the Lodge, take a hot shower, and enjoy their afternoon tea! Mia and the staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Such a quiet refuge from the crowds at Lake Louise. The quality of the food served at this back country lodge was excellent and very healthy! Meals are served buffet style and the table that goes first is the one to answer correctly the question posed by the staff. On our second day, we knew the answer of when the Brewster family arrived in Banff. Our cabin was very roomy, clean, and had comfortable beds. It was a treat to look out the window and see a beautiful meadow and majestic mountains, and seeing stars at night was a treat for this city girl. Walking from our cabin to the bathroom during the middle of the night, using the flashlight provided for our use, was a bit disconcerting. Did not see any animals during our stay, other than pikas when we hiked to Whistling Pass, but perhaps they saw us. Wonderful experience overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masjds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews