We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Birthday Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shadow Lake Lodge
Save
You added Shadow Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a magical, restful, and exciting vacation spot. The hike in was easy, but didn't have the amazing views that are closer to the lodge. The lodge is in a valley with a lovely views. The real reason to pay the big bucks is for the snug and romantic cabins with backcountry hiking. I would recommend at least two nights in this relaxing spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eukfeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
60
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
west virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent two nights at Shadow Lake Lodge. We rented bicycles in Banff and rode part way to the lodge. There is a bike rack to leave your bike (and no, porcupines did not eat our tires). I found the trail to be steeper and rougher to what I am accustomed to riding (rail trails in West Virginia) but the ride down was much faster than the nine mile walk would have taken. The trail to the lodge is unremarkable and was buggy at the bottom. The lodge is somewhat remote, but that puts you close to superb hiking. Alpine meadows, breathtaking vistas, and no other people. I recommend staying at least two nights at the lodge so you can do at least one all day hike from the lodge. The other guests were very friendly- many were repeat visitors. Upon arrival we had tea which included cheese, fruit, veggies, cookies, juice, etc. Dinner was salmon one night and beef (prime rib or filet) the other. Both were very good. Breakfasts were hearty. They put out food to pack a lunch which included lunch meat, granola, cookies, fruit. Bathrooms were "outhouses" but with tiled floors, hot and cold water and were very clean. Showers were hot. This is a unique place and I hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindywv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at Shadow Lake Lodge in March 2013. We snowshoed in the 14 km while I think everyone else staying that weekend were skiiers.

We were in the Whistling cabin. It was great, nice and private and large size. Bed and bedding was very nice.

It was a bit odd not having a bathroom in our cabin but it didn't bother us. The non-flush toilets were okay- not smelly at all. The hot showers were really nice and felt like a real luxury. The wood-fired sauna was nice and HOT- really loosened up the muscles after the hike in.

Food was amazing!!! Was all good but my favorite was afternoon tea. Lots of cheeses, crackers, dips, veggies, cookies, squares, etc.

We did a hike up to Gibbon Pass. It was a clear day and we had a gorgeous view of Mount Assiniboine which was amazing.

The wine was $42 per bottle, which honestly I didn't find bad at all- since I was just glad I didn't have to carry it in.

We had a really nice time and I'm sure we'll go back sometime to see it in summer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laptopolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Shadow Lake Lodge is a lodge with cabins in the backcountry of Banff National Park. The lodge is only accessible by hiking (or in the winter cross country skiing). There are hiking possibilities (day hikes) around the lodge, so more than one nights stay is nice.
The lodge has cabins with different kind of beds. The cabine are propane heated, has solar powered lighting and a wash basin. The outhouse is located with a short walk from the cabins and even has a central shower.
The cabins are nice. There is a cabin reserved for the restaurant and a cabin with a nice fireplace in the relax cabin. The meals are included and are good. If you like to have alcohol with your meal, it is possible to buy, however it is expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lottevanbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I spent our anniversary at Shadow Lake Lodge early in September, 2012. We have a marvelous time! Our log cabin was beautiful and cozy. We had a view of mountains with meadows in the foreground. The lake itself was a short walk and as picturesque as you can get. The weather was not cooperative, and we got weathered out on our hike to Ball Pass when a thunderstorm hit just as we were about to break out into open, exposed rock. It hailed and then snowed heavily for most of the hike back to the lodge. However, the daily tea buffet awaited us on return to the lodge. There are too many goodies to chose from! You have to be careful not to eat too much because dinner is generous and yummy. The only downside: there is one shared shower for females and one for males. If the place is full, you are likely going to have to wait. The hike in/out is somewhat boring but the destination is well worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, Dorset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Shadow Lake lodge really is as wonderful as other reviewers say. The staff are so helpful and friendly, the food is superb (especially 'afternoon tea', which is a meal in itself). The scenery and walks are beautiful, especially in July / Aug when the flower meadows are a blaze of colour. We hiked in from Sunshine Meadows, included a detour to Rock Isle Lake, then over Healy Pass and through Pharoah Creek. Apart from Pharoah Creek which was sheltered by trees, this was a very scenic and enjoyable route, with amazing views. It took 7.5 hours with lots of photo stops etc. On the way out, we chose an even more scenic route of Whistling Pass, Healy Pass and Healy Creek. This was steeper and took 8 hours.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AKBWimborne_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a great 3 days and 2 nights at the Shadow Lake Lodge. Great food, comfortable cabins. Hiked up Gibbon pass and had amazing views. Wouldn't recommend Twin Lake trail. At the end of a long day of hiking there is "afternoon tea". A delightful delicious buffet of cheese, crackers, hor deurves, cookies and cakes.
It was a great way to experience the back country of Banff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
17.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
15.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
17.1 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
6.4 mi away
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
20.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Lake Lodge

Property: Shadow Lake Lodge
Address: Box 2606, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Shadow Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the high alpine meadows of Banff National Park, Brewster's Shadow Lake Lodge is a remote back country lodge with private cabins, accessible only by hiking, cross country skiing or snowshoeing. Included in the rate are three mountain gourmet meals as well as afternoon tea served to you daily in our dining lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Lake Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing