We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed February 19, 2010

My wife and I were back at this hotel for 10 days in Jan 2010 for our third stay there in 18 months - so yes, we like it. On this occasion we were upgraded to a Premier Room which faces out to the back of the site. A lovely spacious room with underfloor heating throughout, log fire and all other mod cons (not that you'd really need them in this part of the world to be honest) so all was very comfortable and very cosy. Our tour bus stopped off at other hotels in Banff, and the resulting check-in queue stretched out of the door. Why some of these people do not go to the Buffalo Mountain Lodge is beyond me. It's quiet, peaceful and only a 20 min walk/5 min bus ride from town. What more do you want!!

We love the food. It's filling, tasty, and the cost of the breakfast compares with what you can get in town. We sampled the food at Cilantro's (an on-site Italian style eaterie) one evening and were not disappointed. The service, ambience and food were all pretty much spot-on. We did not eat in the hotel itself during the evening as we found the menu to be rather expensive, but we've heard very good things about it.

The only minus point we feel we must mention is that during the weekend the hotel will fill up with weekenders, mainly from Calgary. On both of the weekends we were there the room next door was occupied and yes, we heard EVERYTHING (including the loud TV). I came very close to knocking on their door to tell them to calm down. The sound proofing between our room and the next left a whole lot to be desired. The idea of coming to such a hotel in such a location for some peace and quiet seems totally lost on such people.

To sum up - brilliant location, good food and good service. Oh...and one more thing..... If you like the idea of being visited by the local wildlife, coming right up below your balcony to bid you good morning or good night (as we had on this latest occasion in the shape of wild deer and various birds) then you must go and stay. Simple as that. And yes, we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WriterChappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,329 - 1,335 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2010

This is an excellent hotel. I wanted to stay in a log cabin style ski lodge type place, and so i stayed here. When I arrived they put us in a standard lodge double. Don't get me wrong, it was ok, but just not what I'd been led to believe by their website. It felt like a motel room with a log fire, and frankly for that, it felt overpriced. I then spoke to them and they very generously upgraded me to a superior room....Now that was a room. Open log fire, underfloor bathroom heating with big bath, and generally a fantastic room. Was there my for my partners birthday, and felt well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

We stayed here in mid January when the temperatures were -5C or lower most days. The lodge is a short way out of town (too far to walk for us) and situated in a secluded wooded area close to a number of other similar hotels/lodges. We had a Premier Room on the first floor in one of the many log cabins. Although we had views over the mountains, owing to the proximity of trees, the views were restricted. The room was spacious, clean and had a good bathroom with plenty of good quality towels. The log fire was great, so too the under-floor heating throughout, which was very effective. There was free cable access to the internet (no Wi-Fi in the room), TV, video and coffee making facilities were available. Not a huge amount of cupboard/drawer space, but sufficient. Only real issue was that the lighting was poor and the room dark – no real problems until you check out and go around trying to find everything and check everywhere.
Restaurant facilities in the main building were adequate. We had stayed a week but only had one dinner (CAD50 each) and 2 breakfasts as we considered that the meals were expensive and although not busy, the service was poor. We felt that eating in town was a better option.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagellansTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Quaint, very clean, rooms very well appointed, food fantastic, atomsphere is casual with absolute solidtude.
Staff friendly and helpful. Just a great place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cainVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We stayed here because friends had enjoyed the peaceful getaway. Room was rustic and kind of a cool place on the 'back-side' of Banff which gives a very unique perspective of the amazing magical Mountain heritage. Hot tub was fantastic and the layout was interesting.
Unfortunately we had our room professionally 'fleeced' by pilfering theives. We lost jewellery valued at about $1500. Large enough for a deductable ins. claim.
Ring and neclace in two different spots of luggage. Regretably the hotel was extremely staunch, defensive and unwelding. We didn't even get a drink on the house. Unnerving, unfortunate and frankly a rather shocking experience in the end.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank bushemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRMarketing, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. I take comments such as these very seriously and would like to discuss with you further. Please feel free to contact me directly at 403-760-4475 or bmlmanager@crmr.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We wwere looking forward to the Buffalo Mountain Lodge as we were attending a wedding there. We had one of suites with a king size bed. We were dissappointed that there was no TV in the sitting area. Bed was comfortable. A HD TV above the fireplace would have been nice. The TV in the bedroom was old and had a VCR,no DVD. TV reception was iffy depending on what channel you were watching. The room was quite dark. The bathroom door squeaked to the point that if you were sleeping it would wake you. Called the front desk twice to get it fixed and told the second time that it was fixed, but no noticeable change. The little kichenette was OK except the the cabinet door under the sink did not close properly. Almost fell off when you went to put garbage in the container. Room was either very hot or cold. Room temparture could not be set. Ate breakfast at the restauarant one morining and it was average. Very nice scenery, but then again is there any poor scenery in Banff. Friends stayed at the Hidden Ridge Resort, just up the street from Buffalo Mountain and it was much better. Higly reccomend the Hidden Ridge. Overall we were disappointed and the next time we are in Banff we'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RHP_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Easily found, just 10mins drive from Centre of Banff. Wonderful location. Mountain lodge with large spacious bed/living area with fireplace already set to lite. Good supply of firewood blocks. Dream bathroom with clawfoot free standing bath and separate power shower. Well stocked with towels, toileteries, hairdryer etc. Outside hot tub. Restaurant serving excellent food. Friendly helpful staff. Deer grazing outside on grass.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 34 in Banff
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,005 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 34 in Banff
1,452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $108 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing